christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Historians of twentieth-century science have not recorded the name of Jean Perdrizet (1907-1975) for posterity. Perdrizet was originally a deputy civil engineer with the Bridges and Highways department before mental health issues forced him out of his career. He proved a fascinating figure for the many speculative thinkers and scientists he met, describing himself as an inventor and tirelessly striving to awaken human consciousness. Like all great thinkers, he did so by exploring beyond the limits laid down by fields of research.

Perdrizet worked with subtle shifts of reality, transgressing primary utilitarian functionality and living in a mental realm devoted to his mother and the unmarried machines he tasked with enchanting the world. In many ways, his work is reminiscent of Camille Flammarion for the way it reaches beyond the earthly realm, Raymond Roussel, for embracing the poetry of machinery, and Marcel Duchamp for exploring the aesthetics of movement.

He submitted his designs to leading scientific institutions such as NASA, the French National Centre for Scientific Research, and the Nobel Prize committee, each invention an invitation to rethink the limits of physics by providing the code to another world. Inventions such as the “Selenite Adam robots” – humanity’s ambassadors to the cosmos – and his “machines for communicating with ghosts” and “sidereal esperanto”, designed to facilitate communication with extra-terrestrials, all proclaimed the abolition of death. Perdrizet died in 1975, three days after his mother.

Artist
Jean Perdrizet
Jean Perdrizet - © christian berst — art brut

This former bridge and pavement engineer, who became an “inventor,” fascinated all the scientists he met. He relentlessly sought to awaken consciences by overstepping the bounds of reason. The plans of his inventions, which he addressed to the highest scientific bodies, such as NASA, the CNRS or the Nobel Committee, are all invitations to reconsider the possibilities of physics, giving us the codes of an elsewhere. The one to whom we have dedicated an important monograph is present today in eminent collections : LaM (France), Pinacothèque Hervé Lancelin (Luxembourg), Antoine de Galbert (France), and Amr Shaker (Switzerland).

Catalog
Jean Perdrizet deus ex machina
Jean Perdrizet : deus ex machina - © christian berst — art brut

Prefaces : Manuel Anceau, José Argémi, Jean-Gaël Barbara, Marc Décimo
Foreword : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Jean Perdrizet : deus ex machina, from february 3rd to march 10th, 2012.

Press review
Jean Perdrizet : illustre inconnu, inventeur, artiste malgré lui.
Benoît Hamon Et Diane Zorzi, Agora. March 2, 2012.
Allô les sélénites ? ici Jean Perdrizet
Philippe Ducat , Echo. March 2, 2012.
L’imaginaire d’un inventeur utopiste
Marie-Odile Monchicourt, France Info. March 1, 2012.
La précision des machines chimériques
Gilbert Lascault, La Quinzaine Littéraire. March 1, 2012.
Jean Perdrizet, deus ex machina
Le Monde - Agenda. February 25, 2012.
View more
article sur jean perdrizet dans parisart
Marie-jeanne Caprasse, PARISArt. February 23, 2012.
jean perdrizet , « savant fou », à l’émission ouvert la nuit
France Inter. February 22, 2012.
Emission La tête au carré : interview de Jean-Gaël Barbara
France Inter. February 16, 2012.
Jean Perdrizet’s fantastic machines
Susan Owensby, RFI International. February 11, 2012.
perdrizet show in télérama sortir
Télérama Sortir. February 2, 2012.
Jean Perdrizet, un inventeur tous azimuts
Animula Vagula. February 1, 2012.
jean perdrizet, nobel de l’art brut on universcience.tv
Roland Gros, Universcience.tv. February 1, 2012.
Les oeuvres de Jean Perdrizet, savant fou, exposées à Paris
Michèle Folian, Tout Pour Les Femmes.com. January 27, 2012.
jean perdrizet

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

L’histoire de la science du XXe siècle n’a pas retenu le nom de Jean Perdrizet. Cet adjoint des ponts et chaussées, né en 1907, que les troubles mentaux ont trop vite écarté de toute vie professionnelle, a pourtant fasciné tous les scientifiques rêveurs qui ont croisé sa route. Se disant « inventeur », Perdrizet, sans relâche, a tenté d’éveiller les consciences en outrepassant, comme le font les grands chercheurs, les limites que leurs disciplines leur ont assigné.

