christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The sensations are there, vibrant as the light, radical in their lines, melodious in their palette. Baudelaire used to write about this: “The right way to know if a painting is melodious is to look at it from far enough away so that you understand neither its subject nor the lines. If it is melodious, it already has a meaning, and it has already taken its place in the repertoire of memories.”

The music fills the workshop – Satie’s Gymnopédie or a pop tune, depending on the day – as a young silhouette standing solidly before the large easel works back and forth across three large sheets of paper. With his cursive writing, Anton Hirschfeld weaves lists of names, family and friends, into processional columns that form the unexpected fabric of his works.

It is the essence of this immutable prelude that Nancy Huston seized upon: “Links. Ropes. Threads that tie us together. Weaving of the soul. It is about never losing the thread, never breaking the link. The fabric of relations to others, symbolized by their names, is the basso continuo of our existence.” As if Anton was making a bed of his relationships on which to lay down his paintings. As if pastel, acrylic or ink - and the entire composition forming the chain of this canvas - as if everything was arranged according to these secret links and the rhythm of the music. And the miracle is accomplished with disconcerting evidence. To observe it, it would even seem, as for the illustrious Pablo, that Anton does not seek, he finds.

And so, even works inspired by photographs of New York are transformed into challenges. Chromatic challenges, plastic challenges, rhythmic challenges, stylistic challenges. New York is no longer New York; it is more. The cacophony of Manhattan is made into its substance, its spatiality, revealed, so to speak, by new colors and contours.

The sensations are there, vibrant as the light, radical in their lines, melodious in their palette. Baudelaire used to write about this: “The right way to know if a painting is melodious is to look at it from far enough away so that you understand neither its subject nor the lines. If it is melodious, it already has a meaning, and it has already taken its place in the repertoire of memories.”

Anton Hirschfeld treats all the subjects he explores with the same breadth, to the point that abstraction and figuration literally fuse. If fundamentally all that interests him are the prodigious possibilities of form, this form would be nothing without the energy that flows through it and the structure that lies beneath. To the point that sometimes the names hemmed on the surface of the sheet are discernable through the transparency of a color, as if to remind us of this inextinguishable source. From precisely that point, on the side of the inexpressible, on the side of the inexplicable, to which the artist submits, and to which he submits us with him.

Since nothing – in an existence that has struggled so hard to extract him from his chrysalis – predisposed this 26-year old man to teach us that art is not only the path, but is also the origin and the destination.

exhibition view of *anton hirschfeld : soul weaving*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of *anton hirschfeld : soul weaving*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of *anton hirschfeld : soul weaving*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Anton Hirschfeld untitled, 2018
19.69 x 25.59 in
untitled (inspiration) - © christian berst — art brut
Anton Hirschfeld untitled (inspiration), 2016
19.69 x 25.59 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Anton Hirschfeld untitled, 2017
19.69 x 25.59 in
Artist
Anton Hirschfeld
Anton Hirschfeld - © christian berst — art brut

Discovered thanks to the writer Nancy Huston, he is one of the youngest artists represented by the gallery. With his cursive writing, Anton Hirschfeld meshes lists of names, playlists or guests in processional columns, to form the unexpected frame of his works. As if the pastel, acrylic and ink that cover them were ordered according to secret links. First presented to the public in 2017 at the gallery, he is the subject of a documentary which is expected to be released in 2021.

Catalog
Anton Hirschfeld soul weaving
Catalogue published to mark the exhibition *Anton Hirschfeld : soul weaving*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Nancy Huston
Foreword : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Anton Hirschfeld : soul weaving, from October 13th, 2018 to January 12th, 2019.

anton hirschfeld

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Les sensations sont là, vibrantes comme la lumière, radicales dans leur tracé, mélodieuses par leur palette. Baudelaire écrivait à ce propos : « La bonne manière de savoir si un tableau est mélodieux est de regarder d’assez loin pour n’en comprendre ni le sujet ni les lignes. S’il est mélodieux, il a déjà un sens, et il a déjà pris sa place dans le répertoire des souvenirs ».

