christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The gallery has lent several works by Peter Kapeller and Melvin Way for their exhibition Créer c’est résister, at the Bibliothèque de Lyon, from October 8, 2015 to January 9, 2016, curated by Thaïva Ouaki.

They found their place in the room presenting the intimate and internal resistances of the artist in his creative process to overcome their own darkness and get out of the confinement by a free and liberating expression.

Artists
Peter Kapeller - © Photo : Florian Reese, christian berst — art brut

Peter Kapeller

Peter Kapeller was forced to abandon his studies for a planned career in heating engineering following a severe mental health crisis. His care was taken over by Austria’s social services who provided Kapeller with a tiny shared flat in Vienna. The apartment was decorated with the bare minimum of furniture: a bed, a cupboard, a shelf, and a table. “I draw in my ghetto”, he explains. The artist draws in the quiet hours of darkness, spending his time meditating and reminiscing. The books he has read and his past studies provide rich source material for his art which occasionally take the form of protest letters aimed at the administration in charge of his care. The strength of the works […]

More
melvin way - © christian berst — art brut

Melvin Way

Discovered in the early 1980s at a homeless center in New York City, Melvin Way is now a key figure in contemporary art brut. Having interrupted his scientific studies because of his schizophrenia, he relentlessly covers fragments of papers of mathematical and chemical formulas, sibylline sketches… These dense talismanic notes, which he treasures in his pockets, exhale a rare magnetism. The 2018 Pulitzer Prize for Critics, Jerry Saltz, considers him “a mystic visionary genius, one of the greatest living American artists.” The artist’s works are now in the collections of the MoMA (New York) and the Smithsonian (Washington).

More
To Create Is To Resist

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie a prêté plusieurs oeuvres de Peter Kapeller et de Melvin Way pour leur exposition Créer c’est résister, à la Bibliothèque de Lyon, du 8 octobre 2015 au 9 janvier 2016, sous le commissariat de Thaïva Ouaki.

Elles ont trouvé leur place dans la salle présentant les résistances intimes et internes à l’artiste dans son processus de création pour dépasser leurs propres ténèbres et se sortir de l’enfermement par une expression libre autant que libératrice.

Artistes
Peter Kapeller - © Photo : Florian Reese, christian berst — art brut

Peter Kapeller

À la suite d’une violente crise mentale, Kapeller est contraint de renoncer à ses études de chauffagiste. Pris en charge par les services sociaux, il est accueilli dans un appartement communautaire de la ville de Vienne, exigu, au mobilier minimaliste : un lit, un meuble, une étagère et une table. « Je dessine dans mon ghetto », explique-t-il. Le calme de la nuit libère Kapeller, l’invite à une méditation où ses réminiscences (lectures, informations…) affluent et dialoguent pour constituer le véritable terreau de son œuvre. Alors seulement, lentement, il élabore ses dessins dont la force graphique se double d’une richesse, relevant à la fois du carnet de notes et du journal intime. […]

En savoir plus
melvin way - © christian berst — art brut

Melvin Way

Découvert aux débuts des années 80 dans un centre pour sans-abris, à New York, Melvin Way est aujourd’hui une figure incontournable de l’art brut contemporain. Ayant interrompu ses études scientifiques en raison de sa schizophrénie, il ne cesse de recouvrir des fragments de papiers de formules mathématiques, chimiques, de croquis sibyllins… Ces denses billets talismaniques, qu’il garde précieusement dans ses poches, exhalent un magnétisme rare. Le prix Pulitzer 2018 de la critique, Jerry Saltz, le considère comme « un génie mystique visionnaire, l’un des plus grands artistes américains vivants », il fait partie des collections du MoMA (New York) et du Smithsonian (Washington).

En savoir plus
Créer c’est résister

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.