christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

“Misleidys Castillo Pedroso and Oswald Tschirtner are, each in their own way, figureheads of a liberated, indispensable, and existential art brut.” Christian Berst

The Gugging Gallery dedicates this new exhibition to one of the most important Gugging Artists : Oswald Tschirtner, who would have celebrated his 100th birthday this year. Tschirtner’s works will be combined with the ones of Cuban artist Misleidys Castillo Pedroso. ⁠

Born out of the common idea of Nina Katschnig and Christian Berst, these two artistic personalities will come together in an interesting and stimulating, almost complementary way, in the exhibition … powerful female - delicate male … from march 12th to may 29th, 2020 at the Gugging Gallery (Austria).⁠⠀

exhibition view of *...powerful female - delicate man...*, gugging gallery, klosterneuburg, austria, 2020. - © gugging gallery, christian berst — art brut
exhibition view of *...powerful female - delicate man...*, gugging gallery, klosterneuburg, austria, 2020. - © gugging gallery, christian berst — art brut
Artists
portrait of oswald tschirtner - © © gugging, christian berst — art brut

Oswald Tschirtner

O.T. - as he signed - was an emblematic artist of the Gugging hospital, where he was interned because of the psychosis he began to suffer upon returning from the siege of Stalingrad. His drawings, antitheses of the horror vacui, are characterized by their minimalism, the purity, the economy of means and effects, the sense of balance and space. Admired by Michel Thévoz, who devoted several feature articles to him, he also fascinated David Bowie and Brian Eno, who met and collected him. His works can be found in countless collections, such as those of Arnulf Rainer (Austria), abcd/Bruno Decharme (France) or the Pinacothèque Hervé Lancelin (Luxembourg).

More
portrait of misleidys castillo pedroso - © christian berst — art brut

Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso

This Cuban artist has no other means of expression than that of her creation. The walls of her home, where she lives with her mother, are covered with drawings of bodybuilders, brown tape scattered along the outlines. A true community of men, women, hermaphrodites and wildlife, Misleidys has built her sociality through her work. Discovered by the gallery in 2014, she has been featured in more than 10 international exhibitions since 2018, including New Images of Man in Los Angeles, Flying High in Vienna, and Independent in New York. Acclaimed by Matthew Higgs and Karen Wong (New Museum, NYC), the artist has been the subject of recent reviews in the New York Times and Art in America.

More
Video
Misleidys Castillo Pedroso
Language French
Powerful Female - Delicate Male

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

« Misleidys Castillo Pedroso et Oswald Tschirtner sont, chacun à leur manière, les figures de proue d’un art brut libéré, indispensable et existentiel. » Christian Berst

Pour cette nouvelle exposition, la galerie Gugging se consacre à l’un des artistes les plus importants de Gugging : Oswald Tschirtner, qui aurait fêté son 100e anniversaire cette année. Les œuvres de Tschirtner seront combinées avec celles de l’artiste cubaine Misleidys Castillo Pedroso.

Née de l’idée partagée par Nina Katschnig et Christian Berst, ces deux personnalités artistiques se réunissent de manière intéressante et stimulante, presque complémentaire, dans l’exposition … powerful female - delicate male … du 12 mars au 29 mai 2020 à la galerie gugging (Autriche).

vue de l'exposition *...powerful female - delicate man...*, galerie gugging, klosterneuburg, autriche, 2020. - © galerie gugging, christian berst — art brut
vue de l'exposition *...powerful female - delicate man...*, galerie gugging, klosterneuburg, autriche, 2020. - © galerie gugging, christian berst — art brut
Artistes
portrait d'oswald tschirtner - © © gugging, christian berst — art brut

Oswald Tschirtner

O.T. – comme il signait - était un artiste emblématique de l’hôpital de Gugging, où il fut interné en raison de la psychose dont il a commencé à souffrir au retour du siège de Stalingrad. Ses dessins, antithèses de l’horror vacui, se caractérisent par leur minimalisme, l’épure, l’économie de moyens et d’effets, le sens de l’équilibre et de l’espace. Admiré par Michel Thévoz, qui lui a consacré plusieurs articles de fond, il a également fasciné David Bowie et Brian Eno, qui l’ont rencontré et collectionné. Ses œuvres se trouvent dans d’innombrables collections, comme celles d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), abcd/Bruno Decharme (France) ou encore de la Pinacothèque Hervé Lancelin (Luxembourg).

En savoir plus
portrait de misleidys castillo pedroso - © christian berst — art brut

Misleidys Francisca Castillo Pedroso

Cette artiste cubaine n’a d’autre moyen d’expression que celui de sa création. Vivant avec sa mère, elle recouvre leurs murs de ses personnages aux corps bodybuildés, auréolés de scotch brun. Véritable communauté constituée d’hommes, de femmes, d’hermaphrodites et de faunes Misleidys a construit sa socialité au travers de son oeuvre. Découverte par la galerie en 2014, elle a été présentée dans plus de 10 expositions internationales depuis 2018 dont New Images of Man à Los Angeles, Flying High à Vienne, Independent à New York. Plébiscitée par Matthew Higgs et Karen Wong (New Museum, NYC), elle a fait l’objet de récentes recensions dans le New York Times et Art in America.

En savoir plus
Vidéo
Misleidys Castillo Pedroso
Langue Français
Powerful Female - Delicate Male

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.