christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The family is unsure of the exact date, but a few years ago, Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso began painting muscular male figures, in various states of undress, on construction paper. After cutting the figures out, she would install them methodically all over the apartment, using precisely cut pieces of packing tape, spaced evenly around the figures’ edge. Some of the men were a few inches tall while others approached eight feet, stretching from floor to ceiling. Then came the body parts—severed hands, feet, and heads floating free.

One day, she started painting faces and bodies with cut-away views that revealed brightly colored abstract tissue and organs. Recently, she began painting female figures with bikini outfits, and groupings of heads that are joined together depicting generations, twins, families, or some other relationship. Her work is constantly evolving.

Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso was born in Güines, a small town near Havana, Cuba, on September 28, 1985. The youngest of two children, Pedroso has been deaf since birth and does not speak. She communicates with her immediate family through a series of rudimentary signs, but those exchanges are limited to her most basic needs and emotional states. She spends most of her time at the apartment in the company of her family.

Politically, economically, and socially, Cuba has been isolated for decades. As a result, Misleidys has experienced a kind of double isolation and produced an oeuvre that is almost entirely influenced by her internal state, the confines of the family’s apartment, and the social contact she has within its walls.

No one knows why Misleidys began painting or her perception of the work she is producing, but her mother has occasionally observed her daughter standing in front of the drawings, looking at them and gesturing as if she were speaking to them. Misleidys looks at her paintings in the eyes, as though she recognizes them—as one recognizes a friend or someone they have known in this world.

Perhaps they are protective beings that she produces to watch over the life of her small family, or playmates with whom she can converse when others are not around. Maybe they are manifestations of less innocent fantasies. Whatever the true nature of this work may be, Misleidys is clearly breathing life into her figures, creating beings that exist in the space between our world and her own.

Artist
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso
portrait of misleidys castillo pedroso - © christian berst — art brut

This Cuban artist has no other means of expression than that of her creation. The walls of her home, where she lives with her mother, are covered with drawings of bodybuilders, brown tape scattered along the outlines. A true community of men, women, hermaphrodites and wildlife, Misleidys has built her sociality through her work. Discovered by the gallery in 2014, she has been featured in more than 10 international exhibitions since 2018, including New Images of Man in Los Angeles, Flying High in Vienna, and Independent in New York. Acclaimed by Matthew Higgs and Karen Wong (New Museum, NYC), the artist has been the subject of recent reviews in the New York Times and Art in America.

Catalog
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso Musculatura Viva
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso : Musculatura Viva - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Karen Wong
Forewords : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso : Musculatura Viva, from april 19th to may 31st, 2015.

Press review
Art Brut makes its mark
Chadd Kortge, Happening. July 6, 2015.
Misleidys Pedroso: Musculatura Viva
Tag Christof, Need Supply Co.. May 22, 2015.
Misleidys Pedroso: The Marvel and the Albatross
Bob Levin, Broad Street Review. May 9, 2015.
Video
Misleidys Castillo Pedroso
Language French
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La famille n’est pas sûre de la date exacte, mais il y a quelques années, Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso a commencé à peindre des personnages masculins musculaires, plus ou moins déshabillés, sur du papier de construction. Après en avoir découpé les contours, elle les a installé méthodiquement sur les murs de tout l’appartement, en utilisant des morceaux de ruban d’emballage découpés avec précision, régulièrement espacés sur le pourtour. Certaines des silhouettes étaient quelques dizaines de centimètre de hauteur tandis que d’autres approchaient les 2,5 m, se déployant du sol au plafond.

Puis vinrent les parties du corps sectionnées - mains, pieds, et cerveaux flottant librement. Un jour, elle a commencé à peindre des visages et des corps avec vues en coupe révélant tissus et organes abstrait de couleurs vives. Récemment, Misleidys a entrepris de représenter des silhouettes féminines en bikini, et des assemblages de têtes représentant des générations, des jumeaux, des familles, ou quelques autres connaissances. Son travail est en constante évolution.

Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso est née à Güines, une petite ville près de La Havane à Cuba, le 28 septembre 1985. La plus jeune des deux enfants, Misleidys est sourde de naissance et ne parle pas. Elle communique avec sa famille immédiate à travers une série de signes rudimentaires, mais ces échanges sont limités à ses besoins les plus élémentaires et à ses états émotionnels. Elle passe le plus clair de son temps chez elle en compagnie de sa famille.

Politiquement, économiquement et socialement, Cuba a été isolé pendant des décennies. En conséquence, Misleidys a connu une sorte de double isolement et produit une œuvre qui est presque entièrement influencé par son état intérieur, les limites de l’appartement de la famille, et le contact sociale qu’elle entretient entre ses murs.

Personne ne sait pourquoi Misleidys a commencé la peinture ou sa perception du travail qu’elle produit, mais sa mère a parfois observé sa fille debout devant les dessins, les regarder et produire des gestes comme si elle leur parlait. Misleidys regarde ses peintures dans les yeux, comme si elle les reconnaissait, comme on reconnaît un ami ou une connaissance. Peut-être produit-elle des anges gardiens pour veiller sur la vie de sa petite famille, ou des amis avec qui elle peut converser quand les autres ne sont pas là. Peut-être sont-ils des manifestations de fantasmes moins innocents.

Quelle que soit la véritable nature de ce travail, Misleidys puise clairement une énergie vitale dans ses personnages, créant des êtres qui existent dans l’espace entre notre monde et le sien.

Artiste
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso
portrait de misleidys castillo pedroso - © christian berst — art brut

Cette artiste cubaine n’a d’autre moyen d’expression que celui de sa création. Vivant avec sa mère, elle recouvre leurs murs de ses personnages aux corps bodybuildés, auréolés de scotch brun. Véritable communauté constituée d’hommes, de femmes, d’hermaphrodites et de faunes à travers laquelle Misleidys a construit sa socialité. Découverte par la galerie en 2014, elle a été présentée dans plus de 10 expositions internationales depuis 2018 dont New Images of Man à Los Angeles, Flying High à Vienne, Independent à New York. Plébiscitée par Matthew Higgs et Karen Wong (New Museum, NYC), elle a fait l’objet de récentes recensions dans le New York Times et Art in America.

Catalogue
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso Musculatura Viva
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso : Musculatura Viva - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Karen Wong
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso : Musculatura Viva, du 19 avril au 31 mai 2015.

Revue de presse
Art Brut makes its mark
Chadd Kortge, Happening. Le 6 juillet 2015.
Misleidys Pedroso: Musculatura Viva
Tag Christof, Need Supply Co.. Le 22 mai 2015.
Misleidys Pedroso: The Marvel and the Albatross
Bob Levin, Broad Street Review. Le 9 mai 2015.
Vidéo
Misleidys Castillo Pedroso
Langue Français
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.