christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The long collaboration between the Frac Picardie and the museums of Soissons continues this autumn with an ambitious project with multiple forms (conferences, exhibitions, publishing, website…).

In several acts, between 2021 and 2023, Deus ex machina will begin with two exhibitions addressing the feelings, acts, uses and mythologies with religious (and/or magical) foundations that arise from new technologies.

Curated by Clément Thibault and Christophe Brouard.

Virtual tours:
Abbaye Saint-Léger
Arsenal

Artists
Luboš Plný - © Ⓒ Mario del Curto, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

A prominent figure in contemporary art brut, this Czech artist is fascinated by medical iconography. An expert in the mysteries of anatomy, he devotes himself – when not drawing – to all sorts of performances reminiscent of the actionists. By testing the limits of physical existence, he conjures up death and sublimates life in its most organic form. His extremely detailed works in Indian ink and acrylic entered the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris) in 2013, then in 2021 thanks to the Bruno Decharme donation, and were notably exhibited on several occasions at the Maison Rouge, in Japan and at the 2017 Venice Biennale.

More
portrait of éric benetto - © christian berst — art brut

Eric Benetto

Deeply impacted by his discovery of Augustin Lesage, Éric Benetto explores the most arduous spiritual paths: monastic life and ascetic practices of the Orthodox hesychasm. His Chinese ink or pencil drawings, on paper, radiographs and other MRI scans are imbued with syncretic mysticism as well as an exceptional modernity. Before his first solo exhibition organized by the gallery in 2019, his work had already been noticed at the exhibition Brut Now: art brut in the time of technologies, at the Belfort museums. Since then, he has joined prestigious collections such as those of Laurent Dumas (France) or Treger-Saint Silvestre (Portugal).

More
Deus ex machina

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La longue collaboration entre le Frac Picardie et les musées de Soissons se poursuit cet automne avec un projet ambitieux aux multiples formes (conférences, expositions, édition, site Internet…).

En plusieurs actes, entre 2021 et 2023, Deus ex machina débutera par deux expositions abordant les sentiments, les actes, les usages et les mythologies aux fondements religieux (et/ou magiques) qui découlent des nouvelles technologies.

Sous le commissariat de Clément Thibault et Christophe Brouard.

Artistes
Luboš Plný - © Ⓒ Mario del Curto, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

Figure reconnue de l’art brut contemporain, cet artiste tchèque est fasciné par l’iconographie médicale. Expert des arcanes de l’anatomie, il s’adonne – lorsqu’il ne dessine pas - à toutes sortes de performances rappelant les actionnistes. En testant les limites de l’existence physique, il conjure la mort et sublime la vie dans ce qu’elle a de plus organique. Ses œuvres extrêmement détaillées à l’encre de Chine et à l’acrylique, sont entrées dès 2013 dans les collections du Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris) puis en 2021 grâce à la donation Bruno Decharme et furent notamment exposées à plusieurs reprises à la Maison rouge, au Japon ou lors de la biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
portrait d'éric benetto - © christian berst — art brut

Eric Benetto

Profondément marqué par la découverte d’Augustin Lesage, Éric Benetto arpente les voies spirituelles les plus ardues : vie monastique et pratiques ascétiques de l’hésychasme orthodoxe. Ses dessins, à l’encre de Chine ou au crayon, sur papier, radiographies et autres clichés d’IRM sont empreints d’un mysticisme syncrétique pétri de modernité. Avant sa première exposition personnelle à la galerie en 2019, son travail avait déjà été remarqué lors de l’exposition Brut Now : l’art brut au temps des technologies, aux musées de Belfort. Il a, depuis, rejoint des collections aussi prestigieuses que celles de Laurent Dumas (France), Treger-Saint Silvestre (Portugal) ou la Pinacothèque (Luxembourg).

En savoir plus
Deus ex machina

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.