Opérant par subtils déplacements de la réalité, transgressant toutes fonctions utilitaires primaires, il vivait dans un univers occupé par sa mère et les machines célibataires qu’il chargeait d’enchanter notre univers. Perdrizet est cousin, par bien des aspects, de Camille Flammarion – pour le dépassement du monde terrestre –, de Raymond Roussel – pour la poétique machinique – et de Marcel Duchamp – pour l’esthétique du mouvement. Les plans de ses inventions, qu’il adressait aux plus hautes instances scientifiques comme la NASA, le CNRS ou le comité Nobel, sont autant d’invitations à reconsidérer les limites de la physique, en nous donnant les codes d’un ailleurs.

Des « robots adam sélénites » comme ambassadeurs cosmiques de l’humanité, des “machines pour communiquer avec les fantômes”, « l’esperanto sidéra l» pour faciliter nos échanges avec les extraterrestres, tout ce merveilleux avec lequel Perdizet proclamait l’abolition de la mort, avant de disparaître, trois jours après sa mère, en 1975.

Artiste
Jean Perdrizet
Jean Perdrizet - © christian berst — art brut

Cet ancien adjoint des ponts-et-chaussées, devenu « inventeur », a fasciné tous les scientifiques qu’il a rencontrés. Sans relâche, il a voulu éveiller les consciences en outrepassant les limites de la raison. Les plans de ses inventions, qu’il adressait aux plus hautes instances scientifiques, comme la NASA, le CNRS ou le comité Nobel, sont autant d’invitations à reconsidérer les possibilités de la physique, en nous donnant les codes d’un ailleurs. Celui à qui nous avons consacré une importante monographie est aujourd’hui présent dans d’éminentes collections parmi lesquelles le LaM (France), la Pinacothèque Hervé Lancelin (Luxembourg), Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Suisse).

Catalogue
Jean Perdrizet deus ex machina
Jean Perdrizet : deus ex machina - © christian berst — art brut

Préfaces : Manuel Anceau, José Argémi, Jean-Gaël Barbara, Marc Décimo
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Jean Perdrizet : deus ex machina, du 3 février au 10 mars 2012.

Revue de presse
Jean Perdrizet : illustre inconnu, inventeur, artiste malgré lui.
Benoît Hamon Et Diane Zorzi, Agora. Le 2 mars 2012.
Allô les sélénites ? ici Jean Perdrizet
Philippe Ducat , Echo. Le 2 mars 2012.
L’imaginaire d’un inventeur utopiste
Marie-Odile Monchicourt, France Info. Le 1 mars 2012.
La précision des machines chimériques
Gilbert Lascault, La Quinzaine Littéraire. Le 1 mars 2012.
Jean Perdrizet, deus ex machina
Le Monde - Agenda. Le 25 février 2012.
Voir plus
article sur jean perdrizet dans parisart
Marie-jeanne Caprasse, PARISArt. Le 23 février 2012.
jean perdrizet, « savant fou », à l’émission ouvert la nuit
France Inter. Le 22 février 2012.
Emission La tête au carré : interview de Jean-Gaël Barbara
France Inter. Le 16 février 2012.
Jean Perdrizet’s fantastic machines
Susan Owensby, RFI International. Le 11 février 2012.
exposition perdrizet dans télérama sortir
Télérama Sortir. Le 2 février 2012.
Jean Perdrizet, un inventeur tous azimuts
Animula Vagula. Le 1 février 2012.
jean perdrizet, nobel de l’art brut sur universcience.tv
Roland Gros, Universcience.tv. Le 1 février 2012.
Les oeuvres de Jean Perdrizet, savant fou, exposées à Paris
Michèle Folian, Tout Pour Les Femmes.com. Le 27 janvier 2012.
jean perdrizet

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.