christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Eric Benetto has never stopped following the most treacherous spiritual paths, from the rigors of monastic life to the ascetic practices of orthodox Hesychasm. His extreme humility nevertheless prevents him from recognizing his uniqueness, for the body of work that he has created is not only marked by an intense, syncretic mysticism, but also by exceptional moderness.

For Eric Benetto, born in 1972 in La Roche-sur-Yon, the discovery – at the age of 17 – of the coal miner Augustin Lesage’s mediumistic work was a veritable epiphany. His encounter with Father Coutant, who became a painter himself thanks to his friend Gaston Chaissac, marked him just as much. Profoundly meditative, fundamentally distrustful, Benetto finally understood that his feeling of exile would find an unexpected outlet in art.

While working in all manner of jobs between two trips to India – railway worker, telephone pollster, chemical plant security guard, and so many others – he began to transcribe what would become his formal grammar in travel journals. Like an uninterrupted prayer, a silent, vertiginous recitation, an obsessive graphic mantra.

Soon, India ink especially, and pencil at times, would come to conquer larger surfaces. Brown paper, at first, before he discovered, thanks to a job in a hospital, the potential of radiographs and other MRI images: simultaneous transparence and darkness in search of light. His pen, overcome by the trance, would take care of the rest.

While the patterns are repeated ad libitum and the serial incantations spread out like a primordial om, the artist gives shape to what Romain Rolland used to call the “oceanic feeling,” this formidable thirst for osmosis with the universe. In the case of Benetto, it stretches from limbo to men. Urbi et orbi. Particularly when his assemblages of magnetic resonance images are studded with the negatives of photographs of those whom he calls his “earthly family.” Or when the memorial peregrination is coupled with a redemptive impulse. And what can we say about the organs, liberated from their condition, reinvented, poeticized, sublimated.

Eric Benetto has never stopped following the most treacherous spiritual paths, from the rigors of monastic life to the ascetic practices of orthodox Hesychasm. His extreme humility nevertheless prevents him from recognizing his uniqueness, for the body of work that he has created is not only marked by an intense, syncretic mysticism, but also by exceptional moderness.

His work especially stood out in 2016 during the exhibition Art Brut in the Technological Era at the Belfort museum and is part of major collections, both of Art Brut and contemporary art.

exhibition view of *éric benetto : in excelsis*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, photo: anais docteur, christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of  *éric benetto : in excelsis*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, photo: anais docteur, christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of  *éric benetto : in excelsis*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, photo: anais docteur, christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
Nicolas, en recherche de déification depuis 10 ans - © christian berst — art brut
Eric Benetto Nicolas, en recherche de déification depuis 10 ans, 2018
30.31 x 35.83 in
Ici se joue le drame d’Eden - © christian berst — art brut
Eric Benetto Ici se joue le drame d’Eden, 2010
37.4 x 70.08 in
The meditoration of the nun Antonia - © christian berst — art brut
Eric Benetto The meditoration of the nun Antonia, 2017
46.85 x 41.73 in
Artist
Eric Benetto
portrait of éric benetto - © christian berst — art brut

Deeply impacted by his discovery of Augustin Lesage, Éric Benetto explores the most arduous spiritual paths: monastic life and ascetic practices of the Orthodox hesychasm. His Chinese ink or pencil drawings, on paper, radiographs and other MRI scans are imbued with syncretic mysticism as well as an exceptional modernity. Before his first solo exhibition organized by the gallery in 2019, his work had already been noticed at the exhibition Brut Now: art brut in the time of technologies, at the Belfort museums. Since then, he has joined prestigious collections such as those of Laurent Dumas (France) or Treger-Saint Silvestre (Portugal).

Catalog
Éric Benetto in excelsis
Catalogue published to mark the exhibition *Éric Benetto : in excelsis*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Foreword : Christian Berst.
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Éric Benetto : in excelsis, from January 26th to March 2nd, 2019.

Press review
méditation sous rayons X
Inès Boittiaux, Beaux-arts. February 13, 2019.
in pictures : exposition éric benetto
La Rédaction, The Art Newspaper Daily. February 1, 2019.
éric benetto : radiographies mystiques
François Salmeron Et Juliette Soulez, Le Quotidien De L’art. January 29, 2019.
éric benetto

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Éric Benetto n’a jamais cessé d’arpenter les voies spirituelles les plus ardues, des rigueurs de la vie monastique aux pratiques ascétiques de l’hésychasme orthodoxe. Son extrême humilité l’empêchera toutefois d’admettre sa singularité, car l’œuvre qu’il a conçu n’est pas seulement empreint d’un mysticisme exacerbé, syncrétique, mais aussi d’une exceptionnelle modernité.