La musique retentit dans l’atelier - gymnopédie de Satie ou rengaine pop, selon l’humeur - une jeune silhouette solidement campée devant le large chevalet s’active en passant de l’une à l’autre des trois grandes feuilles disposées là. De son écriture cursive, Anton Hirschfeld maille des listes de noms, proches et amis, en colonnes processionnelles pour former la trame inattendue de ses œuvres.

C’est ce prélude immuable dont Nancy Huston saisit l’essence : « Liens. Cordes. Fils qui nous relient. Tissage d’âme. Il s’agit de ne jamais perdre le fil, ne jamais rompre le lien. Le tissu des rapports à autrui, symbolisé par leurs noms, est le basso continuo de notre existence. ». Comme si Anton faisait lit des siens pour y coucher sa peinture. Comme si le pastel, l’acrylique ou l’encre - et la composition toute entière formant la chaîne de ce canevas – comme si tout s’ordonnançait selon ces liens secrets et la cadence de la musique. Et le miracle s’accomplit avec une évidence déconcertante. À l’observer, il semblerait même, comme pour l’illustre Pablo, qu’Anton ne cherche pas, mais trouve.

Ainsi, même des œuvres inspirées de photographies de New York se transforment en défis. Défi chromatique, défi plastique, défi rythmique, défi stylistique. New York n’est plus New York, il est davantage. La cacophonie de Manhattan est rendue à sa substance, à sa spatialité, pour ainsi dire révélée par des couleurs et des contours nouveaux.

Les sensations sont là, vibrantes comme la lumière, radicales dans leur tracé, mélodieuses par leur palette. Baudelaire écrivait à ce propos : « La bonne manière de savoir si un tableau est mélodieux est de regarder d’assez loin pour n’en comprendre ni le sujet ni les lignes. S’il est mélodieux, il a déjà un sens, et il a déjà pris sa place dans le répertoire des souvenirs ».

Anton Hirschfeld traite avec la même amplitude tous les sujets qu’il aborde, au point qu’abstraction et figuration entrent littéralement en fusion. Et s’il ne semble, au fond, intéressé que par les prodigieuses possibilités de la forme, cette dernière ne serait rien sans l’énergie qui la parcourt et la trame qui la sous-tend. Au point que, parfois, les noms ourlés à la surface de la feuille affleurent dans la transparence d’une couleur. Comme pour nous rappeler d’où sourd cette source inextinguible. Précisément de là, du côté de l’indicible, du côté de l’inexplicable auquel l’artiste se soumet, et nous soumet avec lui.

Puisque rien - dans une existence qui a tant peiné à l’extraire de sa chrysalide - ne prédisposait ce jeune homme de 26 ans à nous apprendre que l’art n’est pas seulement le chemin, il est aussi l’origine et le but.

vue de l'exposition *anton hirschfeld : soul weaving*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
vue de l'exposition *anton hirschfeld : soul weaving*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
vue de l'exposition *anton hirschfeld : soul weaving*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Anton Hirschfeld sans titre, 2018
50 x 65 cm
sans titre (inspiration) - © christian berst — art brut
Anton Hirschfeld sans titre (inspiration), 2016
50 x 65 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Anton Hirschfeld sans titre, 2017
50 x 65 cm
Artiste
Anton Hirschfeld
Anton Hirschfeld - © christian berst — art brut

Découvert grâce à l’entremise de l’écrivaine Nancy Huston, il est l’un des plus jeunes artistes représentés par la galerie. De son écriture cursive, Anton Hirschfeld maille des listes de noms, de playlists ou d’invités en colonnes processionnelles, pour former la trame inattendue de ses œuvres. Comme si le pastel, l’acrylique et l’encre qui les recouvrent, s’ordonnançaient selon ces liens secrets. Présenté pour la première fois au public en 2017, à la galerie, il a fait l’objet d’un documentaire dont la sortie devrait être annoncée pour 2021.

Catalogue
Anton Hirschfeld soul weaving
Catalogue publié à l'occasion de l'exposition *Anton Hirschfeld : soul weaving*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Nancy Huston
Avant-propos : Christian Berst.
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Anton Hirschfeld : soul weaving, du 13 octobre 2018 au 12 janvier 2019.

anton hirschfeld

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.