christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

On the occasion of its tenth collaboration with the magazine HEY! modern Art & Pop Culture, the Halle Saint-Pierre presents until December 31, 2022 the exhibition HEY! The Drawing. Artworks by Janko Domsic, Pépé Vignes, Lionel Taplazan as well as Royal Robertson are on display among other artists of art brut, but also of prison art and street art.

If drawing is honored as a fundamental creative gesture and the possibilities of development that it arouses, the exhibition convenes the surprise, curiosity, wonder, rejection, attraction, emotion, anxiety. The guest curator, Anne Richard, has selected one hundred and thirteen artists from some thirty different origins, forming an ensemble of more than 500 drawn works with diverse imaginations.

Artists
Janko Domsic - © christian berst — art brut

Janko Domsic

Janko Domsic was, among many other things, a demiurge, a builder, an organizer, and an artist. It was in his makeshift dormitory not far from the Montmartre cemetery, in Paris, that this Croatian exile made his celestial compositions, filled with religious political and Masonic symbols. “My writings are coded.” His drawings, like the texts that accompany them, respond to a very elaborate system. Magnified in the exhibition Art brut, works of the Antoine de Galbert collection, in 2015, at the maison rouge (Paris), his pieces appear in all the major world collections, both public and private, of art brut.

More
Pépé Vignes, *untitled*, circa 1975. coloured pencil and ballpoint pen on paper, 9.69 x 12.4 in - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Pépé Vignes

This artist seems as if straight out of Hemingway’s Moveable Feast. An accordionist in bal musettes, France’s old-fashioned popular dances, he worked the rest of the time in a factory. In the 1960s, when he settled in the Pyrenees, he began to draw his recurring motifs with coloured pencils: boats, cars, fish, hearts, etc. Keeping his drawings piled up at home, Joseph Vignes was finally discovered by the painter Claude Massé, who devoted an article to him in Fascicules de l’Art Brut in 1982. His work now appears in the collections of the LaM (Lille), Art Brut (Lausanne) and the Musgrave Kinley Outsider Art Collection (Manchester).

More
Royal Robertson - © christian berst — art brut

Royal Robertson

Royal Robertson spent most of his life in Louisiana with his wife and eleven children. A sign painter by training, his paranoid schizophrenia triggers in him a prodigious creative fever. Ethereal ascents, portraits of deities, futuristic architectures alike “show houses” of a world to come, it is as if he had descended from his planet, carrying his own Tablets of Law. Featured in countless international collections, such as the Smithsonian Museum of American Art (USA) or the Musée national d’Art moderne (Pompidou), his work was presented in 2018-19 in the travelling exhibition Into The Unknown, produced by the Barbican (London) and curated by Patrick Gyger.

More
ionel talpazan - © christian berst — art brut

Ionel Talpazan

According to Ionel Talpazan, his drawings and sculpture of flying saucers contain secret information about the propulsion systems of UFO’s that could interest NASA.

More
Hey !

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

À l’occasion de sa dixième collaboration avec le magasine HEY! modern Art & Pop Culture, la Halle Saint-Pierre présente jusqu’au 31 décembre 2022 l’exposition HEY! Le Dessin. Les œuvres de Janko Domsic, Pépé Vignes, Lionel Taplazan et Royal Robertson y sont présentées parmi d’autres œuvres d’artistes d’art brut, d’art carcéral et de street art.

Si le dessin est mis à l’honneur comme geste créateur fondamental et les possibilités de développement qu’il suscite, l’exposition convoquer la surprise, la curiosité, l’émerveillement, le rejet, l’attraction, l’émotion, l’angoisse. La commissaire invitée Anne Richard sélectionne pour cela cent treize artistes d’une trentaine d’origines différentes, formant un ensemble de plus de 500 œuvres dessinées aux imaginaires divers.

Artistes
Janko Domsic - © christian berst — art brut

Janko Domsic

Démiurge, constructeur, ordonnateur. C’est dans son dortoir de fortune non loin du cimetière de Montmartre, à Paris, que cet exilé croate réalisait ses compositions célestes emplies de symboles religieux, politiques et maçonniques. « Mes écrits sont codés. » Ses dessins, comme les textes qui les accompagnent, répondent à un système très élaboré. Magnifié dans l’exposition art brut, collection abcd / Bruno Decharme, en 2015, à la maison rouge (Paris), ses œuvres figurent dans toutes les grandes collections d’art brut, publiques et privées, du monde.

En savoir plus
Pépé Vignes, *sans titre*, circa 1975. crayon de couleur et stylo à bille sur papier, 24.6 x 31.5 cm - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Pépé Vignes

Cet artiste semble tout droit sorti du récit d’Hemingway Paris est une fête. Accordéoniste dans les bals musette, il travaille le reste du temps à l’usine. Dans les années 1960, alors qu’il s’est installé dans les Pyrénées, il commence à dessiner, aux crayons de couleurs, ses motifs récurrents : bateaux, voitures, poissons, coeurs, etc. Conservant ses dessins empilés chez lui, Joseph Vignes, est finalement découvert par le peintre Claude Massé qui lui consacre un article dans les Fascicules de l’Art Brut, en 1982. Son oeuvre figure désormais dans les collections du LaM (Lille), de l’Art Brut (Lausanne) ou encore du Musgrave Kinley Outsider Art Collection (Manchester).

En savoir plus
royal robertson - © christian berst — art brut

Royal Robertson

Royal Robertson a passé la majeure partie de sa vie en Louisiane, avec sa femme et leurs onze enfants. Peintre d’enseigne de formation, sa schizophrénie paranoïde déclenche en lui une prodigieuse fièvre créatrice. Ascensions éthérées, portraits de divinités, architectures futuristes pareilles à des « maisons témoin » d’un monde à venir, c’est comme s’il était descendu de sa planète, chargé de ses propres tables de la loi. Figurant dans d’innombrables collections internationales, comme le Smithsonian Museum of American Art (Etats-Unis), son œuvre a été présenté, en 2018-19, dans l’exposition itinérante Into The Unknown, produite par le Barbican (Londres) et curatoriée par Patrick Gyger. 

En savoir plus
ionel talpazan - © christian berst — art brut

Ionel Talpazan

Selon Ionel Talpazan, ses dessins et sculptures de soucoupes volantes contiennent des informations secrètes sur les systèmes de propulsion des OVNI susceptibles d’intéresser la NASA.

En savoir plus
Hey !

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.