christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The gallery has lent two works of Joseph Lambert for the exhibition on abstract drawing Tell it Slant organised by the Frith Street Gallery, under the curatoring of the artist Jeff McMillan.

He chose to present eleven international artists in contemporary art as well as Outsider Art : Polly Apfelbaum, Zebedee Armstrong, Massimo Bartolini, Hector Alonzo Benavides, Julius Bockelt, Louise Bourgeois, Pip Culbert, Tess Jaray, Joseph Lambert, Bob Law et Sara MacKillop.

Tell it Slant brings together a selection of works that explore ideas about abstract drawing where line and a sense of structure are fundamental. The artists in the exhibition are from very diverse backgrounds; some work in urban centres while others are from more peripheral places, and although they have a wide variety of concerns drawing is central to their practice. Here, drawing is not only defined as line on paper but also involves a variety of materials, including found objects. A strong sense of integrity to execution and to materiality becomes evident in works that range from the precise and considered to the haphazard and intuitive.

Artists
Joseph Lambert - © christian berst — art brut

Joseph Lambert

Joseph Lambert spent his days in the ‘S’ Grand Atelier writing, knitting “words,” signs understood by only him and attached to each other to form visual sentences, which form a stratum, a geological layer in the heart of the text as if the landscape stretched out all the while rolling itself up, in a twist. Text, texture, textile, weaving of signs.

More
Zebedee Armstrong - © christian berst — art brut

Zebedee Armstrong

Armstrong was born in Thomson, Georgia. He went to school until eighth grade. He married in 1929 and had two daughters. For much of his life, he worked picking cotton on the local Mack McCormick farm. After his wife died in 1969, he began to work at the Thomson Box Factory, staying there until 1982. In 1972, he claimed to be visited by an angel who warned him that the end of world was coming soon. Armstrong went on to construct almost 1,500 box calendars with the aim of trying to determine the exact date of the approaching doomsday. Many of the calendars are made of wood with clocks and dials, painted white and over-layered with grids or with text denoting the box’s purpose.

More
Julius Bockelt - © © Elena Osmann, christian berst — art brut

Julius Bockelt

A member of the renowned Goldstein workshop in Germany, this young artist is fascinated by the limits of perception. In his work, sounds, vibrations, waves and interferences are rendered visible. Bringing together observation and poetry, network structures emerge and create striking optical illusions. Exhibited in a gallery for the first time in 2020, Julius Bockelt has already been offered a monographic exhibition at the Folkwang Museum in Essen and has been presented at the Museum of Everything (London), the Maison rouge (Paris) and the MoNa in Brierdale (Australia).

More
Tell It Slant

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie a prêté deux oeuvres de Joseph Lambert pour l’exposition sur le dessin abstrait Tell it Slant organisée par la Frith Street Gallery sous le commissariat de l’artiste Jeff McMillan.

Celui-ci a choisi de présenter 11 artistes internationaux d’art contemporain et d’art brut : Polly Apfelbaum, Zebedee Armstrong, Massimo Bartolini, Hector Alonzo Benavides, Julius Bockelt, Louise Bourgeois, Pip Culbert, Tess Jaray, Joseph Lambert, Bob Law et Sara MacKillop, Polly Apfelbaum, Zebedee Armstrong, Massimo Bartolini, Hector Alonzo Benavides, Julius Bockelt, Louise Bourgeois, Pip Culbert, Tess Jaray, Joseph Lambert, Bob Law, Sara MacKillop.

Tell it Slant réunit une sélection d’œuvres qui explorent des idées autour du dessin abstrait où les lignes et un certain sens de la structure sont fondamentaux. Les artistes de l’exposition sont de très divers horizons ; certains travaillent dans des centres-villes tandis que d’autres sont de la périphérie, mais bien qu’ils aient une grande variété d’intérêts, le dessin est central à leur pratique. Ici, le dessin n’est pas seulement défini comme une ligne sur le papier mais implique aussi une variété de matériaux, parmi lesquels des objets trouvés. Un sens fort de l’intégrité à l’exécution et à la matérialité devient évident dans des travaux qui varient du précis et réfléchi au hasard et intuitif.

Artistes
Joseph Lambert - © christian berst — art brut

Joseph Lambert

Joseph Lambert passe ses journées à La « S » Grand Atelier* à écrire, tricoter des « mots », des signes compris de lui seul qui s’accrochent les uns aux autres pour former une phrase visuelle, qui forme une strate, une couche géologique dans la glaise du texte comme si le paysage s’arpentait tout en s’enroulant, en son tortillon. Texte, texture, textile, tricot de signes.

En savoir plus
Zebedee Armstrong - © christian berst — art brut

Zebedee Armstrong

Armstrong est né à Thomson, dans l’état de Georgie. Il quitta l’école à l’âge de 14 ans, se maria en 1929 et fut père de deux filles. Il passa le plus clair de sa vie à cueillir le coton de la ferme locale. Après la mort de sa femme en 1969, il travailla comme ouvrier pour la Thomson Box Factory,jusqu’en 1982. En 1972, Zebedee Armstrong déclara avoir reçu la visite d’un ange qui lui annonça que la fin du monde était pour bientôt. Armstrong entama alors la construction de près de 1 500 boîtes calendriers dans le but de déterminer la date prochaine du Jugement Dernier. Beaucoup de ses calendriers sont réalisés sur des morceaux de bois sur lesquels il peint des horloges et des cadrans[…]

En savoir plus
Julius Bockelt - © © Elena Osmann, christian berst — art brut

Julius Bockelt

Membre du très renommé atelier Goldstein, à Francfort, ce jeune artiste est fasciné par les limites de la perception. Dans son travail, les sons, les vibrations, les ondes et les interférences sont rendus visibles. Mariant l’observation à la poésie, les structures de réseaux émergent et créent des jeux optiques saisissants. Exposé pour la première fois en galerie en 2020, Julius Bockelt s’est déjà vu offrir une exposition monographique au Museum Folkwang de Essen, et a été présenté au Museum of Everything (Londres), à la Maison rouge (Paris) ou encore au MoNa à Brierdale (Australie).

En savoir plus
Tell It Slant

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.