christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Appleton Square presents the exhibition Cracking The Code with Adelhyd van Bender, John Urho Kemp, Melvin Way and Pepe Gaitán, curated by Antonia Gaeta.

The exhibition aims to potentiate the interpellation of aesthetic values and fictional constructions in Art Brut as an answer to the need of decrypting the codes, whether they are linguistic, visual, formal or only a solution to the authors’ obsession.

Artists
melvin way - © christian berst — art brut

Melvin Way

Discovered in the early 1980s at a homeless center in New York City, Melvin Way is now a key figure in contemporary art brut. Having interrupted his scientific studies because of his schizophrenia, he relentlessly covers fragments of papers of mathematical and chemical formulas, sibylline sketches… These dense talismanic notes, which he treasures in his pockets, exhale a rare magnetism. The 2018 Pulitzer Prize for Critics, Jerry Saltz, considers him “a mystic visionary genius, one of the greatest living American artists.” The artist’s works are now in the collections of the MoMA (New York) and the Smithsonian (Washington).

More
portrait of pepe gaitàn - © christian berst — art brut

Pepe Gaitán

Born into the Colombian bourgeoisie, Pepe Gaitan chose to live a life of asceticism and found his only pleasure directly from his daily readings at Bogota’s national library. From these books, he selects pages that he photocopies to then obliterate the counter of the letters. It is around these phantom graphemes that he composes his sibylline collages. In 2020, the Centre for Contemporary Art in Geneva celebrates him with scrivere designando, an exhibition curated by Andrea Bellini and Sarah Lombardi.

More
john uro kemp - © anonymous, christian berst — art brut

John Urho Kemp

This Californian artist, who died in 2010, had a degree in chemical engineering. Fascinated by meditation and metaphysics, he sought to unravel the mysteries of existence through formulas and numbers drawn from his own history. This “conceptual brut” artist sometimes photocopied his work to distribute it to as many people as possible. In 2014, Daniel Baumann introduced him to the 548 Center in New York. The following year, we entrusted Gael Charbau with writing an essay and curing the monographic exhibition held at the gallery. In the same year, Alfred Pacquement, former director of Pompidou, presented a John Urho Kemp installation at the Musée des Beaux-arts in Paris.

More
Cracking The Code

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

L’Appleton Square présente l’exposition Craking The Code, avec Adelhyd van Bender, John Urho Kemp, Melvin Way et Pepe Gaitán placée sous le commissariat de Antonia Gaeta.

L’exposition veut mettre en évidence l’interpellation de valeurs esthétiques et de constructions fictionnels dans l’art brut comme une réponse au besoin de décrypter les codes, qu’ils soient linguistiques, visuels, formels ou comme la solution à l’obsession des artistes.

Artistes
melvin way - © christian berst — art brut

Melvin Way

Découvert aux débuts des années 80 dans un centre pour sans-abris, à New York, Melvin Way est aujourd’hui une figure incontournable de l’art brut contemporain. Ayant interrompu ses études scientifiques en raison de sa schizophrénie, il ne cesse de recouvrir des fragments de papiers de formules mathématiques, chimiques, de croquis sibyllins… Ces denses billets talismaniques, qu’il garde précieusement dans ses poches, exhalent un magnétisme rare. Le prix Pulitzer 2018 de la critique, Jerry Saltz, le considère comme « un génie mystique visionnaire, l’un des plus grands artistes américains vivants », il fait partie des collections du MoMA (New York) et du Smithsonian (Washington).

En savoir plus
portrait de pepe gaitàn - © christian berst — art brut

Pepe Gaitán

Issu de la bourgeoisie colombienne, Pepe Gaitan a choisi de vivre une vie d’ascèse et dont le seul plaisir découle directement des lectures journalières qu’il fait à la bibliothèque nationale, à Bogota. De ces livres, il sélectionne des pages qu’il photocopie et dont il oblitère les contreformes. C’est autour de ces graphèmes fantômes qu’il compose ses collages sibyllins. En 2020, le Centre d’Art Contemporain de Genève le met à l’honneur dans scrivere designando, exposition curatoriée par Andrea Bellini et Sarah Lombardi.

En savoir plus
john urho kemp - © anonyme, christian berst — art brut

John Urho Kemp

Cet artiste californien, disparu en 2010, était diplômé en génie chimique. Fasciné par la méditation et la métaphysique, il tentait d’élucider les mystères de l’existence par le biais de formules et de nombres tirés de sa propre histoire. Ce « brut conceptuel » photocopiait parfois ses travaux pour les distribuer au plus grand nombre. En 2014, Daniel Baumann le fait découvrir en l’exposant au 548 Center à New York. L’année suivante, nous confions à Gaël Charbau la rédaction d’un essai et le commissariat de l’exposition monographique qui se tient à la galerie. La même année, Alfred Pacquement – ancien directeur de Pompidou - en présente une installation au musée des Beaux-arts de Paris.

En savoir plus
Cracking The Code

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.