christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

« The difficulties and enigmas of Jacqueline B.’s work are among the most exciting that a living eye could seek to resolve. » Philippe Dagen

Jacqueline B., born in 1928 in Perpignan in a complicated family context, began painting and drawing in the early 1950s.

Discovered in 1964 by Jean Dubuffet, who was her first collector, she is described in the text he dedicated to her as suffering from « anomalies, » although « intelligent, » but also « unstable » and « rebellious, » while « enjoying the company of children and being treated like a child. » This last observation is certainly not neutral for those who study the very characteristic style of Jacqueline B’s work.

And yet, does this classic of Art Brut not owe her fame to the mere fact that her work is in some sense the missing link between two famous polarities that magnetize this field, namely the art of madmen and the art of children? When so many artists forcefully seek to free themselves from the surplus of their technique, from the hindrances of artistic knowledge, to rediscover spontaneity, truth even; when so many of them try to painfully transform themselves into childish geniuses, Jacqueline B. - free of these weights - operates with the ease of a brilliant child. But beware, as Philippe Dagen notes in his study on her, « The childhood of art is a convenient myth, and the meticulous contemplation of these works is not enough to exhaust them nor circumvent them. »

And if, at first sight, « Life is there, simple and quiet,» things are simple only in appearance and quiet only at the surface. Invention, formal freedom, sometimes fever, are everywhere. For therein lies a more elaborate language and manner than it seems. Not to mention that it is difficult - if not fallacious - to not take ”where Jacqueline B. is talking to us from” into account. Besides, is she speaking to us, or are we witnesses to one of her brilliant soliloquies, as is customary in Art Brut?

She whose work was exhibited at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris in 1967 and, more recently, at the Kunstforum in Vienna, seems in any case to be responding, without knowing it, to Nicolas de Staël’s invitation: « a painting should be simultaneously abstract and figurative. » Moreover, the jubilation of forms, the candour of colours - frank, never mixed, in the manner of the fauve artists - the tensioning of the elements of the composition, all this is only slightly dependent on an infantile impulse. But then, where did it come from?

As Philippe Dagen concluded: « The difficulties and enigmas of Jacqueline B.’s work are among the most exciting that a living eye could seek to resolve. »

exhibition view of *jacqueline b : the untamed*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2020. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Jacqueline b, l’indomptée*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of *jacqueline b : the untamed*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2020.  - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B untitled, 1970
12.6 x 9.06 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B untitled, 1970
12.2 x 9.45 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B untitled, 1963
12.2 x 9.45 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B untitled, 1956
12.2 x 9.45 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B untitled, 1960
12.2 x 9.45 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B untitled, 1970
12.2 x 9.06 in
Artist
Jacqueline B
jacqueline b, 1960. - © christian berst — art brut

Discovered by Jean Dubuffet, who was her first collector and critic, she was the subject of an essay in 2019 by Philippe Dagen, who thought that “the difficulties and enigmas of Jacqueline B.’s work are among the most exciting.” From the 1950s on, and during the two decades of her production, she showed remarkable inventiveness. Passing with a disconcerting mastery from gouache to colored pencils, from figuration to abstraction, from narration to contemplation. The one whose work was exhibited as early as 1967 at the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris, and in 2019 at the Kunstforum in Vienna, is today known as a classic.

Catalog
Jacqueline B the untamed
Catalogue published to mark the exhibition *Jacqueline B: the untamed*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2019. - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Philippe Dagen
Foreword : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Jacqueline b : the untamed, from November 30th, 2019 to January 18th, 2020

Press review
visitez les expositions virtuelles de la galerie christian berst
Cécile D., Sortir à Paris. April 3, 2020.
jacqueline b. l’indomptée
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. January 2, 2020.
in pictures - notre sélection parmi les expositions dans les galeries du marais à paris
Jorge Sanchez, Artnewspaper édition Française. November 30, 2019.
untamed
La Rédaction, Parisart. November 27, 2019.
jacqueline b

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

«Les difficultés et les énigmes de l’œuvre de Jacqueline B. sont parmi les plus excitantes qu’un œil vivant puisse chercher à résoudre». Philippe Dagen

Jacqueline B., née en 1928 à Perpignan dans un contexte familial compliqué, se met à peindre et dessiner au début des années 50. Découverte en 1964 par Jean Dubuffet, qui fut son premier collectionneur, elle est décrite dans le texte qu’il lui consacre alors comme souffrant « d’anomalies », cependant « intelligente », mais aussi « instable » et « révoltée », tandis « qu’elle se plaît dans la compagnie d’enfants et se complaît à être traitée en enfant ».

