christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Peter Kapeller, born in Vienna in 1969, slowly, meticulously, puts his obsessions in order. He ruminates much, produces little. At the very most a few drawings per year, intensely dark and dense, in which his his impulses, phantoms, revolts and hopes are deposited - layer by layer. Until everything is burried.

In the darkness of his small, sparsely furnished room, he lays out a whole intimate journal in his works, in the style of shadow theater. He doesn’t leave anything there that is totally bare, nothing is “put on display”; for dead ends and regrets emerge, and at every turn one must make his way through the obscurity of sense in order to reach the author.

In examining these snippets of his insomnia, we hang on to scraps of sentences, silhouettes emerging from an entanglement of lines, glimmers and colorings arranged in this tumult or overtaken by this ocean of ink. Names are also there showing that Kapeller is a lucid observer - for lack of being a completely separate actor - in the cultural landscape of his country: we run into Elfriede Jelinek, sister in suffering, Thomas Bernard, brother in spirit or Herman Nitsch, abhorred “bastard.”

The work of Peter Kapeller is the harrowing testimony of a man who is intimately, viscerally convinced that art saves him. And, for this process to be complete, he makes us bare witness to this “work in the dark.” For, as Claire Margat wrtites, “only an inextinguishable desire to chronicle this fight for survival, only the tenacious effort to offer a glimpse of it in the opaque form of sheets of paper blackened with ink on which fragments of discourse and amputated figures appear here and there, as if to give a face to the nothingness that surrounds them, makes him hold on: for he manages to maintain the logbook of this permanent collapse in spite of everything.”

After the exhibit that Chris Dercon organized on him at the Haus der Kunst in Munich in 2010, this is his first monographic exhibit in a gallery.

Exibition view of *Peter Kapeller : the blackening*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exibition view of *Peter Kapeller : the blackening*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
Peter Kapeller
Peter Kapeller - © Photo : Florian Reese, christian berst — art brut

Peter Kapeller was forced to abandon his studies for a planned career in heating engineering following a severe mental health crisis. His care was taken over by Austria’s social services who provided Kapeller with a tiny shared flat in Vienna. The apartment was decorated with the bare minimum of furniture: a bed, a cupboard, a shelf, and a table. “I draw in my ghetto”, he explains. The artist draws in the quiet hours of darkness, spending his time meditating and reminiscing. The books he has read and his past studies provide rich source material for his art which occasionally take the form of protest letters aimed at the administration in charge of his care. The strength of the works […]

Catalog
Peter Kapeller the blackening
Peter Kapeller : the blackening - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Claire Margat
Forewords : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Peter Kapeller : the blackening, from december 9th, 2014 to january 24th, 2015.

Press review
Peter Kapeller, l’oeuvre au noir
François Salmeron, Paris Art. January 16, 2015.
Du danger de ne pas dessiner !
Philippe Godin, Libération - La Diagonale De L’art. January 15, 2015.
Peter Kapeller galerie Christian Berst
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. January 12, 2015.
Peter Kapeller, l’oeuvre au noir
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. January 7, 2015.
Peter Kapeller chez Christian Berst
La Rédaction, Aw!. January 2, 2015.
View more
L’œuvre au noir de Peter Kapeller
La Rédaction, Artistikrezo.com. December 2, 2014.
Peter Kapeller at Galerie Christian Berst Paris
AMA, AMA. December 2, 2014.
peter kapeller

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Peter Kapeller, né à Vienne en 1969, remet en ordre, lentement, méticuleusement, ses obsessions. Il rumine beaucoup, produit peu. Tout au plus quelques dessins par an, intensément noirs et denses, dans lesquels sédimentent - strate après strate - ses emportements, ses fantômes, ses révoltes et ses espoirs. Jusqu’à l’enfouissement.

Dans la nuit de sa petite chambre meublée sommairement, il déploie dans ses oeuvres tout un journal intime à la manière d’un théâtre d’ombres. Il n’y laisse rien totalement à nu, rien n’y est « donné à voir », car partout les fausses pistes et les repentirs affleurent, partout il faut se frayer un chemin dans l’obscurité du sens pour parvenir jusqu’à l’auteur.

À examiner ses bribes d’insomnie, l’on se raccroche comme l’on peut à des lambeaux de phrases, à des silhouettes surgies d’un enchevêtrement de lignes, à des lueurs et des colorations ménagées dans ce tumulte ou gagnées sur cet océan d’encre. Il y a là aussi des noms qui attestent que Kapeller est un observateur lucide - à défaut d’en être un acteur à part entière - du paysage culturel de son pays : on y croise Elfriede Jelinek, sœur d’affliction, Thomas Bernard, frère de génie ou Herman Nitsch, « salaud » abhorré.

L’œuvre de Peter Kapeller est le témoignage déchirant d’un homme qui est intimement, viscéralement convaincu que l’art le sauve. Et, pour que ce processus soit complet, il nous prend à témoin de cet « œuvre au noir ». Car, comme l’écrit Claire Margat, « seul un désir inextinguible de chroniquer cette lutte pour la survie, seul l’effort tenace d’en donner un aperçu sous la forme opaque de feuilles de papier noircies à l’encre sur lesquelles surgissent çà et là, comme pour donner un visage au néant qui les environne, des fragments de discours ou des figures amputées, le fait tenir : parce qu’il parvient malgré tout à tenir le journal de bord de ce naufrage permanent. »

Après l’exposition que lui avait consacrée Chris Dercon au Haus der Kunst, à Munich, en 2010, il s’agit de sa première exposition monographique en galerie.

Vue de l’exposition *Peter Kapeller : l’oeuvre au noir*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l’exposition *Peter Kapeller : l’œuvre au noir*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artiste
Peter Kapeller
Peter Kapeller - © Photo : Florian Reese, christian berst — art brut

À la suite d’une violente crise mentale, Kapeller est contraint de renoncer à ses études de chauffagiste. Pris en charge par les services sociaux, il est accueilli dans un appartement communautaire de la ville de Vienne, exigu, au mobilier minimaliste : un lit, un meuble, une étagère et une table. « Je dessine dans mon ghetto », explique-t-il. Le calme de la nuit libère Kapeller, l’invite à une méditation où ses réminiscences (lectures, informations…) affluent et dialoguent pour constituer le véritable terreau de son œuvre. Alors seulement, lentement, il élabore ses dessins dont la force graphique se double d’une richesse, relevant à la fois du carnet de notes et du journal intime. […]

Catalogue
Peter Kapeller l’oeuvre au noir
Peter Kapeller : l’oeuvre au noir - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Claire Margat
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Peter Kapeller : l’oeuvre au noir, du 9 décembre 2014 au 24 janvier 2015.

Revue de presse
Peter Kapeller, l’oeuvre au noir
François Salmeron, Paris Art. Le 16 janvier 2015.
Du danger de ne pas dessiner !
Philippe Godin, Libération - La Diagonale De L’art. Le 15 janvier 2015.
Peter Kapeller galerie Christian Berst
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. Le 12 janvier 2015.
Peter Kapeller, l’oeuvre au noir
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. Le 7 janvier 2015.
Peter Kapeller chez Christian Berst
La Rédaction, Aw!. Le 2 janvier 2015.
Voir plus
L’œuvre au noir de Peter Kapeller
La Rédaction, Artistikrezo.com. Le 2 décembre 2014.
Peter Kapeller at Galerie Christian Berst
AMA, AMA. Le 2 décembre 2014.
peter kapeller

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.