christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

August Walla (1936 - 2001) – considered for a long time one of the “classics” of Art Brut – was certainly the most versatile of them. The painted works of this Austrian genius have nonetheless been exhibited and collected for almost 40 years.

This recognition is first due to his psychiatrist, the visionary Dr. Navratil: he had taken him in at his Haus der Künstler, the community of artists established at the very heart of the Gugging assylum, and had dedicated an important monograph to him in 1988. But, even if it would appear that Walla has always compensated for his reticence in speaking – which he reserved for his mother – with an uncommon creativity, his destiny owes much to his encounter with his doctors, Leo Navratil and then Johann Feilacher (to whom we are indebted for the text of our catalog).

For the first time in his life, Walla didn’t have to hide himself from others any longer. After a childhood marked by rejection, and during which his mother would disguise him as a little girl out of fear that he be drafted into the Wehrmacht (“armed forces”), after endless trips back and forth between homes and psychiatric hospitals, he could finally be himself. To facilitate his acclimation, his mother was even authorized to live with him in the hospital. And his artistic fever took a new dimension, since he could now colonize his environment with his words and symbols without fear of reprisal. He was even encouraged there.

Let us not however be at all surprised that upon entering Gugging, the pictorial work that he then developed in comparison was easier for the public to understand: more demonstrative, more figurative, this painting populated with hieratic figures and antagonistic political symbols pandered to the idea that people had at the time of Art Brut.

But Walla, stingy with words, was always a tireless graphomaniac, a creator of novolanguages derived from the dictionaries of the whole world, which he liked to surround himself with. He had not waited for this internment to “become engaged in a vertiginous, unlimited symbolic expansion,” as Michel Thévoz pointed out in 1986. Very much to the contrary, the polymorphous creator that he was began at the end of the 1950’s to express himself through photography, installation, the transformation of objects, dactylography of manifestos, and he never stopped doing it.

To the point that one could think that this aspect of his work was the essential core of it, for it is more intimate, thus less inhibited, less tributary to the reception of the public.

Never has a historical group of works of such importance been gathered in a gallery, bearing witness, once more, to the fact that Art Brut does not let itself be confined by any constraints.

Artist
August Walla
august walla - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

After a troubled childhood and a turbulent adolescence, August Walla was diagnosed with schizophrenia and was finally admitted - along with his mother - to the Gugging hospital, near Vienna, in 1970. Resident of the Haus der Künstler (house of artists), he will remain there for the rest of his life. Expressing himself through photography, installation, diversion of objects and typing of manifestos, writing and drawing have become inseparable in his work. A key figure in art brut, collected by David Bowie, Walla is present in a number of collections around the world, including those of the MoMa (New York) or the Milwaukee Art Museum (Wisconsin).

Press review
Galerie Christian Berst presents the work of Austrian outsider artist August Walla
Artdaily.org. April 20, 2015.
August Walla : ecce Walla
La Rédaction, Le Vadrouilleur Urbain. April 16, 2015.
August Walla : ecce Walla
Clarisse Treilles, Actu Photo. April 16, 2015.
August Walla

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

August Walla (1936 - 2001) - considéré depuis longtemps comme l’un des “classiques” de l’art brut - était certainement le plus polyvalent d’entre eux. L’œuvre peint de cet Autrichien de génie est exposé et collectionné depuis près de 40 ans.

Cette reconnaissance est d’abord due à son psychiatre, le visionnaire Dr. Navratil : il l’avait accueilli dans son Haus der Künstler, la communauté d’artistes établie au sein même de l’asile de Gugging, et lui avait consacré une importante monographie dès 1988. Mais, même si Walla a semble t-il toujours compensé sa réticence à la prise de parole - qu’il réservait à sa mère - par une créativité hors norme, son destin doit beaucoup à sa rencontre avec ses médecins, Leo Navratil puis Johann Feilacher (à qui nous devons le texte de notre catalogue).

Pour la première fois de sa vie, Walla n’avait plus à se cacher des autres. Après une enfance marquée par le rejet, et durant laquelle sa mère le déguisait en petite fille par crainte qu’il ne soit enrôlé dans la Wehrmacht, après des va- et-vient incessants entre foyers et hôpitaux psychiatriques, il pouvait enfin être lui-même. Pour faciliter son acclimatation, sa mère fut même autorisée à vivre avec lui dans l’institution.

Et sa fièvre artistique de prendre une dimension nouvelle, puisqu’il pouvait désormais coloniser son environnement de ses mots et de ses symboles sans crainte de représailles. Il y était même encouragé. On ne s’étonnera cependant guère qu’à son entrée à Gugging, l’œuvre picturale qu’il développa alors en parallèle fut plus facile à appréhender par le public : plus démonstrative, plus figurative, cette peinture peuplée de figures hiératiques et de symboles politiques antagonistes flattait l’idée que l’on se faisait alors de l’art brut.

Mais Walla, avare de paroles, a toujours été un infatigable graphomane, un créateur de novlangues nourri des dictionnaires du Monde entier dont il aimait s’entourer. Il n’avait pas attendu cet internement pour “s’engager dans une expansion symbolique vertigineuse, illimitée” comme le soulignait Michel Thévoz dès 1986. Bien au contraire, le créateur polymorphe qu’il était commença dès la fin des années 50 à s’exprimer à travers la photographie, l’installation, le détournement d’objets, la dactylographie de manifestes, et ne cessa jamais de le faire.

Au point que l’on peut penser que cet aspect-là de son œuvre en formait le noyau essentiel, car plus intime, donc moins inhibé, moins tributaire de la réception du public.

Jamais un ensemble historique d’une telle importance n’avait été réuni dans une galerie, témoignant, une fois encore, que l’art brut ne se laisse enfermer dans aucun carcan.

Artiste
August Walla
august walla - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

Après une enfance tourmentée et une adolescence turbulente, August Walla est diagnostiqué schizophrène et est finalement admis – avec sa mère - à l’hôpital de Gugging, près de Vienne, en 1970. Devenu pensionnaire de la Maison des artistes, il y restera jusqu’à la fin de ses jours. S’exprimant à travers la photographie, l’installation, le détournement d’objets et la dactylographie de manifestes, l’écriture et le dessin sont devenus indissociables dans son oeuvre. Figure incontournable de l’art brut, collectionné par David Bowie, Walla est présent dans un grand nombre de collections à travers le monde, dont celles du MoMa (New York) ou du Milwaukee Art Museum (Wisconsin).

Revue de presse
Galerie Christian Berst presents the work of Austrian outsider artist August Walla
Artdaily.org. Le 20 avril 2015.
August Walla : ecce Walla
La Rédaction, Le Vadrouilleur Urbain. Le 16 avril 2015.
August Walla : ecce Walla
Clarisse Treilles, Actu Photo. Le 16 avril 2015.
August Walla

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.