christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Mysterious, striking, memorable: such are the works of Misleidys Castillo Pedroso, to whom we dedicate this third monographic exhibit – after those in New York in 2015 and in Paris in 2016 – and before the Kunstforum of Vienna devotes a gallery to her in its Flying High: Women Artists of Art Brut exhibit in 2019.

Misleidys was born in 1985, not far from Havana, with a severe hearing impairment, and that her father left home when she was still a very young child. The little girl showed signs of developmental difficulties, so her mother placed her in a specialized facility at the age of five. But as the symptoms of autism became clearer, she had to leave. She went back to live at home, in total isolation from society, before beginning, one day, to paint and then to cut out silhouettes of bodybuilders – sometimes larger than life-size – soon adding wildlife, demons, organs, of which some have cut-away views. This assemblage ended up decorating all the rooms in the house. The strips of brown Scotch used to tape them to the walls giving them a sort of supernatural aura.

Those close to her claim that Misleidys displays an exceptional capacity for clairvoyance, inherited from her mother, and that it isn’t rare to come upon her in the middle of “conversing” with her works through gestures – the sign that these are the bearers of some power which goes beyond the mere fascination that they exert on the beholder.

Karen Wong, deputy director at the New Museum of New York, on the topic of Misleidys Castillo Pedroso’s works, raises the question of genre as well as their formal similarities with the works of Francisco Clemente. But rather than telling us about Misleidys’ real intentions, this analysis primarily brings forth the issue of reception, central to the discussion of Art Brut works.

exhibition view of *fuerza cubana 2: misleidys & rigo*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Fuerza Cubana 2: Misleidys & Rigo*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of *fuerza cubana 2: misleidys & rigo*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © anaïs docteur, christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso untitled, 2015
27.56 x 16.93 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso untitled, 2017
10.63 x 12.6 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso untitled, 2017
8.66 x 14.96 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso untitled, 2017
16.14 x 11.42 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso untitled, 2017
8.66 x 12.6 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso untitled, 2016
8.27 x 17.72 in
Artists
portrait of misleidys castillo pedroso - © christian berst — art brut

Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso

This Cuban artist has no other means of expression than that of her creation. The walls of her home, where she lives with her mother, are covered with drawings of bodybuilders, brown tape scattered along the outlines. A true community of men, women, hermaphrodites and wildlife, Misleidys has built her sociality through her work. Discovered by the gallery in 2014, she has been featured in more than 10 international exhibitions since 2018, including New Images of Man in Los Angeles, Flying High in Vienna, and Independent in New York. Acclaimed by Matthew Higgs and Karen Wong (New Museum, NYC), the artist has been the subject of recent reviews in the New York Times and Art in America.

More
Guillermo Rigoberto Casola Marcos - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Rigo

Guillermo Rigoberto Casola Marcos, born in Havana in 1961, is primarily known by his nickname, Rigo. His parents and siblings, like him, suffered from mental troubles; one of his brothers was diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia. But Rigo has been drawing since he was a child, and when he doesn’t give his drawings away, he throws them away. His watercolors seek to express his everyday life, the experience of a poor Cuban, part artist, part mentally ill, and who isn’t devoid of humor. Halfway between pop art and illustration, these sketches progress in their narration like a horizontal storyboard made of little assembled pieces of recycled paper. His confident graphic language owes much to […]

More
Catalog
Misleidys Castillo Pedroso fuerza cubana #2
Catalogue published to mark the exhibition *Fuerza Cubana #2 : Misleidys Castillo Pedroso & Rigo*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Karen Wong
Forewords : Christian Berst.
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Misleidys Castillo Pedroso : fuerza cubana #2, from September 8th to October 6th, 2018.

Press review
misleidys castillo pedroso & rigo
La Rédaction, Wall Street International. September 24, 2018.
fuerza cubana #2
La Rédaction, The Art Newspaper Daily. September 6, 2018.
Video
Misleidys Castillo Pedroso
Language French
misleidys castillo pedroso & rigo

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Mystérieuse, prégnante, rémanente, telle est l’oeuvre de Misleidys Castillo Pedroso à qui nous consacrons cette troisième exposition monographique - après celles de New York en 2015 et de Paris en 2016 – avant que le Kunstforum de Vienne ne lui offre une salle dans l’exposition Flying High : Women Artists of Art Brut en 2019.

