christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Prophet Royal Robertson was born in Louisiana in 1936. As a young man, he migrated to the West Coast where he alternated between working in the fields and as a painter of signs. Then, he went back to his stomping grounds in order to take care of his dying mother and to marry, in 1955, Adell, who would give him 11 children.

This calm life, however rough, would be progressively devastated by a paranoid schizophrenia that Royal was suffering from. His obsessive jealousy and his delirious flashes ended up dividing his entire family and, as he went deeper into his solitude, the world seemed more and more hostile to him. From then on, he evolved into a prophet without disciples, resolutely placing himself in a mythical time-space continuum. His existence, from this period on, was cadenced by incessant trips between the intimacy of his home – whose entrance was bristled with warning signs – and the otherworldly regions in which he took solace.

Each of his “trips” seemed to result in a work of eschatological inspiration – a work always maintaining the trace of his wife’s supposed infidelities as a perpetuation of original sin, mixed with other furious imprecations and litanies of irremissible sins. Royal put his talent as a painter of signs to use in a pop gospel, illustrated and hysterical, with strident colors and hallucinated typographies. His calendars are like the chronicle of a magical time, punctuated with biblical verse and accompanied by visions that seem to come from comic books for the purpose of moral redress.

Ethereal ascensions, portraits of divinities or “Martian” aristocrats, futurist architectures identical to the “model homes” of a world yet to come, as if Royal Robertson, like a Moses of modern times, had come down from his planet carrying his own law tables.

On a quest for redemption – ours just as much as his own – Prophet Royal Robertson died in 1997, five years after Hurricane Andrew had taken his favorite refuge.

Exhibition view of *Prophet Royal Robertson : space gospel*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Prophet Royal Robertson : space gospel*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Prophet Royal Robertson : space gospel*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
Royal Robertson
royal robertson - © christian berst — art brut

Royal Robertson spent most of his life in Louisiana with his wife and eleven children. A sign painter by training, his paranoid schizophrenia triggers in him a prodigious creative fever. Ethereal ascents, portraits of deities, futuristic architectures alike “show houses” of a world to come, it is as if he had descended from his planet, carrying his own Tablets of Law. Featured in countless international collections, such as the Smithsonian Museum of American Art (USA), his work was presented in 2018-19 in the travelling exhibition Into The Unknown, produced by the Barbican (London) and curated by Patrick Gyger.

Video
Royal robertson space gospel
Language French
Prophet Royal Robertson

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Prophet Royal Robertson naît en Louisiane, en 1936. Jeune homme, il migre sur la côte Ouest où il travaille alternativement dans les champs ou comme peintre d’enseignes. Puis, il revient sur ses terres pour y veiller sa mère mourante et pour y épouser, en 1955, Adell, qui lui donnera 11 enfants.

Cette vie paisible, quoique rude, sera progressivement dévastée par la schizophrénie paranoïde dont souffre Royal. Sa jalousie maladive et ses bouffées délirantes finissent par faire éclater toute sa famille et, à mesure qu’il s’enfonce dans sa solitude, le monde lui paraît de plus en plus hostile. Dès lors, il se mue en prophète sans disciples, se plaçant résolument dans un espace-temps mythique. Son existence, à partir de cette époque, est rythmée par d’incessants allers-retours entre l’intimité de sa maison - dont l’accès est hérissé de mises en garde - et les contrées extraterrestres où il puise sa consolation.

Chacun de ses « voyages » semble donner lieu à une œuvre portée par un souffle eschatologique. Une œuvre gardant constamment la trace des infidélités supposées de sa femme comme une perpétuation du péché originel, mêlées à d’autres imprécations furieuses et à des litanies de péchés irrémissibles.

Royal met son habileté de peintre d’enseignes au service d’un évangile pop, historié et hystérique, aux couleurs stridentes et aux typographies hallucinées. Ses calendriers sont comme la chronique d’un temps magique, ponctuée de versets bibliques et assortie de visions qui paraissent surgies de comics books au service du redressement moral. Ascensions éthérées, portraits de divinités ou d’aristocrates « martiens », architectures futuristes pareilles à des « maisons témoins » d’un monde à venir, c’est comme si Royal Robertson, tel un Moïse des temps modernes, était descendu de sa planète chargé de ses propres tables de la loi.

En quête de rédemption – la nôtre comme la sienne – Prophet Royal Robertson disparaît en 1997, cinq ans après que l’ouragan Andrew eût emporté son havre de prédication.

Artiste
Royal Robertson
royal robertson - © christian berst — art brut

Royal Robertson a passé la majeure partie de sa vie en Louisiane, avec sa femme et leurs onze enfants. Peintre d’enseigne de formation, sa schizophrénie paranoïde déclenche en lui une prodigieuse fièvre créatrice. Ascensions éthérées, portraits de divinités, architectures futuristes pareilles à des « maisons témoin » d’un monde à venir, c’est comme s’il était descendu de sa planète, chargé de ses propres tables de la loi. Figurant dans d’innombrables collections internationales, comme le Smithsonian Museum of American Art (Etats-Unis), son œuvre a été présenté, en 2018-19, dans l’exposition itinérante Into The Unknown, produite par le Barbican (Londres) et curatoriée par Patrick Gyger. 

Vidéo
Royal robertson space gospel
Langue Français
Prophet Royal Robertson

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.