christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Josef Hofer is speech impaired but he speaks loud and clear. His language is so intelligible that these bodies that struggle, that brush past each other and touch each other end up being suprisingly familiar. But it’s a strange familiarity, like when a smell suddenly awakens in us a childhood that was locked away.

Is this like the dominant yellows and oranges that we use as children to make the incandescence of the sun perceptible ? Is it this way of representing the body, between juvenile awkwardness and highly inventive maturity ? Is this the elementarity of pencil coupled with the transgressive nature of the themes ? Yes, Hofer excels at creating a field of immediately perceptible, instantly recognizable perturbances. Nonetheless, in more than a decade, his style, however identifiable it may be, has gone through profound mutations and developments. The proof, if it were necessary, that these artists – contrary to the common belief – are not condemned to sterile repetitions.

If Josef devises polyptychs from which nothing escapes – thus circumscribing pains and pleasures in the enclosure of the frame – one must not forget that he began by allowing characters and objects to float weightlessly on the blank page. The bodies, formerly whole and constrained by the frame, are now frequently replaced by studies of languid, reframed nudes. This doesn’t account for the letters contaminating the background and that get substituted more and more often by his famous signature in which the letters for Pepi – his affectionate nickname – form random sequences.

And as for the mirror stage that was thought to limit him, he passes through it happily by reinterpreting Egon Schiele just as well as Helmut Newton. From intimate clamors to miniscule disarrays, from subtle observations to profound deconstructions, Hofer invents constantly. As one would in order to make his way through his emotions. With humility and mastery.

Josef Hofer, at over 70 years old, is already considered a “great” of Art Brut by collectors and institutions. The two monographic exhibitions that were dedicated to him at the Art Brut collection in Lausanne or the numerous publications about him attest to this. And this is without taking into account the fact that collectors of contemporary art flock to him as much, if not even more, than the connoisseurs of Art Brut. A sign of the universality of a set of works that must invite reconciliation as much as it does excess.

Exhibition view of *Josef Hofer : transmutations*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
Josef Hofer
josef hofer drawing - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Josef Hofer, who has been a resident of an Austrian institution for more than 30 years, does not speak, he draws instead. Tirelessly. In the mirror that he uses and hands us, individuals try to take their rise in the straitjacket of the frame with an eroticized grace, untamed. His productions - to which Michel Thévoz has devoted several essays - depict a founding duality between the body and the psyche. Present in many museum collections, he is also part of great private collections: Antoine de Galbert (France), Amr Shaker (Switzerland) or even of the collection of Arnulf Rainer (Austria), who considers him “the greatest of the brut artists.”

Press review
Josef Hofer
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. January 13, 2016.
Exhibition of works by Josef Hofer opens at Christian Berst art brut
Artdaily.org. December 8, 2015.
Exposition Transmutations - Josef Hofer - Galerie Christian Berst Art Brut
La Rédaction, Artistik Rezo. December 8, 2015.
Josef Hofer

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Josef Hofer est muet mais il parle haut, et fort. Son langage est si intelligible que ces corps qui se débattent, se frôlent et se touchent finissent par devenir étonnamment familiers. Mais d’une étrange familiarité, comme lorsqu’une odeur, soudain, réveille en nous l’enfance enfouie.

Est-ce là l’emploi souverain de jaunes et d’oranges qu’enfants nous utilisions pour rendre perceptible l’incandescence du soleil ? Est-ce ce mode de représentation du corps, entre maladresse juvénile et haute maturité inventive ? Est-ce l’élémentarité du crayon alliée à la transgressivité des thèmes ? Oui, Hofer excelle à créer un champ de perturbation immédiatement perceptible, instantanément reconnaissable. Pourtant, en plus d’une décennie, sa manière, si identifiable soit-elle, a connu des mutations et des évolutions profondes. Preuve, s’il en fallait, que ces artistes là – contrairement à une idée répandue – ne sont pas condamnés à la répétition stérile.

Si Josef conçoit des polyptyques desquels rien ne s’échappe – circonscrivant ainsi douleurs et plaisirs dans l’enceinte du cadre - il ne faut pas oublier qu’il commença par laisser flotter personnages et objets en apesanteur dans la feuille blanche. Les corps, jadis tout entiers contraints par la bordure, sont désormais fréquemment remplacés par des études de nus alanguis, recadrés. Sans compter les lettres contaminant le fond et qui se substituent de plus en plus souvent à son fameux cartouche dans lequel les lettres de Pepi – son surnom affectueux – forment des séquences aléatoires.

Quant au stade du miroir auquel on a cru pouvoir le limiter, il le traverse allègrement en réinterprétant aussi bien Egon Schiele qu’Helmut Newton. D’intimes fracas en infimes désordres, de subtiles observations en savantes déconstructions, Hofer invente sans cesse. Comme l’on ferait pour se frayer un chemin à travers ses émotions. Avec humilité et maîtrise.

Josef Hofer, à plus de 70 ans, est d’ores et déjà considéré par les collectionneurs et les institutions comme un « classique » de l’art brut. En attestent les deux expositions monographiques qui lui ont été consacrées à la collection de l’art brut, à Lausanne, ou les nombreuses publications dont il a fait l’objet. Sans compter que les collectionneurs d’art contemporain le plébiscitent autant, si ce n’est plus encore, que les amateurs d’art brut. Signe de l’universalité d’une oeuvre qui inviterait autant à la réconciliation qu’au dépassement.

Vue de l'exposition *Josef Hofer : transmutations*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2015 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artiste
Josef Hofer
josef hofer dessinant - © © florian moser, christian berst — art brut

Pensionnaire depuis plus de 30 ans d’une institution autrichienne, Josef Hofer ne parle pas, il dessine. Inlassablement. Dans le miroir qu’il se tend et qu’il nous tend, les individus tentent de prendre leur essor dans le carcan du cadre avec une grâce érotisée, indomptée. Ses productions - auxquelles Michel Thévoz a consacré plusieurs essais - mettent en images une dualité fondatrice entre le corps et la psyché. Présent dans de nombreuses collections muséales, il compte aussi parmi de grandes collections privées, comme celles Antoine de Galbert (France), d’Amr Shaker (Suisse) ou d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), qui le considère d’ailleurs comme « le plus grand des bruts ».

Revue de presse
Josef Hofer
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. Le 13 janvier 2016.
Exhibition of works by Josef Hofer opens at Christian Berst art brut
Artdaily.org. Le 8 décembre 2015.
Exposition Transmutations - Josef Hofer - Galerie Christian Berst Art Brut
La Rédaction, Artistik Rezo. Le 8 décembre 2015.
Josef Hofer

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.