Misleidys est née en 1985 non loin de la Havane, avec un déficit auditif sévère, tandis que son père quitte le foyer alors qu’elle est encore une toute jeune enfant. La petite fille présentant un retard dans son développement, sa mère la place à cinq ans dans une institution spécialisée. Mais à mesure que les symptômes de l’autisme se précisent, elle doit la quitter. Elle vit alors chez elle, dans un isolement social total, avant de commencer, un jour, à peindre puis découper des silhouettes de bodybuildeurs - parfois plus grands que nature - bientôt rejoints par des faunes, des démons, des organes, dont certains en coupe partielle. Cette peuplade finit par orner toutes les pièces de la maison.

Les languettes de scotch brun avec lesquels ils sont fixés sur les murs leur conférant comme une auréole surnaturelle.

Son entourage prétend même que Misleidys présente d’exceptionnelles capacités de voyance et de clairvoyance, héritage de sa mère, et qu’il n’est pas rare qu’elle soit surprise en train de « converser » par geste avec ses oeuvres.

Signe que celles-ci sont détentrices d’un pouvoir qui dépasse la seule fascination qu’elles exercent sur le regardeur.

Karen Wong, directrice adjointe au New Museum de New York, évoque au sujet de son oeuvre aussi bien la problématique du genre que la parenté formelle de celle-ci avec certains portraits de Francisco Clemente. Mais plutôt que de nous renseigner sur l’intention réelle de Misleidys, cette analyse met avant tout en lumière la question de la réception, centrale lorsqu’il s’agit d’évoquer des oeuvres d’art brut.

vue de l'exposition *fuerza cubana 2: misleidys & rigo*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Fuerza Cubana 2: Misleidys & Rigo*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
vue de l'exposition *fuerza cubana 2: misleidys & rigo*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2018. - © anaïs docteur, christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso sans titre, 2015
70 x 43.5 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso sans titre, 2017
27 x 32.5 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso sans titre, 2017
22 x 38 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso sans titre, 2017
41.5 x 29 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso sans titre, 2017
22.5 x 32 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso sans titre, 2016
21 x 45.5 cm
Artistes
portrait de misleidys castillo pedroso - © christian berst — art brut

Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso

Cette artiste cubaine n’a d’autre moyen d’expression que celui de sa création. Vivant avec sa mère, elle recouvre leurs murs de ses personnages aux corps bodybuildés, auréolés de scotch brun. Véritable communauté constituée d’hommes, de femmes, d’hermaphrodites et de faunes à travers laquelle Misleidys a construit sa socialité. Découverte par la galerie en 2014, elle a été présentée dans plus de 10 expositions internationales depuis 2018 dont New Images of Man à Los Angeles, Flying High à Vienne, Independent à New York. Plébiscitée par Matthew Higgs et Karen Wong (New Museum, NYC), elle a fait l’objet de récentes recensions dans le New York Times et Art in America.

En savoir plus
Guillermo Rigoberto Casola Marcos - © christian berst — art brut

Rigo

Guillermo Rigoberto Casola Marcos, né à la Havane en 1961, est plus connu sous le nom de Rigo. Ses parents et sa fratrie souffrent comme lui de troubles mentaux ; l’un de ses frères est diagnostiqué schizophrène paranoïaque. Mais Rigo dessine depuis l’enfance, et lorsqu’il n’offre pas ses dessins, il les jette. Ses gouaches tentent d’exprimer son quotidien, le ressenti d’un cubain pauvre, mi artiste, mi fou, et qui n’est pas dénué d’humour. À mi-chemin entre la peinture pop et l’illustration, ces saynètes progressent dans leur narration comme un story-board horizontal fait de petites feuilles de papier de récupération assemblées. Son langage graphique très sûr doit beaucoup à ses talents de […]

En savoir plus
Catalogue
Misleidys Castillo Pedroso fuerza cubana #2
Catalogue publié à l'occasion de l'exposition *Fuerza Cubana #2 : Misleidys Castillo Pedroso & Rigo*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Karen Wong
Avant-propos : Christian Berst.
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Misleidys Castillo Pedroso : fuerza cubana #2, du 8 septembre au 6 octobre 2018.

Revue de presse
misleidys castillo pedroso & rigo
La Rédaction, Wall Street International. Le 24 septembre 2018.
fuerza cubana #2
La Rédaction, The Art Newspaper Daily. Le 6 septembre 2018.
Vidéo
Misleidys Castillo Pedroso
Langue Français
Misleidys Castillo Pedroso & Rigo

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.