christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Josef Hofer, born in 1945 in Bavaria, does not speak, but has always drawn.

The old boy, who grew up a recluse on a farm in Upper Austria, still lives like a Robillard surrounded by toys and cuddly toys today. Pepi - that’s how he signs - looks at himself, Pepi tells himself. In the mirror that he holds out to himself and to us, we watch in amazement at the childhood of art. This lost paradise that every true creator yearns for, he has never left it. As Michel Thévoz points out, “Josef Hofer is in a state of grace”. An eroticized, untamed grace, where the body tries to take off in the straitjacket of the frame.

Since the retrospective exhibition of the Collection de l’Art Brut in 2003, numerous exhibitions and publications have been devoted to him. His drawings are also part of the world’s largest collections of art brut, both public and private. It was therefore time to share with you, for the first time in France, these moments of grace in the form of body to body.

Artist
Josef Hofer
josef hofer drawing - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer, who has been a resident of an Austrian institution for more than 30 years, does not speak, he draws instead. Tirelessly. In the mirror that he uses and hands us, individuals try to take their rise in the straitjacket of the frame with an eroticized grace, untamed. His productions - to which Michel Thévoz has devoted several essays - depict a founding duality between the body and the psyche. Present in many museum collections, he is also part of great private collections: Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Switzerland) or even of the collection of Arnulf Rainer (Austria), who considers him “the greatest of the brut artists.”

Press review
Josef Hofer : corps à corps
David Maclagan, Raw Vision. July 2, 2008.
Invitation à l'exposition : Josef Hofer : corps à corps
Animula Vagula. January 15, 2008.
josef hofer

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Josef Hofer, né en 1945 en Bavière, ne parle pas, mais dessine depuis toujours.

Ce vieux gamin qui a grandi reclus dans une ferme en Haute-Autriche vit aujourd’hui encore, à l’instar d’un Robillard, entouré de jouets et de peluches. Pepi - c’est ainsi qu’il signe - se regarde, Pepi se raconte. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, nous assistons, médusés, à l’enfance de l’art. Ce paradis perdu dont se languit tout véritable créateur, il ne l’a jamais quitté. Comme le souligne Michel Thévoz, « Josef Hofer est en état de grâce ». Une grâce érotisée, indomptée, où le corps tente de prendre son essor dans le carcan du cadre.

Depuis la rétrospective que lui a consacrée la Collection de l’Art Brut en 2003, de nombreuses expositions et publications lui ont été consacrées. Ses dessins font également partie des plus grandes collections d’art brut au monde, tant publiques que privées. Il était donc temps de vous faire partager, pour la première fois en France, ces moments de grâce en forme de corps à corps.

Artiste
Josef Hofer
josef hofer dessinant - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Pensionnaire depuis plus de 30 ans d’une institution autrichienne, Josef Hofer ne parle pas, il dessine. Inlassablement. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, les individus tentent de prendre leur essor dans le carcan du cadre avec une grâce érotisée, indomptée. Ses productions - auxquelles Michel Thévoz a consacré plusieurs essais - mettent en images une dualité fondatrice entre le corps et la psyché. Présent dans de nombreuses collections muséales, il compte aussi parmi de grandes collections privées, comme celles Antoine de Galbert (France), d’Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), qui le considère d’ailleurs comme « le plus grand des bruts ».

Revue de presse
Josef Hofer : corps à corps
David Maclagan, Raw Vision. Le 2 juillet 2008.
Invitation à l'exposition : Josef Hofer : corps à corps
Animula Vagula. Le 15 janvier 2008.
josef hofer

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.