christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The body of work by Lindsay Caldicott – born in 1956 in Leicester, and died after taking her own life in the same city in 2014 – radiates in such a way that it momentarily silences the dichotomies between Art Brut and contemporary art. Rather than following in the footsteps of the quarrel over the sex of angels, it invites us to examine the pathways, the crevices through which flows one singular creative fluid.

The tragic destiny of Lindsay Caldicott, rather than offering us an interpretive key to her work, pushes us nonetheless to seek the substance of her art in it, and to try to comprehend its nature.

This professional radiographer only interrupted her short career twice, first to obtain her Bachelor of Arts at the University of Middlesex in London in 1984, before returning to work at a hospital in Amsterdam, and then in 1990, due to her internment for schizophrenia. Yet, it was during this difficult period that Lindsay gathered the sediments of her past to produce her great body of work from it.

Through what Marc Lenot calls, in the essay he just devoted to her, an “aesthetic of fragments and assemblages,” Caldicott develops a dazzlingly coherent language. We cannot resist giving a more attentive examination of the relationship with El Lissitzky or Moholy-Nagy’s compositions, or even with some of Etienne-Jules Marey’s compositions,: she sought out neither the simplicity of the former, nor was satisfied with the kinetic effects of the latter.

With Lindsay, we are first struck by her way of organizing her collages into geometric ensembles interspersed with accidents, forms that become tangled and repeat obsessively. While a rarely denied chromatic harmony reigns in her works, stretching from grays to reds and from golden brown nuances to flesh color. For, indeed, flesh constitutes the prima materia of this fractal world that appears to unfold before our eyes. And we understand then that these features are principally made of a myriad of fragments of radiographs, worked with a scalpel and assembled with an entirely surgical precision. Sometimes, architectural details or geometric elements take part in this vertigo of forms.

The sensation that dominates then is that of a personality itself fragmented and attempting in some way to glue the pieces back together. Seeking to elicit a superior order, or simply respite, from the tiniest dregs of existence. Or perhaps both. The images she produced are like snapshots of that moment, of her balancing at the edge of the precipice.

Exhibition view of *Lindsay caldicott : x ray memories*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Lindsay Caldicott untitled, 2000
23.23 x 33.07 in
self-portait in hospital bed (wearing Pyjamas) - © christian berst — art brut
Lindsay Caldicott self-portait in hospital bed (wearing Pyjamas), 1998
11.42 x 16.14 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Lindsay Caldicott untitled, 2000
16.54 x 23.23 in
Artist
Lindsay Caldicott
portrait of lindsay caldicott - © christian berst — art brut

A radiographer by profession, it was during her psychiatric internment that Lindsay Caldicott began to produce her collages of a myriad of duplicated fragments, carved with a scalpel and assembled with surgical precision. Her fractal universe is of a chromatic harmony ranging from grey to blood colors and from golden brown nuances to flesh color. Shown for the first time in 2018 by the gallery, four years after her death, the artist’s work is now part of several collections: the Fondation Francès, abcd/Bruno Decharme (France), and Treger-Saint Silvestre (Portugal).

Catalog
Lindsay Caldicott x ray memories
Catalogue published to mark the exhibition *Lindsay Caldicott : x ray memories*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Marc Lenot
Forewords : Christian Berst.
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Lindsay Caldicott: x ray memories, from October 13th to November 24th, 2018.

Press review
lindsay caldicott, l’iconographie de l’inconscient faite collage
Christian Gattinoni, La Critique.org. December 26, 2018.
lindsay caldicott : effets du rayonnement
élisabeth Quin, Madame Figaro. November 23, 2018.
lindsay caldicott chez christian berst art brut
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. November 2, 2018.
lindsay caldicott, avec un x majuscule
Marc Lenot, Blog Le Monde Amateur D’art Par Lunettes Rouges. November 1, 2018.
lindsay caldicott

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

L’œuvre de Lindsay Caldicott - née en 1956 à Leicester, s’étant suicidée dans la même ville en 2014 – est d’un rayonnement tel qu’il fait taire un instant les dichotomies entre l’art brut et l’art contemporain. Plutôt qu’à la dispute sur le sexe des anges, il nous invite à examiner les voies de passage, les anfractuosités par lesquelles s’écoule un même fluide créateur.

