christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The gallery loaned a dozen artworks by John Urno Kemp to the FRAC Franche-Comté for the group exhibition La Beauté du Diable, on view from October 16, 2022 to March 16, 2023

The exhibition proposes to explore the presence of the devil in contemporary art, focusing particularly on its figuration and its metamorphoses. By flirting with the sublime, the aestheticization of Evil will be brought forward by a consideration of works operating a transmutation of the “repulsive” in aesthetic enjoyment.

With the artworks of : John Urho Kemp, and Renaud Auguste-Dormeuil, Béatrice Balcou, Valérie Belin, Bianca Bondi, Christine Borland, Gast Bouschet, Pascal Convert, Nicolas Daubanes, Stan Douglas ,Léon Ferrari, Marina Gadonneix, Douglas Gordon, Majd Abdel Hamid, Suzanne Husky, William Kentridge, Joachim Koester, Nino Laisné, Julien Langendorff, Élodie Lesourd, Robert Longo, David Mach, Myriam Mechita, Annette Messager, Patrick Neu, Eric Pougeau, Sophie Ristelhueber, Andres Serrano, Annelies Štrba, Iris Van Dongen, Jean-Luc Verna, Jérôme Zonder,…

Curators : Benjamin Bianciotto and Sylvie Zavatta, director of the FRAC Franche-Comté.

Artist
John Urho Kemp
john urho kemp - © anonymous, christian berst — art brut

This Californian artist, who died in 2010, had a degree in chemical engineering. Fascinated by meditation and metaphysics, he sought to unravel the mysteries of existence through formulas and numbers drawn from his own history. This “conceptual brut” artist sometimes photocopied his work to distribute it to as many people as possible. In 2014, Daniel Baumann introduced him to the 548 Center in New York. The following year, we entrusted Gael Charbau with writing an essay and curing the monographic exhibition held at the gallery. In the same year, Alfred
A significant number of his works was donated to the Centre Pompidou collection in 2021.

The Beauty of the Beast :

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie a prêté une dizaine d’œuvres de John Urno Kemp au FRAC Franche-Comté à l’occasion de l’exposition collective La Beauté du Diable, présentée du 16 octobre 2022 au 16 mars 2023.

L’exposition propose d’explorer la présence du diable dans l’art contemporain, en s’attardant particulièrement sur sa figuration et ses métamorphoses. En flirtant avec le sublime, il sera question d’y étudier l’esthétisation du Mal en considérant des œuvres opérant une transmutation du « repoussant » en jouissance esthétique.

Avec les œuvres de : John Urho Kemp, et Renaud Auguste-Dormeuil, Béatrice Balcou, Valérie Belin, Bianca Bondi, Christine Borland, Gast Bouschet, Pascal Convert, Nicolas Daubanes, Stan Douglas ,Léon Ferrari, Marina Gadonneix, Douglas Gordon, Majd Abdel Hamid, Suzanne Husky, William Kentridge, Joachim Koester, Nino Laisné, Julien Langendorff, Élodie Lesourd, Robert Longo, David Mach, Myriam Mechita, Annette Messager, Patrick Neu, Eric Pougeau, Sophie Ristelhueber, Andres Serrano, Annelies Štrba, Iris Van Dongen, Jean-Luc Verna, Jérôme Zonder…

Sous le commissariat de Benjamin Bianciotto et Sylvie Zavatta, directrice du FRAC Franche-Comté.

Artiste
John Urho Kemp
john urho kemp - © anonyme, christian berst — art brut

Cet artiste californien, disparu en 2010, était diplômé en génie chimique. Fasciné par la méditation et la métaphysique, il tentait d’élucider les mystères de l’existence par le biais de formules et de nombres tirés de sa propre histoire. Ce « brut conceptuel » photocopiait parfois ses travaux pour les distribuer au plus grand nombre. En 2014, Daniel Baumann le fait découvrir en l’exposant au 548 Center à New York. L’année suivante, nous confions à Gaël Charbau la rédaction d’un essai et le commissariat de l’exposition monographique qui se tient à la galerie. La même année, Alfred Pacquement – ancien directeur de Pompidou - en présente une installation au musée des Beaux-arts de Paris. En 2021, il intègre les collections du Musée national d’Art moderne (Pompidou).

La beauté du Diable :

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.