christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

As Art Brut extends its researches ever further afield, it became inevitable that China would prove a fertile hunting ground. In this context, Guo Fengyi represents an eloquent mid-point between permanence and renewal. Her work enshrines permanence in the traditional modes of representation and beliefs – Tao, I-Ching, and Qi Gong – that underlie and inspire her drawings, and renewal in the way she challenges them, appropriating them for her own ends only to then move beyond them to attain a truth of her own – or at least the truth of an artist who believes her works are powerful enough to provide the keys of essence and existence alike. Although the knowledge to which she aspired is largely inaccessible to a Western audience, her visions radiate with universal relevance.

Beyond the unquestionable magnetism of her oeuvre, never before seen in the West, the exhibition confronts us with a vital question that underpins the very existence of Art Brut: can art exist independent of any cultural or religious context?

Guo Fengyi does not provide easy answers, simply offering us her ineffable grace.
Guo Fengyi’s works have been shown to great acclaim at Art Basel in 2009 and the Museum of Everything (London) and the Pinacoteca Agnelli (Turin) in 2010.

A retrospective is also planned in Lausanne. The works of this future star of the Art Brut world are now on show in Paris for the first time.

Exhibition view of *Guo Fengyi : a chinese rhapsody*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Guo Fengyi : a chinese rhapsody*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
Fengyi Guo
guo fengyi drawing - © christian berst — art brut

Living her spirituality through the paths of Qigong, it was at the dawn of her 40th birthday that Guo Fengyi began to reinterpret popular Chinese beliefs in drawings of ink and brush. On rolls of rice paper, measuring up to 10 meters, entities unfold: sometimes linked to the pantheon, sometimes to the pandemonium, they seem to float in a space-time void. These heretical scrolls were even exhibited at the 55th Venice Biennale, curated by Massimiliano Gioni.

Catalog
Guo Fengyi a chinese rhapsody
Guo Fengyi : a chinese rhapsody - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Rong Zheng
Forewords : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Guo Fengyi : a chinese rhapsody, from december 10th, 2010 to january 15th, 2011.

Press review
Guo Fengyi, une rhapsodie chinoise
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. January 5, 2011.
Guo Fengyi, une rhapsodie chinoise
Paris Art. January 3, 2011.
Guo Fengyi, une créatrice brute chinoise à Paris
Le Poignard Subtil. December 6, 2010.
guo fengyi

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Le monde de l’art brut poussant toujours plus loin ses investigations, il était devenu inéluctable que la Chine lui offre un horizon à la mesure de ses attentes. Guo Fengyi est, à cet égard, une synthèse éloquente entre permanence et rupture. Permanence, en ce sens que dans ses dessins, les modes de représentation et les croyances populaires – ici celles liées au tao, au yi king ou encore au qi gong – y sont lisibles en filigrane. Rupture, car Mme Guo transgressait ces modes, s’en pénétrait pour mieux s’en dégager et atteindre à sa vérité ; du moins celle d’une créatrice qui croit son œuvre assez forte pour lui livrer des clés sur son essence comme sur son existence. Même si la connaissance à laquelle elle aspirait nous est largement inaccessible, ses visions déploient un rayonnement qui confine à l’universel.

Au-delà du magnétisme souverain qui émane de cet ensemble d’oeuvres montré pour la toute première fois en Occident, cette exposition nous confronte à la question consubstantielle à l’art brut : existe t-il un art qui ne soit ni culturel, ni cultuel ? Mme Guo n’y répond pas, mais nous offre sa grâce.

Après avoir été acclamée lors d’Art Basel en 2009, au Museum of Everything (Londres) puis à la Pinacoteca

Agnelli (Turin) en 2010, et alors que Lausanne s’apprête à lui consacrer une rétrospective, cette future «classique» de l’art brut fait escale à Paris.

Vue de l'exposition *Guo Fengyi : une rhapsodie chinoise*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Guo Fengyi : une rhapsodie chinoise*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artiste
Fengyi Guo
guo fengyi dessinant - © christian berst — art brut

En vivant sa spiritualité à travers les voies du qi qong, c’est à l’aube de ses 40 ans que Guo Fengyi se met à réinterpréter les croyances populaires chinoises dans des dessins réalisés à l’encre et au pinceau. Sur des rouleaux de papier de riz, pouvant atteindre les 10 mètres, se déploient des entités relavant tantôt du panthéon, tantôt du pandémonium, et qui semblent flotter dans un vide spatio-temporel. Ces rouleaux hérétiques ont notamment été exposés lors de la 55e Biennale de Venise curatoriée Massimiliano Gioni.

Catalogue
Guo Fengyi une rhapsodie chinoise
Guo Fengyi : une rhapsodie chinoise - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Rong Zheng
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Guo Fengyi : une rhapsodie chinoise, du 10 décembre 2010 au 15 janvier 2011.

Revue de presse
Guo Fengyi, une rhapsodie chinoise
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. Le 5 janvier 2011.
Guo Fengyi, une rhapsodie chinoise
Paris Art. Le 3 janvier 2011.
Guo Fengyi, une créatrice brute chinoise à Paris
Le Poignard Subtil. Le 6 décembre 2010.
guo fengyi

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.