Pour Éric Benetto, né en 1972 à La Roche-sur-Yon, la découverte - à l’âge de 17 ans - de l’œuvre médiumnique du mineur de fond Augustin Lesage fut une véritable épiphanie. Sa rencontre avec l’Abbé Coutant, devenu lui-même peintre grâce à son ami Gaston Chaissac, le marqua tout autant. Profondément méditatif, foncièrement farouche, Benetto comprit alors que son sentiment d’exil trouverait dans l’art une issue insoupçonnée.

Tandis qu’il exerce, entre deux voyages en Inde, les métiers les plus divers : cantonnier, sondeur téléphonique, gardien d’usine chimique, et tant d’autres, il commence à transcrire dans des carnets de voyage ce qui deviendra sa grammaire formelle. Comme une prière jamais interrompue, une récitation silencieuse, vertigineuse, un mantra graphique obsédant.

Bientôt, l’encre de Chine, surtout, et le crayon, parfois, viendront conquérir des surfaces plus importantes. Du papier kraft, d’abord, avant qu’à la faveur d’un emploi dans un hôpital il ne découvre les potentialités des radiographies et autres clichés d’IRM : tout à la fois transparence et ténèbres en quête de lumière. Sa plume gagnée par la trance fera le reste.

Tandis que les motifs sont répétés ad libitum et que les incantations sérielles se déploient comme l’aum primordial, l’artiste donne corps à ce que Romain Rolland appelait le « sentiment océanique », cette formidable soif d’osmose avec l’univers. Dans le cas de Benetto, il s’étend des limbes aux hommes. Urbi et orbi. En particulier lorsque ses assemblages de clichés par résonance magnétique sont constellés de négatifs de photographies de ceux qu’il appelle sa « famille terrestre ». Ou quand la pérégrination mémorielle se double d’un élan rédempteur. Et que dire de ces organes affranchis de leur condition, réinventés, poétisés, sublimés.

Éric Benetto n’a jamais cessé d’arpenter les voies spirituelles les plus ardues, des rigueurs de la vie monastique aux pratiques ascétiques de l’hésychasme orthodoxe. Son extrême humilité l’empêchera toutefois d’admettre sa singularité, car l’œuvre qu’il a conçu n’est pas seulement empreint d’un mysticisme exacerbé, syncrétique, mais aussi d’une exceptionnelle modernité.

Son travail a été particulièrement remarqué en 2016 lors de l’exposition Brut Now : l’art brut au temps des technologies, aux musées de Belfort et fait partie de collections majeures, tant d’art brut que d’art contemporain.

vue de l'exposition *éric benetto : in excelsis*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, photo: anais docteur, christian berst — art brut
vue de l'exposition *éric benetto : in excelsis*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, photo: anais docteur, christian berst — art brut
vue de l'exposition *éric benetto : in excelsis*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, photo: anais docteur, christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
Nicolas, en recherche de déification depuis 10 ans - © christian berst — art brut
Eric Benetto Nicolas, en recherche de déification depuis 10 ans, 2018
77.5 x 91.5 cm
Ici se joue le drame d’Eden - © christian berst — art brut
Eric Benetto Ici se joue le drame d’Eden, 2010
95 x 178.5 cm
La méditoraison de la moniale Antonia - © christian berst — art brut
Eric Benetto La méditoraison de la moniale Antonia, 2017
119 x 106 cm
Artiste
Eric Benetto
portrait d'éric benetto - © christian berst — art brut

Profondément marqué par la découverte d’Augustin Lesage, Éric Benetto arpente les voies spirituelles les plus ardues : vie monastique et pratiques ascétiques de l’hésychasme orthodoxe. Ses dessins, à l’encre de Chine ou au crayon, sur papier, radiographies et autres clichés d’IRM sont empreints d’un mysticisme syncrétique pétri de modernité. Avant sa première exposition personnelle à la galerie en 2019, son travail avait déjà été remarqué lors de l’exposition Brut Now : l’art brut au temps des technologies, aux musées de Belfort. Il a, depuis, rejoint des collections aussi prestigieuses que celles de Laurent Dumas (France), Treger-Saint Silvestre (Portugal) ou la Pinacothèque (Luxembourg).

Catalogue
Éric Benetto in excelsis
Catalogue publié à l'occasion de l'exposition *Éric Benetto : in excelsis*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Avant-propos : Christian Berst.
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Éric Benetto : in excelsis, du 26 janvier au 2 mars 2019.

Revue de presse
méditation sous rayons X
Inès Boittiaux, Beaux-arts. Le 13 février 2019.
in pictures : exposition éric benetto
La Rédaction, The Art Newspaper Daily. Le 1 février 2019.
éric benetto : radiographies mystiques
François Salmeron Et Juliette Soulez, Le Quotidien De L’art. Le 29 janvier 2019.
éric benetto

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.