Le destin tragique de Lindsay Caldicott, à défaut d’offrir une grille de lecture de son travail, nous conduit cependant à y chercher la matière de son art, et à tenter d’en comprendre la nature.

Cette radiographe de profession, n’a interrompu sa courte carrière qu’à deux reprises, d’abord pour obtenir son Bachelor of Arts à l’Université du Middlesex à Londres en 1984, avant de retourner travailler dans un hôpital à Amsterdam, puis en 1990, en raison de son internement pour schizophrénie. Or, c’est durant cette période trouble que Lindsay rassemble les sédiments de son passé pour en faire son grand œuvre.

À travers ce que Marc Lenot appelle, dans l’essai qu’il vient de lui consacrer, une « esthétique de fragments et d’assemblage », Caldicott développe un langage d’une cohérence fulgurante. La parenté avec les compositions d’El Lissitzky ou de Moholy-Nagy, voire avec certaines chronophotographies d’Etienne-Jules Marey, ne résiste pas à un examen plus attentif : elle ne cherche ni l’épure des premiers, ni ne se satisfait des effets cinétiques du dernier.

Chez Lindsay, l’on est d’abord frappé par sa manière d’ordonner ses collages en ensembles géométriques traversés d’accidents, de formes s’enchevêtrant et se réitérant obsessivement. Cependant qu’il règne dans ses œuvres une harmonie chromatique rarement démentie, s’étendant des gris aux sanguines et des nuances mordorées à la couleur chair. Car, en effet, la chair constitue la prima materia de cet univers fractal qui paraissait se déployer sous nos yeux. Et l’on comprend alors que ces linéaments sont principalement faits d’une myriade de fragments de radiographies, ouvragés au scalpel et assemblés avec une précision toute chirurgicale. Certaines fois, ce sont des détails architecturaux ou des éléments géométriques qui viennent contribuer à ce vertige de formes.

La sensation qui domine alors est celle d’une personnalité elle-même fragmentée, et tentant en quelque sorte de recoller des morceaux. Cherchant à faire naître à partir des moindres scories de son existence un ordre supérieur, ou simplement l’apaisement. Ou peut-être les deux. Les images qu’elle a engendrées étant comme les instantanés de ce moment-là, d’elle en équilibre au bord du précipice.

Vue de l'exposition *Lindsay caldicott : x ray memories*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Lindsay Caldicott sans titre, 2000
59.5 x 84 cm
self-portait in hospital bed (wearing Pyjamas) - © christian berst — art brut
Lindsay Caldicott self-portait in hospital bed (wearing Pyjamas), 1998
29.7 x 41 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Lindsay Caldicott sans titre, 2000
42 x 59 cm
Artiste
Lindsay Caldicott
portrait de lindsay caldicott - © christian berst — art brut

Radiographe de profession, c’est durant son internement psychiatrique que Lindsay Caldicott s’est mise à produire ses collages faits d’une myriade de fragments dupliqués, ouvragés au scalpel et assemblés avec une précision toute chirurgicale. Son univers fractal est d’une harmonie chromatique s’étendant des gris aux sanguines et des nuances mordorées à la couleur chair. Présenté pour la première fois en 2018 par la galerie, alors que l’artiste s’est éteinte quatre ans plus tôt, son oeuvre - saluée d’emblée par la critique - fait aujourd’hui partie des collections de la Fondation Francès, abcd/Bruno Decharme (France) et Amr Shaker (Suisse), entre autres.

Catalogue
Lindsay Caldicott x ray memories
Catalogue publié à l'occasion de l'exposition *Lindsay Caldicott : x ray memories*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2018. - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Marc Lenot
Avant-propos : Christian Berst.
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Lindsay Caldicott: x ray memories, du 13 octobre au 24 novembre 2018.

Revue de presse
lindsay caldicott, l’iconographie de l’inconscient faite collage
Christian Gattinoni, La Critique.org. Le 26 décembre 2018.
lindsay caldicott : effets du rayonnement
élisabeth Quin, Madame Figaro. Le 23 novembre 2018.
lindsay caldicott chez christian berst art brut
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. Le 2 novembre 2018.
lindsay caldicott, avec un x majuscule
Marc Lenot, Blog Le Monde Amateur D’art Par Lunettes Rouges. Le 1 novembre 2018.
lindsay caldicott

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.