christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

A prolific draftsman diagnosed with Asperger’s, meticulous archivist, Carlos Augusto Giraldo draws up to 10 hours a day and develops a series of mythologies inspired by fictional stories in 3 codices of thin paper, 3 great epics produced between 2000 and 2010 and regularly revised, that intersect the past and the future and anticipate the end of the world. The exhibition also presents an unreleased short documentary by Walter Escamilla, co-produced with Paula Diaz.

Ever since he was a child, Carlos Giraldo has been feverishly recording his syncretic visions in drawings that combine Egyptian antiquity with anatomical treatises, the prophecies of Nostradamus with pre-Columbian civilisations, or World War II and the Simpsons. That’s when he’s not busy listing precise and detailed data about the Titanic. In Bogota, where he lives in an apartment with his parents, this Asperger’s sufferer is busy with his encyclopaedic task. Setting down his treatises on sheets of tracing paper or fine paper which he sometimes assembles into codexes, Giraldo is giving form not to one, but to myriad individual mythologies, each more fascinating than the next.

Carlos Augusto Giraldo - © christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
Carlos Augusto Giraldo untitled, 2013
7.87 x 12.6 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Carlos Augusto Giraldo untitled, 2013
7.87 x 12.6 in
Carlos Augusto Giraldo untitled, 2013
7.87 x 12.6 in
Carlos Augusto Giraldo untitled, 2013
12.6 x 7.87 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
Carlos Augusto Giraldo untitled, 2013
7.87 x 12.6 in
Carlos Augusto Giraldo untitled, 2013
12.6 x 7.87 in
Artist
Carlos Augusto Giraldo
Carlos Augusto Giraldo - © Carlos Pintor sin editar, christian berst — art brut

Ever since he was a child, Carlos Giraldo has been feverishly recording his syncretic visions in drawings that combine Egyptian antiquity with anatomical treatises, the prophecies of Nostradamus with pre-Columbian civilisations, or World War II and the Simpsons. That’s when he’s not busy listing precise and detailed data about the Titanic. In Bogota, where he lives in an apartment with his parents, this Asperger’s sufferer is busy with his encyclopaedic task. Setting down his treatises on sheets of tracing paper or fine paper which he sometimes assembles into codexes, Giraldo is giving form not to one, but to myriad individual mythologies, each more fascinating than the next.

Press review
Une exposition autour de Carlos Augusto Giraldo
La Rédaction, Art Critique. February 22, 2021.
Découvrez l’exposition Codex de Carlos Augusto Giraldo à la galerie Berst
Alec Levillain, Elevated. February 14, 2021.
Video
carlos augusto giraldo codex
Carlos Augusto Giraldo

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Prolifique dessinateur diagnostiqué Asperger, méticuleux archiviste, Carlos Augusto Giraldo dessine jusqu’à 10h par jour et développe une série de mythologies inspirées de récits fictionnels environnants dans 3 codex de papiers fins, 3 grandes épopées réalisées entre 2000 et 2010 et régulièrement révisées qui entrecroisent le passé et l’avenir et anticipent la fin du monde. L’exposition montre également un court métrage documentaire inédit de Walter Escamilla, coproduit avec Paula Diaz.

Depuis l’enfance, Carlos Giraldo consigne fiévreusement ses visions syncrétiques qui mêlent l’antiquité égyptienne aux traités anatomiques, les prédictions de Nostradamus aux civilisations précolombiennes, la seconde guerre mondiale aux Simpsons. Quand il n’est pas occupé à inventorier les données précises et détaillées du Titanic. À Bogota, dans l’appartement qu’il occupe avec ses parents, cet autiste Asperger s’attelle à une tâche encyclopédique. Couchant ses traités sur des feuilles de calque ou des papiers fins qu’il assemble parfois en codex, Giraldo ne donne pas forme à une, mais à des myriades de mythologies individuelles, toutes plus fascinantes les unes que les autres.

Carlos Augusto Giraldo - © christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Carlos Augusto Giraldo sans titre, 2013
20.1 x 32.3 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Carlos Augusto Giraldo sans titre, 2013
32.3 x 20.1 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Carlos Augusto Giraldo sans titre, 2013
32.3 x 20.1 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Carlos Augusto Giraldo sans titre, 2013
20.1 x 32.3 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Carlos Augusto Giraldo sans titre, 2013
32.3 x 20.1 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
Carlos Augusto Giraldo sans titre, 2013
32.3 x 20.1 cm
Artiste
Carlos Augusto Giraldo
Carlos Augusto Giraldo - © Carlos Pintor sin editar, christian berst — art brut

Depuis l’enfance, Carlos Giraldo consigne fiévreusement ses visions syncrétiques qui mêlent l’antiquité égyptienne aux traités anatomiques, les prédictions de Nostradamus aux civilisations précolombiennes, la seconde guerre mondiale aux Simpsons. Quand il n’est pas occupé à inventorier les données précises et détaillées du Titanic. À Bogota, dans l’appartement qu’il occupe avec ses parents, cet autiste Asperger s’attelle à une tâche encyclopédique. Couchant ses traités sur des feuilles de calque ou des papiers fins qu’il assemble parfois en codex, Giraldo ne donne pas forme à une, mais à des myriades de mythologies individuelles, toutes plus fascinantes les unes que les autres.

Carlos Augusto Giraldo

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.