christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Luboš Plný and Dan Miller - whom we have represented for over 10 years - and Judith Scott are part of the official selection of Christine Macel, curator of the Viva Arte Viva exhibition at the 2017 Venice Biennale.

This is therefore the second edition to include artists of art brut. Anna Zemánková, Guo Fengyi and Eugène Von Bruenchenhein, to name only those to whom we have devoted monographic exhibitions, were indeed shown by Massimiliano Gioni in 2013/2014.

Artists
portrait of Lubos Plny - © © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

Renowned figure of contemporary art brut this Czech artist is fascinated by medical iconography. An expert in the mysteries of the anatomy he indulges - when he is not drawing - in all sort of performative experiences reminiscent of the Viennese Actionism. By testing the limits of the physical existence, he conjures death, sublimating life in its most organic form. His detailed works crafted with Indian Ink and acrylic entered the collection of the Centre Pompidou in 2013 and were displayed several times at la Maison rouge and in 2017 at Venice Biennal.

More
portrait of dan miller - © creative growth art center, christian berst — art brut

Dan Miller

Having become, in a decade, one of the most recognized contemporary brut artists, this autistic native of California is sometimes compared to Cy Twombly: while the latter deconstructs language, the former builds it. Since 2010, the gallery has contributed to its international recognition by organizing several exhibitions and publishing the only monograph available to date, enriched with an essay by Richard Leemann. Present in countless public and private collections - including those of the MoMA and Pompidou –, Dan Miller’s work was also part of the official selection of the 2017 Venice Biennale.

More
judith scott huging her artwork. - © christian berst — art brut

Judith Scott

Judith Scott was born with a Down Syndrome into a middle-class family in Cincinnati, Ohio. Following an attack of Scarlet Fever in infancy, she lost her hearing, although this would not be recognized until many years later. She spent the first 7 years of her life in her home and with her twin sister before she was sent in an institution for handicap children. She lived 35 years separated from her family, until in 1986, her twin sister became her legal tutor and moved with her in California. Judith got into the Creative Growth Art Center in Oakland, where after two years, she starts producing original sculptures by collecting diverse objects, from all size and shape. She would wrap them,[…]

More
Viva Arte Viva

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Luboš Plný et Dan Miller - que nous représentons depuis plus de 10 ans - et Judith Scott font partie de la sélection officielle de Christine Macel, curatrice de l’exposition Viva Arte Viva à la biennale de Venise 2017.

C’est donc la deuxième édition à intégrer des artistes d’art brut. Anna Zemánková, Guo Fengyi et Eugène Von Bruenchenhein, pour ne citer que ceux à qui nous avons consacré des expositions monographiques, avaient en effet été montrés par Massimiliano Gioni en 2013/2014.

Artistes
portrait de Lubos Plny - © © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

Figure reconnue de l’art brut contemporain, cet artiste tchèque est fasciné par l’iconographie médicale. Expert des arcanes de l’anatomie, il s’adonne – lorsqu’il ne dessine pas - à toutes sortes de performances rappelant les actionnistes. En testant les limites de l’existence physique, il conjure la mort et sublime ainsi la vie dans ce qu’elle a de plus organique. Ses œuvres extrêmement détaillées à l’encre de Chine et à l’acrylique sont entrées en 2013 dans les collections du Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris) et furent notamment exposées à plusieurs reprises à la Maison rouge puis lors de la biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
portrait de dan miller - © creative growth art center, christian berst — art brut

Dan Miller

Devenu, en une décennie, l’un des artistes bruts contemporains les plus reconnus, cet autiste originaire de Californie est parfois comparé à Cy Twombly, qui déconstruisait le langage tandis que, par effet de miroir, Dan Miller le construit. La galerie a participé, depuis 2010, à sa reconnaissance internationale en organisant plusieurs expositions et en publiant la seule monographie existant à ce jour, enrichie d’un essai de Richard Leemann. Présent dans d’innombrables collections publiques et privées – dont celles du MoMA et de Pompidou - il faisait également partie de la sélection officielle de la Biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
Judith Scott enlaçant son œuvre - © christian berst — art brut

Judith Scott

Judith Scott est née trisomique dans une famille modeste de l’Ohio aux Etats-Unis. Une scarlatine contractée dans la petit enfance la laisse sourde sans que cela soit détecté avant des années. Elle passe les 7 premières années de sa vie au sein de son foyer et auprès de sa sœur jumelle avant d’être envoyée dans une institution pour enfants handicapés. Elle passera 35 ans séparée de sa famille jusqu’à ce qu’en 1986, sa sœur jumelle devienne sa tutrice légale et la déménage chez elle en Californie. Judith intégra alors l’atelier d’artistes du Creative Growth Art Center in Oakland où après deux années, elle commença à produire ses sculptures uniques en collectant des objets divers, de toutes[…]

En savoir plus
Viva Arte Viva

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.