christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

In December 2007, an Austrian gallerist walked into the Lebenshilfe Oberösterreich in Ried and presented Josef Hofer with a Christmas gift, a book of Egon Schiele’s works on paper titled Aquarelle und Zeichnungen. Hofer accepted the gift by throwing it onto the ground and walking away–-clearly displeased with the book’s contents. The center’s director, Elisabeth Telsnig, apologized to the gallerist and placed the book on a shelf. Weeks later, Telsnig discovered that Hofer, of his own volition, had taken the book from the shelf and was drawing directly from its pages, creating new versions of Schiele’s famous nudes, confined within his trademark orange and yellow frames.

Since 1997, drawing has consumed Hofer’s daily routine. He works constantly, drawing and re-drawing his subjects in pursuit of perfection, constantly evolving his bold and vital figures. In Austria, critics and fellow artists have long referred to Hofer’s work as schielesk, reminiscent of Schiele, but any formal similarities, before 2007, were born out of coincidence or perhaps some deeply embedded cultural aesthetic.

Hofer is deaf and does not speak. We will never know exactly how he felt about seeing Schiele’s work for the first time or why he has chosen to spend years incorporating these drawings into his own practice. It is clear, however, that the experience deeply affected him. On some level, we all seek to distinguish ourselves, but artists have a special attachment to the notion of originality. Hofer’s experience: an artist confronted by the similitude of another’s work is far from unique. His response, however, demonstrates the artistic courage he possesses and a driving desire to improve and evolve.

Artist
Josef Hofer
josef hofer drawing - © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer, who has been a resident of an Austrian institution for more than 30 years, does not speak, he draws instead. Tirelessly. In the mirror that he uses and hands us, individuals try to take their rise in the straitjacket of the frame with an eroticized grace, untamed. His productions - to which Michel Thévoz has devoted several essays - depict a founding duality between the body and the psyche. Present in many museum collections, he is also part of great private collections: Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Switzerland) or even of the collection of Arnulf Rainer (Austria), who considers him “the greatest of the brut artists.”

Press review
The Schiele Incident
Paul Brown , Raw Vision. August 5, 2015.
The Schiele Incident

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

En décembre 2007, un galeriste autrichien est venu au Lebenshilfe Oberösterreich à Ried et a offert à Josef un cadeau de Noël, un livre d’oeuvres sur papier d’Egon Schiele intitulé Aquarelle und Zeichnungen. Hofer a accepté le cadeau en le jetant au sol avant de quitter la pièce - clairement mécontent de son contenu. La directrice du centre, Elisabeth Telsnig, s’excusa auprès du galeriste et rangea le livre sur une étagère. Des semaines plus tard, elle découvrit que Josef, de sa propre initiative, avait pris le livre sur l’étagère et était en train de dessiner en s’inspirant des reproductions d’oeuvres, créant de nouvelles versions des fameux nus de Schiele, confinés à l’intérieur de ses si caractéristiques cadres orange et jaunes.

Depuis 1997, le dessin occupe entièrement les journées de Hofer. Il travaille sans relâche, dessinant et redessinant ses sujets à la recherche de la perfection, faisant constamment évoluer ses personnages tracés au crayon gras. En Autriche, critiques d’art et artistes font référence depuis des années aux résonnances “schielesques” du travail de Hofer, comme réminiscence de Schiele. Toutes les similarités formelles antérieures à 2007 étant de pures coïncidences ou peut-être des références culturelles artistiques intégrées au plus profond de lui-même.

Hofer est sourd et ne parle pas. Nous ne saurons donc jamais vraiment quels ont été ses sentiments au moment où il a été confronté pour la première fois aux oeuvres de Schiele ni pourquoi il a choisi de passer des années à intégrer ces dessins à son propre travail. Il est certain, cependant, que cette rencontre l’a profondément affecté. Nous cherchons tous plus ou moins à nous distinguer, mais les artistes ont un attachement spécial à la notion d’originalité. L’expérience de Hofer : la confrontation d’un artiste aux similitudes de son travail avec celui d’un autre est loin d’être unique. Sa réponse, cependant, démontre son courage artistique et son désir moteur de s’améliorer et d’évoluer.

Artiste
Josef Hofer
josef hofer dessinant - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Pensionnaire depuis plus de 30 ans d’une institution autrichienne, Josef Hofer ne parle pas, il dessine. Inlassablement. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, les individus tentent de prendre leur essor dans le carcan du cadre avec une grâce érotisée, indomptée. Ses productions - auxquelles Michel Thévoz a consacré plusieurs essais - mettent en images une dualité fondatrice entre le corps et la psyché. Présent dans de nombreuses collections muséales, il compte aussi parmi de grandes collections privées, comme celles Antoine de Galbert (France), d’Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), qui le considère d’ailleurs comme « le plus grand des bruts ».

Catalogue
The Schiele Incident recent works by Josef Hofer
The Schiele Incident : recent works by Josef Hofer - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Elisabeth Telsnig
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition The Schiele Incident : recent works by Josef Hofer, à christian berst art brut, New York, du 19 février au 12 avril 2015.

Revue de presse
The Schiele Incident
Paul Brown , Raw Vision. Le 5 août 2015.
The Schiele Incident

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.