christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

invited curator : Gaël Charbau

John Urho Kemp (1942-2010) graduated from the University of California, Berkeley in 1965 with a degree in chemical engineering and biochemistry. He worked as a chemical engineer for almost two years, then quit to study Scientology in England and Los Angeles until 1971. He spent the next decade operating an antiques business in Los Angeles. Amongst other interests, he traveled the world to witness solar eclipses and frequented hot springs of Northern California. Throughout his life he sought revelations through meditation, metaphysics, formulas, and numbers, recorded primarily in pencil and pen on the blank surfaces of scrap papers.

Much of his work was refined and compiled into compact documents that were then photocopied and leafletted as a means of sharing his findings with as many people as he could. An online archive of his work is underway, and includes poems, equations, drawings, and collages from 1979-2010.

We owe the rescue and archiving of his numerous works to his friend, the photographer Aram Muksian, namely thousands of pages, diagrams, sketches and numerical sequences, to the point of colonizing endless bundles of dot-matrix printer paper.

Daniel Baumann – commissioner, art critic and current director of the Kunsthalle of Zürich as well as of the Wölfli Foundation in Berne – dedicated an exhibit to him at the 548 Center in NY in 2014.

TEXT BY GAËL CHARBAU

“I light up my Night in the darkness of my nerves
In my golden hair, I’ve put a hundred thousand watts
Circuits are out of order in the depths of my flesh
I imagine the telephone on a desert plane
The one where we see each other, me and myself
In this obscure haze of tinged twilight
I’m nothing but a psychic burdened with signs
My circuits disconnect
I’m nothing but a binary”

(Léo Ferré, There is nothing more)

Who is John Uhro Kemp? A mystic, self-proclaimed messenger, a learned alchemist, an erudite surrounded by myths and symbols? And what he left behind for us, is it a “work” in the sense that the art world typically understands this word? Probably not. Kemp’s research postulates the existence of a great, underlying mystery, something on which we probably all more or less agree. It is enough to escape our cities and leave our screens for a few hours during a summer night, to look up towards that surface covered in stars over our heads, infinitely profound, for something of that which constitutes our unity, our humanity, to immediately resurge. We are indeed ridiculously infinitesimal, lost there, in the Universe and surpassed by the unheard of scales that outflank us, never mind the direction in which we gaze. We are, in a sense, ill-adapted to the infinite.

Kemp sought to account for this mystery without boundaries, overtaken by the accident of our presence, by using numerals and geometry, probably convinced that an underlying order “encoded” the Universe. The elements that he left us are diagrams, formulas, numerical sequences that add up, pile up, and run into each other on an impressive accumulation of paper media, from perforated printer paper of a many meters to little cards of a few centimeters. Surely obsessively, he laid down kilometers of numbers like some form of mathematical mantra, an alphanumeric song whose words he alone seemed able to interpret.

Certain drawings and diagrams offer, for example, equations showing how to find the path to sacred cities, through the study of a dodecahedron. Sometimes the mathematical figures seem to refer to the “Freemason’s Cipher,” a principle itself drawn from the “Templar Cipher,” a method for geometrically representing letters of the alphabet depending on the position they occupy in a pre-established grid. A drawing in the form of an equation, dated February 29, 1996, is called The Miracle Formula of Life. At the bottom of the sheet, Kemp specifies: “this formula was recently (about two weeks ago) imparted to me in a dream after giving out copies of “A Formula for a Miracle”.”

Kemp would in fact distribute free “offerings,” these little drawings of a few square centimeters that condensed his alphanumeric meditations. He would give them to strangers or leave them on windshields. According to Aram Muksian, the photographer and friend of John Urho Kemp to whom we now owe the conservation and archiving of a part of his works on paper, Kemp’s research was probably inspired by the unique studies of certain mathematicians.2 Among them, it is useful to cite Abraham de Moivre (1667-1754), a friend of Leibniz, known for having predicted the exact day of his death, or even Georg Cantor (1845-1918), famous for his research on the theory of infinite sets. Both “saw” what they considered to be a manifestation of God in their research.

