christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Henriette Zéphir (b. 1920) has, in her own words, devoted the past half-century to “the occult”. She was discovered in 1967 by Jean Dubuffet, who exhibited her work at the Musée des Arts décoratifs in Paris, and wrote an article on her. She consistently refused every offer to buy her works ever since, until recently, when her “guides” began encouraging her to distribute their positive energy.

Spiritualist artists, once plentiful in Art Brut collections, are now rare and precious. Like her predecessors Fernand Desmoulin, Augustin Lesage, Madge Gill, and many others, Henriette Zéphir raises the eternal question of the significance of such creativity, particularly when it is not intended to be “art” as such, but rather to reveal the unfamiliar dimensions of a mysterious “elsewhere”… which may lie deep within every one of us. When such creators declare themselves to be mere instruments for their guiding powers, they are not simply downplaying their mastery of the creative process, but also echoing Dubuffet’s own thoughts on art: “its fi nest moments are when it forgets what it is called”.

The retrospective, entitled A woman under the influence, highlights the power, generosity, and beauty of Henriette Zéphir’s meandering lines of energy, inviting us to delve into the “elsewhere” and embark on a journey of exploration into our inner selves.

Exhibition view of *Henriette Zéphir : a woman under the influence*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Henriette Zéphir : a woman under the influence*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Henriette Zéphir : a woman under the influence*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
Henriette Zephir
henriette zéphir - © christian berst — art brut

For half a century, Henriette Zéphir, a French mediumistic artist, devoted herself entirely to her “inner guide”, for which she never stopped creating. Her drawings captivate in their singular overall composition, but also in the force of its details. Halfway between pointillism, geometric abstraction and Fauvism, her work reflects an enlightened modernism. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet, she was presented, as early as 1967, in the historical exhibition of art brut at the Musée des Art Décoratifs (France). Today, her work is seen among the largest collections of art brut in the world, such as that of Arnulf Rainer, while the gallery dedicated a monograph to her in 2010.

Catalog
Henriette Zéphir a woman under the influence
Henriette Zéphir : a woman under the influence - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Alain Bouillet
Forewords : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Henriette Zéphir : a woman under the influence, from february 4th to march 5th, 2011.
Co-published with éditions Le livre d’art, 2010.

Press review
Straight from the Soul : Henriette Zéphir
Alain Bouillet, Raw Vision. June 7, 2011.
Henriette Zéphir à la Galerie Berst
Animula Vagula. February 6, 2011.
henriette zéphir

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Henriette Zéphir, née en 1920, s’adonne depuis un demi-siècle à «l’occulte», comme elle dit. Découverte par Jean Dubuffet - qui l’exposa en 1967 au musée des Arts décoratifs, à Paris, et lui consacra un texte - Mme Zéphir ne consentit jamais à céder ses œuvres, jusqu’à ce que ses « guides » l’incitent récemment à en diffuser les énergies positives.

Les créateurs médiumniques qui, par le passé, pouvaient se trouver en grand nombre dans les collections d’art brut, sont devenus aussi rares que précieux. Comme, avant elle, Fernand Desmoulin, Augustin Lesage, Madge Gill et bien d’autres, Henriette Zéphir nous pose l’éternelle question du sens de cette création ; surtout lorsque celle-ci n’est pas destinée à être « art » mais plutôt à nous révéler une part méconnue d’un « ailleurs » … qui pourrait bien se trouver en chacun de nous. En outre, lorsque ces auteurs déclarent n’être que les instruments de puissances tutélaires, ils ne relativisent pas simplement la paternité de leur création, mais semblent plutôt faire écho à ce même Dubuffet qui affirmait à propos de l’art que « ses meilleurs moments sont quand il oublie comment il s’appelle ».

La rétrospective que nous consacrons à cette femme sous influence - en soulignant la puissance, la générosité et la beauté de ses méandres énergétiques - vous invite à fréquenter cet ailleurs capable de vous faire cheminer en vous-mêmes.

Projection du film de Mario del Curto avec la participation d’Alain Bouillet.

Vue de l'exposition *Henriette Zéphir : une femme sous influence*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Henriette Zéphir : une femme sous influence*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Henriette Zéphir : une femme sous influence*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artiste
Henriette Zephir
henriette zéphir - © christian berst — art brut

Henriette Zéphir, artiste médiumnique française, s’est consacrée entièrement, et ce pendant un demi-siècle, à « son guide » intérieur, pour lequel elle n’a cessé de créer. Ses dessins captivent dans leur composition globale singulière mais aussi dans la force du détail. A mi-chemin entre le pointillisme, l’abstraction géométrique et le fauvisme, son œuvre témoigne d’un modernisme éclairé. Découverte par Jean Dubuffet, elle fut présentée, dès 1967, dans l’exposition historique d’art brut au Musée des Art Décoratifs. Aujourd’hui, son œuvre fait partie des plus grandes collections d’art brut au monde, comme celle d’Arnulf Rainer, tandis que la galerie lui consacrait une monographie en 2010.

Catalogue
Henriette Zéphir une femme sous influence
Henriette Zéphir : une femme sous influence - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Alain Bouillet
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Henriette Zéphir : une femme sous influence, du 4 février au 5 mars 2011.
Co édité avec les éditions Le livre d’art, 2010.

Revue de presse
Straight from the Soul : Henriette Zéphir
Alain Bouillet, Raw Vision. Le 7 juin 2011.
Henriette Zéphir à la Galerie Berst
Animula Vagula. Le 6 février 2011.
henriette zéphir

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.