christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The gallery loaned artworks by Harald Stoffers, Leopold Strobl, Dan Miller and Dominique Théate on the occasion of de Het nieuwe geniaal at the Cultuurcentrum Mechelen (Belgium).

On the occasion of its 10th anniversary, Studio Borgerstein invites curator Pierre Muylle. In this exhibition, the language of artistry is celebrated and we see objects that are fundamentally different, yet communicate with each other.

If we understand thinking only as a cerebral activity, “that thinking” is often excluded for artists with intellectual disabilities. But thinking does not happen only through the brain. The hands can also think, even the imagination is a form of thinking. And that is precisely where many artists with intellectual disabilities excel. This is where we meet contemporary artists who, with open mouths, step into the genius of inventions and the inventive naturalness of the imagination. This is the thread that runs through this exhibition.

Around a central installation, the exhibition develops through the adjacent rooms. Each room brings together works that belong to the same blood group, feeding a similar world of imagination.

Artists
harald stoffers - © christian berst — art brut

Harald Stoffers

More than twenty years ago, Harald Stoffers began a fictional correspondence with his mother, in which all the letters started with « Liebe Mutti ». He began this exercise at a workshop for people with disabilities at which he worked. He started by distributing them amongst his fellow workers in the form of small torn notes. Stoffers’ letters later thickened, some even reaching ten meters long. Presented in a film by Youssef Tabti at the Grand Palais in 2009, his work was included in such prestigious institutions as the Mona (Australia), the Hamburger Kunsthalle (Berlin), the Oliva Creative Factory (Portugal), the Dox Art Center (Prague) and the Maison rouge (Paris).

More
dominique théate - © eulalie toussaint, christian berst — art brut

Dominique Theate

In his eighteens, while he got ready to start studying fine arts, a coma after a serious motorcycle accident changed the promising life of this young artist. The impossibility of recovery condemned Dominique Théte to fantasize about his life. This is why almost all his drawings are followed by a “Shema (sic) representing me…” where he stages different aspects of his fantasy life, whereas in the afternoon suit he would wear during his marriage, in a comedian loved by his audience, in a star singer, or in the reproduction of the numerous cars he dreams of. As Anne-Françoise Rouche implied: “Because he was stolen from his construction of common person, he is going to draw and to write that of[…]

More
portrait of dan miller - © creative growth art center, christian berst — art brut

Dan Miller

Having become, in a decade, one of the most recognized contemporary brut artists, this autistic native of California is sometimes compared to Cy Twombly: while the latter deconstructs language, the former builds it. Since 2010, the gallery has contributed to its international recognition by organizing several exhibitions and publishing the only monograph available to date, enriched with an essay by Richard Leemann. Present in countless public and private collections - including those of the MoMA and Pompidou –, Dan Miller’s work was also part of the official selection of the 2017 Venice Biennale.

More
leopold strobl, gugging - © marco prenninger, christian berst — art brut

Leopold Strobl

Attending the Gugging workshop (Austria) for the past ten years, he finds in creation a comfort and redemption, a way to keep his mental demons at bay. His small-format colored pencil drawings, crafted on landscape photographs found in newspapers, are similar to magnetic portals. Graphite contaminates the scenery as if to reveal its strangeness. Present in the collections of the MoMa (New York) since 2018, his work was presented the following year in the exhibition Photo Brut at the Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles.

More
the new genius,

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie a prêté des œuvres de Harald Stoffers, Leopold Strobl, Dan Miller et Dominique Théate à l’occasion de Het nieuwe geniaal au Cultuurcentrum Mechelen (Belgique).

À l’occasion de son 10e anniversaire, le Studio Borgerstein invite le commissaire Pierre Muylle. Dans cette exposition, le langage artistique est célébré et nous voyons des objets fondamentalement différents, mais qui communiquent entre eux.

Si nous comprenons la pensée uniquement comme une activité cérébrale, “cette pensée” est souvent exclue pour les artistes présentant une déficience intellectuelle. Mais la pensée n’est pas seulement le fait du cerveau. Les mains peuvent aussi penser, même l’imagination est une forme de pensée. Et c’est là que de nombreux artistes présentant une déficience intellectuelle excellent. C’est ici que nous rencontrons les artistes contemporains qui ouvrent la bouche et entrent dans les inventions ingénieuses et le naturel imaginatif de l’imagination. C’est le fil conducteur de cette exposition.

Autour d’une installation centrale, l’exposition se développe dans les salles adjacentes. Chaque salle rassemble des œuvres qui appartiennent à un même groupe sanguin, alimentant un même univers d’imagination.

Artistes
harald stoffers - © christian berst — art brut

Harald Stoffers

Il y a plus de vingt ans, Harald Stoffers commence un échange épistolaire, fictif, avec sa mère dans lequel toutes ses lettres commencent par « Liebe Mutti ». Interné très jeune, c’est à l’hôpital qu’il s’initie à cet exercice, et distribue d’abord de courts billets déchirés aux autres patients. Plus tard, les lettres de Stoffers se densifient, tandis qu’elles atteignent parfois plusieurs mètres de long. Présenté dans un film de Youssef Tabti au Grand Palais en 2009, son oeuvre a été montrée dans des institutions aussi prestigieuses que le Mona (Australie), la Hamburger Kunsthalle (Berlin), l’Oliva Creative Factory (Portugal), le Dox Art Center (Prague) ou la Maison rouge (Paris).

En savoir plus
dominique toussaint - © eulalie toussaint, christian berst — art brut

Dominique Theate

A 18 ans, alors qu’il s’apprêtait à entrer aux Beaux-Arts, un coma successif à un grave accident de moto fait basculer la vie prometteuse de ce jeune liégeois. L’absence de rémission condamna alors Dominique Théate à fantasmer sa vie. C’est ainsi que presque tous ses dessins sont commentés par des « Shema (sic) me représentant… » où il se met en scène, tantôt dans le costume qu’il portera lors de son mariage, tantôt en comédien adulé sur les planches, tantôt en chanteur vedette, quand il ne reproduit pas à l’infini la voiture de ses rêves. Comme l’écrit Anne-Françoise Rouche « Puisqu’on lui a volé son édification d’homme ordinaire, il va dessiner et écrire celle d’un parfait golden boy ».[…]

En savoir plus
portrait de dan miller - © creative growth art center, christian berst — art brut

Dan Miller

Devenu, en une décennie, l’un des artistes bruts contemporains les plus reconnus, cet autiste originaire de Californie est parfois comparé à Cy Twombly, qui déconstruisait le langage tandis que, par effet de miroir, Dan Miller le construit. La galerie a participé, depuis 2010, à sa reconnaissance internationale en organisant plusieurs expositions et en publiant la seule monographie existant à ce jour, enrichie d’un essai de Richard Leemann. Présent dans d’innombrables collections publiques et privées – dont celles du MoMA et de Pompidou - il faisait également partie de la sélection officielle de la Biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
leopold strobl, gugging - © marco prenninger, christian berst — art brut

Leopold Strobl

Fréquentant l’atelier Gugging (Autriche), depuis une dizaine d’années, il trouve dans la création un réconfort et une rédemption, une manière de tenir à distance ses démons mentaux. Ses dessins au crayon de couleur, de petit format, sont autant de portails magnétiques réalisés sur des photographies de paysages tirées de journaux. Le graphite contamine le décor comme pour en révéler l’étrangeté. Présent dans les collections du MoMa (New York) depuis 2018, son travail a été présenté l’année suivante dans l’exposition Photo Brut aux Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles.

En savoir plus
le nouveau génie,

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.