And indeed, in Kemp’s “works,” Biblical references are numerous. “Saint John 1:1,” “Saint Luke 4:32-34,” “Revelation 19:11-16,” appear, for example, at the bottom of a figure entitled “The Word,” in which a star and different geometric forms contain the words “God,” “Noah,” and “Jesus.” It is also often a question of the supposedly evil number 666, representing the number of the beast. A paper called “The Mark of the Beast,” for example, dated November 21, 1999, tells how Kemp discovered and photographed an inverted pentagram on August 20, 1999, near the Notre-Dame cathedral of Reims, some days after observing the full eclipse of the sun from August 11th.

We could have drawn up a quick, enigmatic Identikit of “Cosmic John” before his death: a Berkeley resident, vegetarian seeker of eclipses, wearing a beard and long hair at the wheel of a Volkswagen minibus, regularly frequenting the hot springs of Marin county, near Stinson Beach in California, known by the few people frequenting the springs. This is about all we know of him and that would be enough to make a good Coen brothers film.

All of his drawings in reality appear to be a very strange blend at the crossroads of scientific worlds and spiritual speculations, but also sectarian: the mention, in different papers, of the destruction of the sun by a hydrogen bomb tends to evoke a form of adaptation of the “theories” of scientology. In 1982 and 1983, three letters from the Californian Church of Scientology were even sent to him. But we equally find in the pieces that he left us some revisions of the famous Einstein equation as well as studies of the quartz crystal, which is what got Kemp one of his nicknames, “Crystal John.” The esoteric healers attribute to this crystal the capacity, namely, to balance “vital energy”…

But in looking at the pieces he left us only from the angle of indecipherable and probably enlightened messages, we end up missing the enigmatic force of the graphic ensemble that it constitutes. With an extreme economy of means, Kemp managed to fix an entirely personal and unique artistic language. Beyond the meaning, the forms that his compositions take are of a great diversity, sometimes really allowing the white sheet of paper to breath by sprinkling a few signs and inscriptions here and there, or on the contrary, completely saturating the paper. Other times still, the composition rests on only a few rectangles or squares that are balanced on the sheet, elsewhere there is rather a central figure that distributes the ensemble of motifs that seem to gravitate or float around it. Sometimes it is a feeling of chaos and rupture that dominates, with different additions and superimpositions, and other times it is rather the rigor of the orthogonal grid that fixes the drawing.

It is here that another gaze fixes itself on the works of this artist who was perhaps unaware that we could approach them not as messages or “revelations” but rather as autonomous works, closed worlds dispensing their own artistic rules. What we see is the trace that this man left us during the time of his existence, as if he had managed to pass on this profound, intimate and precise equation of an active human being. Something in these bits of paper puts us in the position of an archeologist. Except that we know ahead of time that nothing will explain the why, the how. It is pure gratuitousness, pleasure in the exercise. With the loss of “Cosmic John,” the key has disappeared. Just as in the starry summer night, there we are, from all sides, burdened with signs.

Exhibition view of *John Urho Kemp : a bermuda triangle*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *John Urho Kemp : a bermuda triangle*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *John Urho Kemp : a bermuda triangle*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
John Urho Kemp
john uro kemp - © anonymous, christian berst — art brut

This Californian artist, who died in 2010, had a degree in chemical engineering. Fascinated by meditation and metaphysics, he sought to unravel the mysteries of existence through formulas and numbers drawn from his own history. This “conceptual brut” artist sometimes photocopied his work to distribute it to as many people as possible. In 2014, Daniel Baumann introduced him to the 548 Center in New York. The following year, we entrusted Gael Charbau with writing an essay and curing the monographic exhibition held at the gallery. In the same year, Alfred Pacquement, former director of Pompidou, presented a John Urho Kemp installation at the Musée des Beaux-arts in Paris.

