christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The story of Mary Tillman Smith is that of a poor child from Mississippi who, in the twilight of her life, began work that was admired very early on by Basquiat, and that now features in the collections of the most prestigious museums, including the Metropolitan Museum (New York), the National Gallery of Art (Washington), the High Museum of American Art (Atlanta), the Smithsonian Museum (Washington), and the Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris).

Mary, born in 1904 into a family of sharecroppers in Martinville, Mississippi, suffered from a hearing impairment which, by isolating her very early, developed in her a creative rage coupled with an unparalleled capacity for resistance. Condemned to work in the fields from a very early age, this child was already drawing strange pictures in the earth accompanied by sibylline texts. But it was not until the twilight of her life that she began to give shape to her personal cosmology by painting on metal sheets and wooden panels placed on and around her modest bungalow. By establishing this particular relationship with the world, by calling out to passers-by in this way, she invented a kind of graphic blues in which art becomes the intercessor par excellence of forces beyond her control.

For, at the same time as recovering her own dignity, she rids art of conventional stances and makes it a manifesto: a manifesto that is violently positive and, despite some religious themes, even subversive. This “solar aesthetic”, as Daniel Soutif calls it, provokes a form of primal oscillation between the human and the divine that takes us back to the deep roots of creation.

Mary T. Smith, who died in 1995, left behind several hundred paintings of exceptional elemental power, which have earned her recognition today as one of the leading figures in American art brut.

Mary T. Smith - © christian berst — art brut
Mary T. Smith - © christian berst — art brut
Mary T. Smith - © christian berst — art brut
Mary T. Smith - © christian berst — art brut
Mary T. Smith - © christian berst — art brut
Mary T. Smith - © christian berst — art brut
Mary T. Smith - © christian berst — art brut
Mary T. Smith - © christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
Mary T. Smith untitled, 1987
23.62 x 31.89 in
Mary T. Smith untitled, 1987
23.62 x 32.28 in
Mary T. Smith untitled, 1985
24.02 x 23.62 in
Mary T. Smith untitled, 1985
14.57 x 9.84 in
Mary T. Smith untitled (Jesus), 1989
25.98 x 59.06 in
Mary T. Smith untitled, 1980
18.9 x 12.99 in
Artist
Mary T. Smith
mary t smith - © christian berst — art brut

A poor child of Mississippi condemned to the hardest work, this African-American woman began, in the evening of her life, a work that resembles a real graphic blues. Mary T Smith gave shape to her personal cosmology by painting on sheets of corrugated iron and wooden panels arranged around her house. Her “solar aesthetic” - says Daniel Soutif - and her powerfully elementary modes of representation made a strong impression on Basquiat. Now considered an emblematic figure of American art brut, her works have been added to the Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York), the Smithsonian Museum of American Art (Washington) and the High Museum of Art (Atlanta).

Catalog
Mary T. Smith Mississippi shouting #2
mary t. smith : mississippi shouting #2 - © christian berst — art brut

Texts : William S. Arnett & Daniel Soutif
Foreword : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition mary t. smith : mississippi shouting #2, from October, 14 to November 21, 2021

Press review
Mississippi Shouting #2
Damien Aubel, Transfuge. October 30, 2021.
Christian Berst Art Brut : Mary T. Smith
Anne Kerner, Paris Capitale. October 28, 2021.
Mary T. Smith, It’s all right !
Philippe Godin , La Diagonale De L’art. October 15, 2021.
Videos
Mary T. Smith : mississippi shouting #2 par Christian Berst
mary t. smith : mississippi shouting #2
Mary T. Smith

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

L’histoire de Mary Tillman Smith est celle d’une enfant pauvre du Mississippi qui, au soir de sa vie, a entamé un œuvre très tôt admiré par Basquiat et figurant aujourd’hui dans les collections des musées les plus prestigieux, parmi lesquels le Metropolitan Museum (New-York), la National Gallery of Art (Washington), le High Museum of American Art (Atlanta), le Smithsonian Museum (Washington) ou le Musée national d’Art Moderne (Paris).

Mary, née en 1904 dans une famille de métayers à Martinville, Mississipi, souffrait d’une déficience auditive qui, très tôt, en l’isolant, a développé chez elle une rage créatrice doublée d’une capacité de résistance hors pair. Condamnée très tôt aux travaux des champs, cette enfant traçait déjà dans la terre d’étranges dessins accompagnés de textes sibyllins. Mais ce n’est qu’au crépuscule de sa vie qu’elle se mit à donner corps à sa cosmologie personnelle en peignant sur des tôles ou des panneaux de bois disposés sur et autour de son modeste bungalow. En établissant ce rapport particulier au monde, en interpellant de la sorte les passants, elle invente une sorte de blues graphique où l’art devient l’intercesseur par excellence de forces qui la dépassent. Car, en même temps que de retrouver sa propre dignité, elle débarrasse l’art des postures convenues pour le faire accéder au rang de manifeste. Un manifeste violemment positif et, en dépit de quelques thèmes religieux, subversif même. Cette « esthétique solaire », comme la qualifie Daniel Soutif, provoque une forme d’oscillation primale entre l’humain et le divin qui nous fait remonter aux racines profondes de la création.

Mary T. Smith, disparue en 1995, laisse derrière elle quelques centaines de peintures d’une puissance élémentaire exceptionnelle qui lui valent d’être reconnue aujourd’hui comme l’une des figures dominantes de l’art brut américain.

Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
Mary T. Smith sans titre, 1987
60.5 x 81.5 cm
Mary T. Smith sans titre, 1987
60.5 x 82 cm
Mary T. Smith sans titre, 1985
61 x 60.7 cm
Mary T. Smith sans titre, 1985
37 x 25.5 cm
Mary T. Smith sans titre (Jesus), 1989
66 x 150.5 cm
Mary T. Smith sans titre, 1980
48.9 x 33.7 cm
Artiste
Mary T. Smith
mary t smith - © christian berst — art brut

Enfant pauvre du Mississippi condamnée aux labeurs les plus durs, cette afro-américaine a entamé, au soir de sa vie, un œuvre qui s’apparente à un véritable blues graphique. Mary T Smith donnait corps à sa cosmologie personnelle en peignant sur des tôles et panneaux de bois disposés autour de sa maison. Son « esthétique solaire » - dixit Daniel Soutif – et ses modes de représentation puissamment élémentaires ont fait forte impression sur Basquiat. Aujourd’hui considérée comme une figure emblématique de l’art brut américain, ses œuvres sont entrées au Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York), au Smithsonian Museum of American Art (Washington) ou encore au High Museum of Art (Atlanta).

Catalogue
Mary T. Smith Mississippi shouting #2
mary t. smith : mississippi shouting #2 - © christian berst — art brut

Textes : William S. Arnett & Daniel Soutif
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition mary t. smith : mississippi shouting #2, du 14 octobre au 21 novembre 2021.

Vidéo
mary t. smith : mississippi shouting #2
Mary T. Smith

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.