christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Michel Nedjar’s extraordinary trajectory raises a question that is rarely addressed: the possible impermanence of Art Brut.

Jean Dubuffet wrote to him of his admiration on numerous occasions, and the addition of his work to his Art Brut collection was accompanied by a text by the great English critic, Roger Cardinal, while many dozens of his pieces appear today in the Centre Pompidou’s collections. Discovered almost 35 years ago, today he is without a doubt the living Brut artist who has been the most exposed worldwide, and who has been the subject of a great number of publications.

When Michel Nedjar – born in 1947 and haunted since his youth by the decimation of his family in Nazi camps – produced his first dolls (his “soul flesh” series, a pun on the French for “dear ladies”), which he covered in dirt and blood, with rags gathered in the Goutte d’Or neighborhood, the creative impulse of this man who was destined to become a tailor, like his father, looked at the time more like a release or a conjuration. But after that point, his life would change direction, to the extent that the enthusiasm of elites for his creations, arisen from pure necessity, would reveal to him his true calling to be an artist.

Thus, it is difficult to understand how Michel Nedjar was later able to continue to be considered a Brut artist. But it is probable that the explanation depends on the very form of his works, and on the poor materials that he continued to use to create them.
We can even legitimately ask ourselves if this misunderstanding wasn’t consciously upheld by the sycophants of Art Brut who, through their dogmatism, were more concerned with imposing an iconography meant to widen an artificial frontier with the art of our time.

Though it would be better to hail, as did Dubuffet, the “flamboyant sorcery” and the “high mental incandescence” that Michel Nedjar’s art allows us to attain.

This retrospective – which retraces all of the periods of Michel Nedjar’s creation (dolls – old and new –, papier mâchés, terra cottas, coudrages (sewn collages), paintings and drawings) – is meant to vibrantly bear witness to this momentum.

Exhibition view of *Michel Nedjar : momentum*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Michel Nedjar : momentum*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Michel Nedjar : momentum*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
Michel Nedjar
Michel Nedjar in his workshop - © christian berst — art brut

He is the living most exposed and published brut artist and yet, the extraordinary trajectory of this Frenchman poses a question rarely addressed: that of the impermanence of art brut. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet during his work on the resurgence of the symbolic body, he then became the protean artist we know today and who, in creation, embodies an absolute freedom. Found in numerous collections, he is the first brut artist whose works were added to the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (France). Since 2008, he has been celebrated through six monographic exhibitions by Le Mahj (Paris), LaM (Lille), the Gugging Museum (Vienna), and the gallery.

Catalog
Michel Nedjar momentum (a retrospective)
Michel Nedjar : momentum (a retrospective) - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Stéphane Corréard
Foreword : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Michel Nedjar : momentum (ua retrospective), from may 23rd to july 12th, 2014.

Press review
Michel Nedjar à l’état brut
Dominique Poiret, Libération Next. June 27, 2014.
Fétiches, poupées et gris-gris
Philippe Lespinasse, Siné Mensuel. June 26, 2014.
Michel Nedjar
Claire Margat, Art Press. June 26, 2014.
Michel Nedjar, momentum
François Salmeron, Paris Art. June 24, 2014.
Françoise Monnin aime : Michel Nedjar
Françoise Monnin, Artension N° 126. June 24, 2014.
View more
Michel Nedjar, momentum
La Rédaction, Art Actuel. June 16, 2014.
Michel Nedjar à Paris, de la réalité au rêve
Marie-laure Bouquerel-Desjardins, Artshebdomedias.com. June 10, 2014.
Michel Nedjar, momentum
Bénédicte Philippe, TéléramaSortir.fr. June 4, 2014.
A l’avant-garde : Michel Nedjar
Delphine Neimon, The ARTchemists. June 2, 2014.
Michel Nedjar
Roxana Azimi, Quotidien De L’art. May 23, 2014.
Video
Michel Nedjar table ronde
Table ronde, le 10 juin 2014 à l’occasion de l’exposition “Michel Nedjar : momentum” à la galerie[…]
Language French
michel nedjar

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La trajectoire extraordinaire de Michel Nedjar pose une question rarement abordée : celle d’une possible impermanence de l’art brut.