Catalog
John Urho Kemp a bermuda triangle
John Urho Kemp : a bermuda triangle - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Gaël Charbau
Forewords : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition John Urho Kemp : a bermuda triangle, from may 30th to july 18th, 2015.

Press review
à l’avant-garde : john urho kemp – sans titre – 2002
Delphine Neimon, The Artchemists. June 6, 2017.
Une œuvre d’art a-t-elle toujours un sens ?
Philippe Godin, Diagonale De L’art - Blog Libération. June 18, 2015.
John Urho Kemp – Un triangle des Bermudes
Benedicte Phillipe, Telerama Sortir. June 10, 2015.
Abracadabrantesque
Alain Berland, Mouvement.net. June 2, 2015.
Les Jeudis Arty, la nocturne d’art contemporain revient dans le Marais le 4 juin
Tania Brimson, Timeout. June 1, 2015.
Video
Mathématiques Métaphysique Art
Language French
John Urho Kemp

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

commissaire invité : Gaël Charbau

John Urho Kemp, connu également sous le nom de Crystal John, a vécu à Berkeley (Californie) où il a obtenu une licence en génie chimique. Après quelques années ponctuées d’errances, de recherches et d’emplois divers, il s’est mis à chercher la révélation à travers la méditation, la métaphysique, en particulier par le biais des formules et des nombres tirés de sa propre histoire. Beaucoup de ses travaux ont été conçus et mis en forme, puis photocopiés, aux seules fins d’être distribués au plus grand nombre. L’on doit le sauvetage et l’archivage de son grand œuvre à son ami le photographe Aram Muksian, soit des milliers de pages, diagrammes, schémas et séquences de chiffres, allant jusqu’à coloniser des liasses interminables de papier d’imprimante à aiguille.

Daniel Baumann - commissaire, critique d’art et actuel directeur de la Kunsthalle de Zürich ainsi que de la Fondation Wölfli à Berne - a été le premier a le présenter au 548 Center à NY en 2014.

La galerie a choisi de confier à Gaël Charbau le soin de mettre en espace les plusieurs dizaines d’oeuvres de John Urho Kemp présentées au public à partir du 30 mai 2015.

TEXTE DE GAËL CHARBEAU

« (…) Je m’éclaire la Nuit dans le noir de mes nerfs
Dans l’or de mes cheveux j’ai mis cent mille watts
Des circuits sont en panne dans le fond de ma viande
J’imagine le téléphone dans une lande
Celle où nous nous voyons moi et moi
Dans cette brume obscène au crépuscule teint
Je ne suis qu’un voyant embarrassé de signes
Mes circuits déconnectent
Je ne suis qu’un binaire »

(Léo Ferré, Il n’y a plus rien)

Qui est John Uhro Kemp ? Un mystique, messager auto-proclamé, un savant alchimiste, un érudit entouré de mythes et de symboles ? Et ce qu’il nous a laissé, s’agit-il d’une « oeuvre » au sens où le milieu de l’art entend ce mot habituellement ? Probablement pas. Les recherches de Kemp postulent l’existence d’un grand mystère sous-jacent, ce sur quoi nous sommes probablement tous à peu près d’accord. Il suffit en effet de fuir nos villes et quitter nos écrans quelques heures d’une nuit d’été, de lever les yeux vers cette surface couverte d’étoiles au-dessus de nos têtes, infiniment profonde, pour qu’immédiatement resurgisse quelque chose de ce qui constitue notre unité, notre humanité. Nous sommes bien ridiculement infimes, perdus là dans l’Univers et dépassés par les échelles inouïes qui nous débordent, qu’importe la direction où se porte notre regard. Nous sommes, en quelques sortes, inadaptés à l’infini.

