christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The first exhibition of the Tichy Ocean Foundation in its new exhibition space in Zurich honors Miroslav Tichý and Harald Szeemann in the form of a replica of the first international exhibition of the czech artist, which Harald Szeemann curated in 2004 on the occasion of the first Biennial of Contemporary Art « La alegria de mis sueños » (The Joy of My Dreams) in Seville.

At that time, Harald Szeemann selected 27 photographs from Miroslav Tichý’s extensive oeuvre to be exhibited in Seville. Of these 27 photographs, the Tichy Ocean Foundation was able to bring more than half back to Zurich and exhibit them. The gaps are filled with photographs that were also part of the selection at that time, but not exhibited.

Artist
Miroslav Tichy
Miroslav Tichy - © christian berst — art brut

Trained in academic painting, Tichy secretly engaged in photography only in 1970. Obsessive, if not fetishistic, he photographs women surreptitiously with the camera he built. His blurry photographs, sometimes enhanced with a pen border, are part of an immutable process, to which he adhered until the 1990s. Discovered by Roman Buxbaum, he was soon supported by Harald Szeemann. In 2005, he received the discovery prize at the Rencontres d’Arles and was given a major retrospective at the Centre Pompidou three years before his death. In 2019, he is again presented in Arles for the exhibition event, Photo brut.

After any given time

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La première exposition de la Fondation Tichy Ocean dans son nouvel espace d’exposition à Zurich rend hommage à Miroslav Tichý et Harald Szeemann sous la forme d’une réplique de la première exposition internationale de l’artiste tchèque, dont Harald Szeemann avait été le commissaire en 2004 à l’occasion de la première Biennale d’art contemporain “La alegria de mis sueños” (La joie de mes rêves) à Séville.

À l’époque, Harald Szeemann avait sélectionné 27 photographies de l’œuvre considérable de Miroslav Tichý pour les exposer à Séville. Sur ces 27 photographies, la Fondation Tichý Ocean a pu en ramener plus de la moitié à Zurich et les exposer. Les vides sont comblés par des photographies qui faisaient également partie de la sélection à l’époque, mais qui n’ont pas été exposées.

Artiste
Miroslav Tichy
Miroslav Tichy - © christian berst — art brut

Formé à la peinture académique, Tichý ne s’adonne secrètement à la photographie qu’à partir de 1970. Obsessionnel, pour ne pas dire fétichiste, il photographie des femmes à la dérobée avec l’appareil qu’il s’est fabriqué. Ses clichés flous, parfois rehaussés d’une bordure au stylo, font partie d’un processus immuable, auquel il s’astreint jusque dans les années 1990. Découvert par Roman Buxbaum, il est très vite soutenu par Harald Szeemann. En 2005, il reçoit le prix de la découverte aux Rencontres d’Arles et se voit consacrer, 3 ans avant sa mort, une grande rétrospective au Centre Pompidou. En 2019, il est de nouveau présenté à Arles dans l’exposition évènement, Photo brut.

After any given time

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.