Jean Dubuffet lui écrivit à plusieurs reprises son admiration et l’entrée de son oeuvre dans sa collection d’art brut fut accompagnée par un texte du grand critique anglais Roger Cardinal, tandis que plusieurs dizaines de ses travaux figurent aujourd’hui dans les collections du Centre Pompidou. Découvert il y a près de 35 ans, il est sans doute aujourd’hui l’artiste brut vivant qui fut le plus exposé au Monde, et qui a fait l’objet d’un grand nombre de publications.

Lorsque Michel Nedjar - né en 1947 et hanté depuis l’adolescence par la décimation de sa famille dans les camps nazis – produit ses premières poupées (ses “chairdâmes”), qu’il recouvre de terre et de sang, avec les chiffons glanés dans le quartier de la Goutte d’Or, l’impulsion créatrice de celui qui se destinait à devenir tailleur, comme son père, tenait alors davantage de l’exutoire ou de la conjuration. Mais dès lors, sa vie va basculer, au point que l’enthousiasme des élites pour ses créations jaillies par pure nécessité va lui révéler son véritable destin d’artiste.

Il est donc difficile de comprendre comment Michel Nedjar a pu continuer ultérieurement à être considéré comme un artiste brut. Mais il est probable que l’explication tienne à la forme même de ses productions, et aux matériaux pauvres qu’il continuait à employer pour les réaliser.

L’on est d’ailleurs en droit de s’interroger si ce malentendu n’a pas été sciemment entretenu par les thuriféraires d’un art brut qui, par dogmatisme, étaient davantage soucieux d’imposer une iconographie destinée à étanchéifier une frontière artificielle avec l’art de notre époque.

Alors qu’il vaudrait mieux saluer, comme le fit Dubuffet, la “flamboyante sorcellerie” et les “hautes incandescences mentales” que l’art de Michel Nedjar nous permet d’atteindre.

Cette rétrospective - qui retrace toutes les périodes de la création de Michel Nedjar (poupées - anciennes et modernes -, papiers mâchés, terres cuites, coudrages, peintures et dessins)- se veut le vibrant témoignage de ce momentum.

Vue de l'exposition *Michel Nedjar : momentum*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Michel Nedjar : momentum*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Michel Nedjar : momentum*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artiste
Michel Nedjar
Michel Nedjar dans son atelier - © christian berst — art brut

Il est l’artiste brut, vivant, le plus exposé et publié et pourtant la trajectoire extraordinaire de ce français pose une question rarement abordée : celle de l’impermanence de l’art brut. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet, au moment où il travaille sur la résurgence du corps symbolique, il s’autorise alors à devenir l’artiste protéiforme que l’on connaît et qui, dans la création, incarne une absolue liberté. Présent dans d’innombrables collections, il est le premier « brut » à être entré dans les collections du Musée national d’art moderne (France). Depuis 2008 il s’est vu consacrer six expositions monographiques par Le Mahj (Paris), le LaM (Lille), le musée Gugging (Vienne) et la galerie.

Catalogue
Michel Nedjar momentum (une rétrospective)
Michel Nedjar : momentum (une rétrospective) - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Stéphane Corréard
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Michel Nedjar : momentum (une rétrospective), du 23 mai au 12 juillet 2014.

Revue de presse
Michel Nedjar à l’état brut
Dominique Poiret, Libération Next. Le 27 juin 2014.
Fétiches, poupées et gris-gris
Philippe Lespinasse, Siné Mensuel. Le 26 juin 2014.
Michel Nedjar
Claire Margat, Art Press. Le 26 juin 2014.
Michel Nedjar, momentum
François Salmeron, Paris Art. Le 24 juin 2014.
Françoise Monnin aime : Michel Nedjar
Françoise Monnin, Artension N° 126. Le 24 juin 2014.
Voir plus
Michel Nedjar, momentum
La Rédaction, Art Actuel. Le 16 juin 2014.
Michel Nedjar à Paris, de la réalité au rêve
Marie-laure Bouquerel-Desjardins, Artshebdomedias.com. Le 10 juin 2014.
Michel Nedjar, momentum
Bénédicte Philippe, TéléramaSortir.fr. Le 4 juin 2014.
A l’avant-garde : Michel Nedjar
Delphine Neimon, The ARTchemists. Le 2 juin 2014.
Michel Nedjar
Roxana Azimi, Quotidien De L’art. Le 23 mai 2014.
Vidéo
Michel Nedjar table ronde
Table ronde, le 10 juin 2014 à l’occasion de l’exposition “Michel Nedjar : momentum” à la galerie […]
Langue Français
michel nedjar

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.