christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Dino Buzzati and Alberto Moravia took up their pens in the late 1950s to draw the world’s attention to the great creative spirit that had just come to light at the San Giacomo asylum in Verona. Carlo Zinelli was just beginning to use paper for his paintings, featuring the motifs that he had once roughly gouged into the asylum walls using stones and bits of brick.

Carlo Zinelli (1916-1974) started out as a farmhand and later found work in abattoirs. Though always a solitary man, he was known as something of a dandy and enjoyed drawing and music. The war years, which he spent in a battalion of Alpine hunters, exacerbated his schizophrenia. His art – a kind of autobiographical narrative, blending together events from before his internment – represents a real revolution in formal terms, characterized by iteration, dislocation, multiplication, atrophy, stylisation, lack of perspective, variations in viewpoint and scale, writing in the gaps that throbs like a pulse, and color that lends his silhouettes a palpable density. All these elements give his compositions an intense rhythm of frenzied modernity.

Those who knew him said that there was no intentionality behind his art, or indeed awareness that it was art. However, by the time he died in 1974, he was estimated to have produced some three thousand works, most of them double-sided, though only a third of this number has been located to date. Jean Dubuffet and André Breton understood the futility of trying to decipher the meaning of Carlo Zinelli’s art, while admiring its beauty which, as Breton wrote, “if it exists at all, does so convulsively”.

Exhibition view of *Carlo Zinelli : a convulsive beauty*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Carlo Zinelli : a convulsive beauty*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Carlo Zinelli : a convulsive beauty*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
Carlo Zinelli
carlo zinelli - © christian berst — art brut

Interned at 21 years old, after volunteering for the Spanish Civil War during WWII, Carlo Zinelli is now seen as a main figure of art brut. As tales illustrating episodes that preceded his internment, his iterative and dislocated drawings in which perspective is abolished in favour of interstitial writings that seem to proclaim the concept of « modernity ». Honoured in many international exhibitions, Carlo Zinelli was sacred by Massimiliano Gioni at the 2013 Venice Biennale.

Catalog
Carlo Zinelli a convulsive beauty
Carlo Zinelli : a convulsive beauty - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Daniela Rosi
Forewords : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Carlo Zinelli : a convulsive beauty, from june 10th to july 23rd, 2011.

Press review
carlo zinelli : une beauté convulsive
Aleksandra Smilek, Paris Art. July 12, 2011.
Un peu d'art brut dans un monde moderne
Bénédicte Philippe, Telerama Sortir. July 6, 2011.
Carlo Zinelli, le dandy prisonnier
Gilles Tordjman, Artnet. June 29, 2011.
Carlo Zinelli
Paul Schmitt, Pixelcréation. June 15, 2011.
Carlo et les convulsionnaires
Animula Vagula. June 8, 2011.
carlo zinelli

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

A la fin des années 50, Dino Buzzati puis Alberto Moravia prenaient la plume pour signaler au monde le grand créateur qui venait de se révéler dans l’enceinte de l’asile San Giacomo à Vérone. Carlo Zinelli commençait tout juste à peindre sur papier ce qu’il avait ébauché plus tôt en lacérant les murs de l’établissement avec des pierres et des morceaux de brique.

Né en 1916, il a commencé par travailler à la ferme puis aux abattoirs. Volontiers solitaire, il se distinguait alors par son dandysme, son goût pour le dessin et la musique, avant que la guerre, qu’il fit comme chasseur alpin, n’exacerba sa schizophrénie. Son oeuvre - sorte de conte autobiographique qui illustre ces épisodes ayant précédé l’internement - représente une véritable révolution formelle : tour à tour l’itération, la dislocation, le dédoublement, l’atrophie, la stylisation, l’absence de perspective, les variations de plan et d’échelle, l’écriture dans les interstices qui bat comme un pouls, et puis la couleur, la couleur donnant aux silhouettes une densité palpable, tout ceci confère à la composition un rythme d’une modernité effrénée.

Ceux qui l’entouraient disent de lui qu’il n’avait ni l’intention, ni la conscience de produire une oeuvre, et ce bien qu’à sa mort, en 1974, on estima à trois mille le nombre de ses dessins - la plupart recto-verso - mais dont seul un tiers a été retrouvé. Jean Dubuffet et André Breton en ont, sans en percer les arcanes, admiré la beauté qui, comme l’affirmait ce dernier, « sera convulsive, ou ne sera pas ».

Vue de l'exposition *Carlo Zinelli : une beauté convulsive*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Carlo Zinelli : une beauté convulsive*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Carlo Zinelli : une beauté convulsive*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2011 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artiste
Carlo Zinelli
carlo zinelli - © christian berst — art brut

Interné définitivement à l’âge de 31 ans, après avoir participé à la guerre d’Espagne avec le contingent italien, Carlo Zinelli est aujourd’hui considéré comme une figure phare de l’art brut. Sortes de contes illustrant des épisodes ayant précédé son internement, ses dessins itératifs et disloqués dans lesquels la perspective est abolie au profit d’écritures interstitielles qui semblent annoncer le concept de « modernité ». Mis à l’honneur dans nombre d’expositions internationales Carlo Zinelli exposé au Giardini lors de la Biennale de Venise de 2013.

Catalogue
Carlo Zinelli une beauté compulsive
Carlo Zinelli : une beauté compulsive - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Daniela Rosi
Avant-propos : Christian Berst
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Carlo Zinelli : une beauté compulsive, du 10 juin au 23 juillet 2011.

Revue de presse
carlo zinelli : une beauté convulsive
Aleksandra Smilek, Paris Art. Le 12 juillet 2011.
Un peu d'art brut dans un monde moderne
Bénédicte Philippe, Telerama Sortir. Le 6 juillet 2011.
Carlo Zinelli, le dandy prisonnier
Gilles Tordjman, Artnet. Le 29 juin 2011.
Carlo Zinelli
Paul Schmitt, Pixelcréation. Le 15 juin 2011.
Carlo et les convulsionnaires
Animula Vagula. Le 8 juin 2011.
carlo zinelli

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.