Ce mystère sans bordure, doublé de l’accident de notre présence, Kemp a chercher à en rendre compte en utilisant les nombres et la géométrie, probablement convaincu qu’un ordre invisible « encode » l’Univers. Les éléments qu’il nous a laissé sont des diagrammes, des formules, des suites de nombres qui s’additionnent, s’empilent et se croisent sur une impressionnante accumulation de supports en papier, allant de feuilles d’imprimantes perforées de plusieurs mètres à des petites cartes de quelques centimètres. Avec obsession sans doute, il a couché des kilomètres de chiffres comme une forme de mantra mathématique, un chant alphanumérique dont il semblait le seul à pouvoir interpréter les paroles.

Certains dessins et diagrammes proposent par exemple des équations permettant de trouver le chemin de villes sacrées, à travers l’étude d’un dodécaèdre. Parfois les figures mathématiques semblent faire référence au « Chiffre des Francs-maçons », principe lui-même issu du « Chiffre des templiers », une méthode de représentation géométrique des lettres de l’alphabet en fonction de la position qu’elles occupent dans une grille préétablie. Un dessin sous forme d’équation daté du 29 février 1996 s’intitule La formule miraculeuse de la vie 2. Au bas de la feuille, Kemp précise : « cette formule m’a été récemment (il y a environ deux semaines) communiquée dans un rêve après avoir distribué les copies d’Une formule pour un miracle 3. »

Kemp diffusait en effet gratuitement des « offrandes » 4, ces petits dessins photocopiés de quelques centimètres carrés qui condensaient ses méditations alphanumériques. Il les donnait à des inconnus ou les laissait sur des pares-brises. Selon Aram Muksian, photographe et ami de John Urho Kemp à qui l’on doit aujourd’hui la conservation et l’archivage d’une partie des travaux sur papier, les recherches de Kemp ont probablement été inspirées par les travaux singuliers de certains mathématiciens. 5 Parmi eux, il est utile de citer Abraham de Moivre (1667-1754), ami de Leibniz, connu pour avoir prédit avec exactitude le jour de sa propre mort ou encore Georg Cantor (1845-1918), célèbre pour ses recherches sur la théorie des ensembles infinis. Tous les deux ont « croisé » ce qu’ils considéraient être une manifestation de Dieu dans leurs recherches.

Et en effet, dans les « œuvres » de Kemp, les références bibliques sont nombreuses. « Saint John1:1 », « Saint Luke 4:32-34 », « Revelation 19:11-16 » apparaissent par exemple au bas d’une figure ayant pour titre « The Word », dans laquelle une étoile et différentes formes géométriques, enferment les lettres des mots « God », « Noe » et « Jesus ». Il est aussi souvent question du chiffre 666 supposé maléfique, représentant le nombre de la bête. Un papier intitulé « The Mark Of The Beast », daté du 21 novembre 1999, raconte par exemple comment Kemp découvrit et photographia le 20 août 1999 un pentagramme inversé, près de la cathédrale Notre-Dame de Reims, quelque jours après avoir observé l’éclipse totale de soleil du 11 août.

On aurait pu dresser un rapide portrait-robot énigmatique de « Cosmic John » avant sa mort: résident de Berkerley, chasseur d’éclipse végétarien, portant barbe et cheveux longs au volant d’un mini-bus Volkswagen, fréquentant régulièrement les sources d’eau chaude du comté de Marin, près de Stinson Beach en Californie. Connu des quelques personnes fréquentant ses sources. C’est à peu près tout ce qu’on sait de lui et ça suffirait à faire un bon film des frères Cohen.

L’ensemble de ses dessins semble en réalité un bien étrange mélange à la croisée des mondes scientifiques et des spéculations spirituelles, mais aussi sectaires : les mentions, dans différents papiers, de la destruction du soleil par une bombe à hydrogène n’est pas sans évoquer une forme d’adaptation des « théories » de la scientologie. En 1982 et 1983, trois lettres émanant de l’Église de Scientologie californienne lui sont d’ailleurs adressés. Mais on trouve dans les pièces qu’il nous a laissé tout aussi bien des révisions de la célèbre équation d’Einstein que des études sur le cristal de quartz, ce qui vaut à Kemp un autre de ses surnoms, « Crystal John ». Les guérisseurs ésotériques prêtent à ce cristal de quartz la capacité, notamment, d’équilibrer « l’énergie vitale »…

