christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Julius Bockelt, born in 1986, has been fascinated by the limits of perception since his early youth. Sounds, vibrations, waves, interferences, but also the anatomy of clouds plunge him into abysses of contemplation. At the Goldstein studio in Frankfurt, where he has found an ideal setting for his protean work, he converts his observations and research into poetic proposals. Whether through drawing, photography, acoustic creations or performances in which he explores the properties of soap bubbles, Bockelt addresses our infantile capacity to be astonished by scientific phenomena.

Recently included in the collections of the Musée national d’art moderne (Pompidou), he was the subject of a retrospective exhibition at the Museum Folkwang in Essen in 2018 and his work has been included in exhibitions at a number of international institutions such as MoNa (Australia), the Guandong Museum of Modern art (China), and the Maison rouge (Paris).

Now represented by christian berst art brut, a set of drawings had been shown in 2020 in the group exhibition in abstracto, while this is his first monographic exhibition in at the gallery.

exhibition view of * julius bockelt : ostinato*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2021 - © christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of * julius bockelt : ostinato*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2021 - © christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of * julius bockelt : ostinato*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2021 - © christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of * julius bockelt : ostinato*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2021 - © christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of * julius bockelt : ostinato*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2021 - © christian berst — art brut
Artist
Julius Bockelt
Julius Bockelt - © © Elena Osmann, christian berst — art brut

A member of the renowned Goldstein workshop in Germany, this young artist is fascinated by the limits of perception. In his work, sounds, vibrations, waves and interferences are rendered visible. Bringing together observation and poetry, network structures emerge and create striking optical illusions. Exhibited in a gallery for the first time in 2020, Julius Bockelt has already been offered a monographic exhibition at the Folkwang Museum in Essen and has been presented at the Museum of Everything (London), the Maison rouge (Paris) and the MoNa in Brierdale (Australia).

Press review
L’actualité des galeries, Julius Bockelt
Fabien Simode, L’Œil. August 27, 2021.
Videos
julius bockelt ostinato
Opening | Saturday September, 11 from 2 to 7pm Solo show | from September, 11 to October 10, 2021
julius bockelt ostinato par Christian Berst
Julius Bockelt

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Julius Bockelt, né en 1986, est fasciné par les limites de la perception depuis sa prime jeunesse. Les sons, les vibrations, les ondes, les interférences, mais aussi l’anatomie des nuages le plongent dans des abîmes de contemplation. À l’atelier Goldstein, à Francfort, où il a trouvé un cadre idéal pour poursuivre ses travaux protéiformes, il convertit ses observations et ses recherches en propositions poétiques. Que ce soit par le dessin, la photographie, les créations acoustiques ou les performances dans lesquelles il explore les propriétés des bulles de savon, Bockelt s’adresse avant tout à notre capacité infantile d’émerveillement devant des phénomènes scientifiques.

Entré récemment dans les collections du Musée national d’art moderne (Pompidou), il a fait l’objet en 2018 d’une exposition rétrospective au Museum Folkwang de Essen et ses travaux ont fait partie d’expositions dans nombre d’institutions internationales comme le MoNa (Australie), le Guandong Museum of Modern art (Chine), ou encore la Maison rouge (Paris).

Désormais représenté par christian berst art brut, un ensemble de dessins avait été montré en 2020 dans l’exposition collective in abstracto, tandis qu’il s’agit ici de sa première exposition monographique en galerie.

Artiste
Julius Bockelt
Julius Bockelt - © © Elena Osmann, christian berst — art brut

Membre du très renommé atelier Goldstein, à Francfort, ce jeune artiste est fasciné par les limites de la perception. Dans son travail, les sons, les vibrations, les ondes et les interférences sont rendus visibles. Mariant l’observation à la poésie, les structures de réseaux émergent et créent des jeux optiques saisissants. Exposé pour la première fois en galerie en 2020, Julius Bockelt s’est déjà vu offrir une exposition monographique au Museum Folkwang de Essen, et a été présenté au Museum of Everything (Londres), à la Maison rouge (Paris) ou encore au MoNa à Brierdale (Australie).

Revue de presse
L’actualité des galeries, Julius Bockelt
Fabien Simode, L’Œil. Le 27 août 2021.
Vidéos
julius bockelt ostinato
Vernissage | samedi 11 septembre de 14h à 19h Exposition monographique | du 11 septembre au 10[…]
julius bockelt ostinato par Christian Berst
Julius Bockelt

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.