christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Initiated in 2016 by the Backslash gallery, SESSIONS is an annual collaborative event between galleries and actors of the art world born from the will to create a space for dialogue, conviviality and sharing.

SESSIONS aims to develop a transversal reflection on the emergence of new voices of contemporary art galleries. It is also an opportunity for artists, gallery owners, journalists, curators, collectors and the public to meet and exchange during two successive evenings and associated events.

This year SESSIONS is hosted by the Bertrand Grimont gallery and proposes to establish new dialogues by exhibiting the galleries in pairs; thus we present Pepe Gaitán in front of Gabriel Léger, a contemporary artist represented by the Vincent Sator gallery.

Artist
Pepe Gaitán
portrait of pepe gaitàn - © christian berst — art brut

Born into the Colombian bourgeoisie, Pepe Gaitan chose to live a life of asceticism and found his only pleasure directly from his daily readings at Bogota’s national library. From these books, he selects pages that he photocopies to then obliterate the counter of the letters. It is around these phantom graphemes that he composes his sibylline collages. In 2020, the Centre for Contemporary Art in Geneva celebrates him with scrivere designando, an exhibition curated by Andrea Bellini and Sarah Lombardi.

SESSIONS #7

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Initié en 2016 par la galerie Backslash, SESSIONS est un événement collaboratif entre galeries et acteurs du monde de l’art né de la volonté de créer un espace de dialogue, de convivialité et de partage.

SESSIONS a pour ambition de développer une réflexion transversale sur l’émergence de nouvelles voix de galeries d’art contemporain. C’est également l’occasion pour les artistes, galeristes, journalistes, curateurs, collectionneurs et le public de se rencontrer et d’échanger lors de deux soirées successives et d’événements associés.

Cette année SESSIONS - accueilli par la galerie Bertrand Grimont - propose d’établir de nouveaux dialogues en exposant les galeries par binôme ; ainsi nous présentons Pepe Gaitán face à Gabriel Léger, artiste contemporain représenté par la galerie Vincent Sator.

Artiste
Pepe Gaitán
portrait de pepe gaitàn - © christian berst — art brut

Issu de la bourgeoisie colombienne, Pepe Gaitan a choisi de vivre une vie d’ascèse et dont le seul plaisir découle directement des lectures journalières qu’il fait à la bibliothèque nationale, à Bogota. De ces livres, il sélectionne des pages qu’il photocopie et dont il oblitère les contreformes. C’est autour de ces graphèmes fantômes qu’il compose ses collages sibyllins. En 2020, le Centre d’Art Contemporain de Genève le met à l’honneur dans scrivere designando, exposition curatoriée par Andrea Bellini et Sarah Lombardi.
Pepe disparaît début 2022 sans avoir totalement élucidé le mystère des amibes courant dans les lignes de ses livres.

SESSIONS #7

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.