christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Paris Photo is postponed to 2021.

Our initial project

Cuban artist Jorge Alberto Cadi, to whom we devoted an exhibition and a monographic catalog in 2019, will be on display for the 24th edition of Paris Photo wich will take place at the Grand Palais, from 12 to 15 november, 2020.

Boltanskian with his use of photography as memorial, Warholian in his stitching of reproduced photographs, El Buzo seeks above all to reveal what these images conceal : melancholy, fatum, memento mori. But, unlike Annegret Soltau, Cadi is disengaged and operates by metaphoric transfer.

With his photomontages, he has perhaps indulged - like Hannah Höch - in an uncompromising satire of bourgeois and religious norms, but his subjects remain nevertheless engaged with our most archaic throes : the ghosts hiding in shadow like remorse or like the traces of our those who have died ? Do the decapitated figures carry their heads as a sign of alienation or, like Saint Denis, of resurrection ? Are the diabolical attributes with which they are sometimes bedecked hallmarks of our inner demons ? Do the movie stars of withered beauty remind us of our own inevitable decline ? Do the lips that are sewn shut and hollowed eyes remind us of our inability to speak or to see ?

But what is the value of this literal interpretation of his storytelling without the magical, supernatural, and fantastical ingredients that enhances the experience of his work… and tears it out of reality. And, even if he affirms that « we are stitched together by time », his practice cannot be reduced to a keeping of time, any more than photography cannot be limited to the writing of light. More likely, as with all fairy tales, Cadi’s devices may have unknown therapeutic properties that benefit us all.

Artist
Jorge Alberto Cadi
Jorge Alberto Cadi - © christian berst — art brut

On the streets of Havana, Jorge Alberto Cadi is known as « El Buzo » - the diver - a man in constant search of material for his works in the city’s trash cans and refuse piles. Boltanskian with his use of photography as memorial, Warholian in his stitching of reproduced images, El Buzo seeks to reveal, above all, what these photographs are hiding. Exhibited for the first time in 2019 by the gallery, his work will be introduced to a wider public in the second edition of Photo | Brut, a joint exhibition hosted by the Centrale and Botanique in Brussels in 2022.

Press review
Christian Berst, un nouveau regard sur l’art brut
Anne-Cécile Sanchez, Le Journal Des Arts. January 8, 2021.
Paris

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Paris Photo reporté à 2021.

Notre projet initial

L’artiste cubain Jorge Alberto Cadi, à qui nous avons consacré une exposition et un catalogue monographique en 2019, bénéficiera d’un solo show lors de la 24ème édition de Paris Photo qui se tiendra au Grand Palais du 12 au 15 Novembre 2020.

Boltanskien dans son usage mémoriel de la photographie, warholien lorsqu’il coud des greffons de clichés entre eux, El Buzo cherche avant tout à révéler ce que ces images recèlent de mélancolie, de fatum, de memento mori. Mais, à la différence d’Annegret Soltau, Cadi se désengage et opère par transfert.

Par ailleurs, même s’il se livre dans ses photomontages – à la manière d’une Hannah Höch – à une satire sans compromis des normes bourgeoises et religieuses, ses sujets demeurent en prise avec nos affres les plus archaïques : les fantômes sont-ils tapis dans l’ombre comme des remords ou comme les traces de nos chers disparus ? Les personnages décapités portent-ils leur tête en signe d’aliénation ou, comme saint Denis, de résurrection ? Les attributs diaboliques dont ils sont parfois affublés sont-ils la marque de nos démons intérieurs ? Les vedettes de cinéma à la beauté flétrie nous renvoient-elles à notre propre déclin ? Les lèvres cousues et les regards vides nous rappellent-ils notre infirmité à dire et à voir ?

Mais que vaut l’interprétation littérale de cette fabrique d’histoires si l’on ne tient pas compte de l’ingrédient magique, surnaturel, fantastique qui en rehausse la saveur … et l’arrache à sa contingence ? Et ce, même s’il affirme que « nous sommes un peu cousus par le temps », sa pratique ne peut être réduite à une écriture du temps, pas plus que la photographie ne peut être restreinte à l’écriture de la lumière. Plus vraisemblablement, comme c’est le cas pour les contes, les dispositifs de Cadi ont-ils des vertus thérapeutiques insoupçonnées.

Artiste
Jorge Alberto Cadi
Jorge Alberto Cadi - © christian berst — art brut

Dans les rues de La Havane, Jorge Alberto Cadi n’est connu que comme « El Buzo » - le plongeur-, constamment à la recherche de matériel pour ses œuvres, dans les poubelles de la ville. Boltanskien dans son usage mémoriel de la photographie, warholien lorsqu’il coud des greffons d’images entre eux, El Buzo cherche avant tout à révéler ce que les images cachent. Exposé pour la toute première fois en 2019, par la galerie, il sera présenté au grand public dans le 2e volet de Photo brut qui, après les rencontres photographiques d’Arles, sera accueilli à la Centrale et au Botanique, à Bruxelles, en 2022.

Paris

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.