christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Works by the Fetishist and Tomasz Machciński will be exhibited at The Fort Institute of Photography foundation (Warsaw) on the occasion of You’ve Gone Incognito.

Cross-dressing is a phenomenon that has had been entwined with the photographic medium since the beginning. The group exhibition presents photographs and short film pieces in which artists and their models enact female roles—from housewives to socialites, wealthy matrons to femme fatales. The photo and video sessions presented in the exhibition unfold in the artists’ private quarters, often in intimate situations.

Artists
le fétichiste (anonyme) - © christian berst — art brut

le fétichiste

This is the story of an anonymous photographic collection that surfaced from the secret depths to which it seemed doomed. Hundreds of amateur prints created over the course of a decade, between 1996 and 2006, that bear witness to the fetishistic habits of its author, manifested through pictures of legs covered with tights, taken either in the street or from a television screen. His practice evokes that of Miroslav Tichy, with the principal difference that our photographer sometimes becomes a subject himself. In both cases—as is often true with art brut—the burning questions of the construction to which our gaze proceeds and of the collective imagination’s infusion by such an individual[…]

More
Tomasz Machcinski - © christian berst — art brut

Tomasz Machcinski

At a very young age, Tomasz Machciński built an identity around an autograph, addressed to him by an actress he believed to be his mother. From this confusion, which lasted more than twenty years, a protean and personal mythology was born that reconstructs the artist. As the image of the Ovidian myth, or Gregor Samsa, Tomasz Machciński cannot be described. Indeed, his work consists of over 22 000 self-portraits of as many different physiognomies. Exhibited in 2019 at the Rencontres de la Photographie, his works are already part of the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw and the Museum of Photography in Krakow (Poland) as well as the collection abcd/Bruno Decharme.

More
You’ve Gone Incognito :

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Des œuvres du Fétichiste et de Tomasz Machciński seront exposées à The Fort Institute of Photography foundation (Varsovie) à l’occasion de You’ve Gone Incognito.

Le travestissement est un phénomène qui, depuis toujours, est lié au médium photographique. Cette exposition collective présente des photographies et des courts métrages dans lesquels les artistes et leurs modèles jouent des rôles féminins - de la femme au foyer à la mondaine, de la riche matrone à la femme fatale. Les séances de photographie et de vidéo présentées dans l’exposition se déroulent dans les quartiers privés des artistes, souvent dans des situations intimes.

Artistes
le fétichiste, 2002, *sans titre*, tirage photographique - © christian berst — art brut

le fétichiste

C’est l’histoire d’un ensemble photographique anonyme surgi du secret auquel il semblait voué. Soit des centaines de tirages amateurs courant sur une décennie, entre 1996 et 2006, et témoignant du fétichisme de son auteur. Celui-ci se manifeste au travers de clichés de jambes gainées de collants, prises indifféremment dans la rue ou à la télévision. Sa pratique évoque celle de Miroslav Tichy, à la différence que notre auteur devient parfois lui-même acteur. Dans les deux cas – comme fréquemment dans l’art brut - se posent les questions brûlantes de l’artification auquel procède notre regard et de la part d’imaginaire collectif qui infuserait dans pareille mythologie individuelle.

En savoir plus
Tomasz Machcinski - © christian berst — art brut

Tomasz Machcinski

Très jeune, Tomasz Machciński se construit une identité autour d’un autographe, qui lui a été adressé par une actrice qu’il imagine alors être sa mère. De cette confusion, qui a duré plus de vingt ans, est née une mythologie protéiforme et personnelle qui re-construit l’artiste. À l’image du mythe ovidien, ou de Gregor Samsa, Tomasz Machciński ne peut être décrit. En effet, son œuvre se compose de plus de 22 000 autoportraits d’autant de physionomies différentes. Exposées en 2019 aux Rencontres de la Photographie, ses œuvres font déjà partie des collections du Musée d’Art Moderne de Varsovie et du Musée de la Photographie de Cracovie (Pologne) ainsi que de la collection abcd/Bruno Decharme.

En savoir plus
You’ve Gone Incognito :

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.