christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

While being outside the cultural mainstream was long considered a sine qua non of Art Brut, this is no longer held to be a key criterion. However, the transgression and transfiguration of culture – whether popular or elitist – remains a constant feature of Art Brut.

Marilena Pelosi’s art is a perfect example: in her works, the exuberant Catholicism and feverish Macumba of her native Brazil come together in a giddy whirl. Reminiscences of trances, eucharistic processions, and devilish carnivals are inextricably bound up with more intimate memories of her solitary childhood, fleeing a forced marriage with a Macumba priest, and her years of rootless drifting around the world.

Marilena Pelosi’s sober, unadorned lines create a cruel fairy world full of symbols, in which meaning slips away, defying all reason – especially her own, even if, as she admits, “ It’s normal people who become insane. But because I’ve never been normal, I’m not at any risk”.

Artist
Marilena Pelosi
Marilena Pelosi - © christian berst — art brut

At a very young age, Marilena Pelosi began to make drawings in which exuberant Catholicism and feverish Macumba, from her native Brazil, swirled to the point of delirium. The reminiscence of trance, eucharistic processions and carnivals are inextricably combined with much more intimate evocations. Now living in Normandy, she continues these same disturbing drawings, made with ballpoint pens, in which doll-women are both executioners and victims. Entering the BIC collection (France) in 2019, she is represented in major collections, including those of Hannah Rieger (Austria), Amr Shaker (Switzerland), and Dino Menozzi (Italy).

Catalog
Marilena Pelosi breaking the hex
Marilena Pelosi : breaking the hex - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Laurent Danchin
Foreword : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Marilena Pelosi : breaking the hex, from february 13th to march 14th, 2009.
Co published with les éditions Le livre d’art, 2009.

Press review
Annonce de l'exposition Marilena Pelosi
Raw Vision. December 1, 2009.
Itinéraire expogéographique
Animula Vagula. March 8, 2009.
Marilena Pelosi : Manoeuvres de désenvoûtement
Télérama Sortir. March 4, 2009.
Marilena Pelosi à l'Objet-Trouvé
Le Poignard Subtil. February 9, 2009.
Annonce de l'exposition Marilena Pelosi
Raw Vision. July 2, 2007.
marilena pelosi 2009

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

L’exemption de culture – longtemps considérée comme une condition sine qua non de l’art brut – ne fait désormais plus partie de sa critériologie. En revanche, que cette culture, populaire ou savante, se retrouve comme transgressée, transfigurée est presque une constante dans les créations brutes.

L’art de Marilena Pelosi en est le parfait exemple : le catholicisme exubérant et la macumba fiévreuse de son Brésil natal y tournoient jusqu’au délire. Les réminiscences de transes, de processions eucharistiques, de carnavals endiablés sont inextricablement mêlées à des évocations bien plus intimes : l’enfance recluse, la fuite d’un mariage forcé avec un prêtre macumba, puis les années d’errance à travers le Monde.

D’un trait sobre, sans artifice, Marilena fait jaillir une cruelle féerie emplie de symboles dans laquelle le sens se dérobe, défie la raison, la sienne en premier, même si, admet-elle «ce sont les gens normaux qui deviennent fous. Mais comme je ne l’ai jamais été, je ne risque rien.»

Artiste
Marilena Pelosi
Marilena Pelosi - © christian berst — art brut

Très jeune, Marilena Pelosi commence à produire des dessins, dans lesquels le catholicisme exubérant et la macumba fiévreuse de son Brésil natal, tournoient jusqu’au délire. La réminiscence de transes, de processions eucharistiques et de carnavals sont inextricablement mêlés à des évocations bien plus intimes. Aujourd’hui retirée en Normandie, elle continue à produire ces mêmes dessins troublants, faits au stylo à bille, dans lesquels des femmes-poupées sont à la fois bourreaux et victimes. Entrée dans la collection BIC (France) en 2019, elle figure dans des collections majeures, parmi lesquelles celles d’Hannah Rieger (Autriche), Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou de Dino Menozzi (Italie).

Catalogue
Marilena Pelosi manœuvre de désenvoûtement
Marilena Pelosi : manœuvre de désenvoûtement - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Laurent Danchin
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Marilena Pelosi : manœuvre de désenvoûtement, du 13 février au 14 mars 2009.
Coédité avec les éditions Le livre d’art, 2009.

Revue de presse
Annonce de l'exposition Marilena Pelosi
Raw Vision. Le 1 décembre 2009.
Itinéraire expogéographique
Animula Vagula. Le 8 mars 2009.
Marilena Pelosi : Manoeuvres de désenvoûtement
Télérama Sortir. Le 4 mars 2009.
Marilena Pelosi à l'Objet-Trouvé
Le Poignard Subtil. Le 9 février 2009.
Annonce de l'exposition Marilena Pelosi
Raw Vision. Le 2 juillet 2007.
marilena pelosi 2009

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.