Mais en ne regardant les pièces qu’il nous a laissé que sous l’angle de messages indéchiffrables et probablement illuminés, on finit par rater la force énigmatique de l’ensemble graphique qu’elle constitue. Avec une extrême économie de moyen, Kemp est parvenu à fixer un langage plastique tout-à-fait personnel et singulier. Au-delà du fond, les formes que prennent ses compositions sont d’une grande diversité, laissant parfois beaucoup respirer la feuille blanche en disséminant quelques signes et inscriptions ici ou là, ou au contraire en saturant complètement le support. Parfois encore, la composition ne repose que sur quelques rectangles ou carrés qui s’équilibrent dans la feuille, ailleurs il s’agit au contraire d’une figure centrale qui distribue l’ensemble des motifs qui semblent graviter ou flotter autour d’elle. Tantôt c’est un sentiment de chaos et d’éclatement qui domine, avec différents ajouts et surimpressions et d’autres fois c’est au contraire la rigueur de la grille orthogonale qui fige le dessin.

C’est ici un autre regard qui se pose sur les travaux de cet artiste qui ignorait peut-être qu’on puisse les approcher non plus comme des messages ou des « révélations », mais bien comme des œuvres autonomes, des mondes clos distribuant leurs propres règles plastiques. Ce que nous regardons, c’est la trace que cet homme nous a laissé dans le temps de son existence, comme si il était parvenu à transmettre cette équation profonde, intime et précise d’un être humain en activité. Quelque chose, dans ces bouts de papier, nous met dans la position d’un archéologue. Sauf que d’avance on sait que rien n’expliquera le pourquoi, le comment. C’est ici pure gratuité, plaisir de l’exercice. Avec la disparition de « Cosmic John », la clef s’est envolée. Comme dans la nuit d’été étoilée, nous voilà, de toute part, embarrassés de signes.

Vue de l'exposition *John Urho Kemp : le triangle des Bermudes*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *John Urho Kemp : le triangle des Bermudes*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *John Urho Kemp : a bermuda triangle*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artiste
John Urho Kemp
john urho kemp - © anonyme, christian berst — art brut

Cet artiste californien, disparu en 2010, était diplômé en génie chimique. Fasciné par la méditation et la métaphysique, il tentait d’élucider les mystères de l’existence par le biais de formules et de nombres tirés de sa propre histoire. Ce « brut conceptuel » photocopiait parfois ses travaux pour les distribuer au plus grand nombre. En 2014, Daniel Baumann le fait découvrir en l’exposant au 548 Center à New York. L’année suivante, nous confions à Gaël Charbau la rédaction d’un essai et le commissariat de l’exposition monographique qui se tient à la galerie. La même année, Alfred Pacquement – ancien directeur de Pompidou - en présente une installation au musée des Beaux-arts de Paris.

Catalogue
John Urho Kemp un triangle des bermudes
John Urho Kemp : un triangle des bermudes - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Gaël Charbau
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition John Urho Kemp : un triangle des bermudes, du 30 mai au 18 juillet 2015.

Revue de presse
à l’avant-garde : john urho kemp – sans titre – 2002
Delphine Neimon, The Artchemists. Le 6 juin 2017.
Une œuvre d’art a-t-elle toujours un sens ?
Philippe Godin, Diagonale De L’art - Blog Libération. Le 18 juin 2015.
John Urho Kemp – Un triangle des Bermudes
Benedicte Phillipe, Telerama Sortir. Le 10 juin 2015.
Abracadabrantesque
Alain Berland, Mouvement.net. Le 2 juin 2015.
Les Jeudis Arty, la nocturne d’art contemporain revient dans le Marais le 4 juin
Tania Brimson, Timeout. Le 1 juin 2015.
Vidéo
Mathématiques Métaphysique Art
Langue Français
John Urho Kemp

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.