christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

For more than 30 years, La Tinaia - the expression centre of the San Salvi psychiatric hospital in Florence - was, until its recent closure, the transalpine capital of “irregular art”, the Italian variant of Art Brut.

Created in 1975 by Massimo Mensi in the wake of anti-institutional experiments - known in France as anti-psychiatry - Tinaia was more an experience of community life where creation played a key role than an art therapy workshop as we understand it today. Isn’t the Tinaia - the “cellar” in Tuscany - the place where the grapes are pressed and the wine matures? Together with the Gugging Centre in Austria, the Tinaia Centre was the only institutional workshop to be honoured in 1992 with a presentation in the Art Brut books.

A rare opportunity, therefore, to (re)discover these great creators such as Galli, Gelli, Pastore, Raugei and Ulivieri whose works are present in collections all over the world.

Artist
Marco Raugei
Marco Raugei - © christian berst — art brut

Coming from a poor working-class family, Marco Raugei was bullied and beaten as a child by his three brothers and sisters. He attended school for five years before being placed in various medico-educational institutions. From 1986 onwards, he attended La Tinaia, an expression centre at the San Salvi Psychiatric Hospital in Florence. After two years spent walking around the studio in monologue, he began to draw. His drawings, made with black felt pen on large sheets of paper, repeat objects or figures from his daily life, animals, characters, constructions, aligned horizontally, only stopping once the sheet has been filled in. Although almost identical, his figures in the same work, […]

la tinaïa

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Plus de 30 années durant, la Tinaia - le centre d’expression de l’hôpital psychiatrique San Salvi à Florence – fut, jusqu’à sa récente fermeture, la capitale transalpine de «l’art irrégulier», variante italienne de l’art brut.

Créée en 1975 par Massimo Mensi dans le sillage des expériences anti-institutionnelles - connues en France sous le terme d’antipsychiatrie - la Tinaia était davantage une expérience de vie en communauté où la création jouait un rôle primordial qu’un atelier d’art thérapie tel qu’on l’entend de nos jours. La Tinaïa - le « cellier » en toscan - n’est-il pas le lieu où l’on presse le raisin et où le vin mûrit ? Avec celui de Gugging, en Autriche, le centre de la Tinaïa fut d’ailleurs le seul des ateliers institutionnels à connaître, en 1992, les honneurs d’une présentation dans les cahiers de l’Art brut.

Une occasion rare, donc, de (re)découvrir ces grands créateurs que sont Galli, Gelli, Pastore, Raugei et Ulivieri dont les travaux sont présents dans les collections du monde entier.

Artiste
Marco Raugei
Marco Raugei - © christian berst — art brut

Issu d’une famille ouvrière pauvre, Marco Raugei subit enfant les brimades et les coups infligés par ses trois frères et sœurs. Il est scolarisé pendant cinq ans avant d’être placé dans diverses institutions médico-pédagogiques. À partir de 1986, il fréquente La Tinaia, centre d’expression de l’hôpital psychiatrique de San Salvi à Florence. Après deux années passées à arpenter l’atelier en monologuant, il se met à dessiner. Ses dessins, réalisés au feutre noir sur des feuilles de grandes dimensions, répètent des objets ou des figures de son quotidien, animaux, personnages, constructions, alignés à l’horizontale, ne s’arrêtant qu’une fois la feuille remplie. Bien que quasi identiques, ses […]

la tinaïa

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.