Cette dernière observation n’étant certainement pas neutre pour qui se penche sur le style si caractéristique de la production de Jacqueline B.

Et pourtant, cette classique de l’art brut ne devrait-elle sa renommée qu’au fait que son œuvre serait en quelque sorte le chaînon manquant entre deux polarités fameuses qui aimantent ce champ, à savoir l’art des fous et l’art des enfants ? Quand tant d’artistes cherchent avec force à se libérer du surplus de leur technique, de l’encombrement du savoir artistique, pour retrouver de la spontanéité, voire de la vérité ; quand tant d’entre eux tentent de se muer péniblement en génies infantiles, Jacqueline B. – libérée de ces lests - opère avec la facilité d’une enfant géniale. Mais attention, comme le note Philippe Dagen dans l’étude qu’il lui consacre, « L’enfance de l’art est un mythe commode. », et la contemplation minutieuse de ces œuvres ne suffit ni à les épuiser, ni à les circonvenir.

Et si, à première vue, «La vie est là, simple et tranquille», les choses n’y sont simples qu’en apparence et tranquilles qu’en surface. L’invention, la liberté formelle, la fièvre parfois, y sont partout présentes. Car il y a là un langage et une manière plus élaborés qu’il n’y paraît. Sans compter qu’il est difficile – pour ne pas dire fallacieux - de ne pas tenir compte «d’où nous parle» Jacqueline B.. Du reste, nous parle-t-elle, ou assistons-nous à l’un de ces brillants soliloques si coutumiers dans l’art brut ?

Celle dont le travail fut exposé au Musée des Arts Décoratifs, à Paris, dès 1967 et, plus récemment, au Kunstforum de Vienne, semble en tout cas répondre, sans le savoir, à l’invitation de Nicolas de Staël : « une peinture devrait être à la fois abstraite et figurative ». D’ailleurs, la jubilation des formes, la candeur des couleurs – franches, jamais mélangées, à la manière des fauves – la mise en tension des éléments de la composition, tout ceci n’est que peu tributaire d’une pulsion infantile. Mais alors, d’où cela vient-il ?

Et Philippe Dagen de conclure : « Les difficultés et les énigmes de l’œuvre de Jacqueline B. sont parmi les plus excitantes qu’un œil vivant puisse chercher à résoudre ».

vue de l'exposition *jacqueline b : l'indomptée*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2020. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Jacqueline b, l’indomptée*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2019. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
vue de l'exposition *jacqueline b : l'indomptée*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2020.  - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B sans titre, 1970
32 x 23.9 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B sans titre, 1970
31.5 x 24.3 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B sans titre, 1963
31.3 x 24 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B sans titre, 1956
31.42 x 24.3 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B sans titre, 1960
31.5 x 24.5 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Jacqueline B sans titre, 1970
31.7 x 23.8 cm
Artiste
Jacqueline B
jacqueline b, 1960. - © christian berst — art brut

Découverte par Jean Dubuffet, qui fut son premier collectionneur et critique, elle s’est vue consacrer un essai, en 2019, par Philippe Dagen, qui considère que « les difficultés et les énigmes de l’œuvre de Jacqueline B. sont parmi les plus excitantes ». À partir des années 50, et durant les deux décennies de sa production, elle fait preuve d’une inventivité remarquable. Passant avec une maestria déconcertante de la gouache aux crayons de couleur, de la figuration à l’abstraction, de la narration à la contemplation. Celle dont le travail fut exposé dès 1967 au Musée des Arts Décoratifs à Paris, et, en 2019, au Kunstforum de Vienne, fait aujourd’hui figure de classique.

Catalogue
Jacqueline B L’indomptée
Catalogue publié à l'occasion de l'exposition *Jacqueline B: l'indomptée*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2019. - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Philippe Dagen
Avant-propos : Christian Berst.
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Jacqueline B. : l’indomptée, du 30 novembre 2019 au 18 janvier 2020.

Revue de presse
visitez les expositions virtuelles de la galerie christian berst
Cécile D., Sortir à Paris. Le 3 avril 2020.
jacqueline b. l’indomptée
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. Le 2 janvier 2020.
in pictures - notre sélection parmi les expositions dans les galeries du marais à paris
Jorge Sanchez, Artnewspaper édition Française. Le 30 novembre 2019.
l’indomptée
Parisart. Le 27 novembre 2019.
jacqueline b

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.