christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Luboš Plný and Anna Zemánková are featured in the exhibition fragilités at the Rudolfinum Gallery (Prague), until January 8th 2023.

Fragility has emerged in recent years as a key concept through which to reimagine both human and ecological conditions. The exhibition fragilités unfolds the concerns, visions, and sensibilities expressed by artists who have engaged deeply with fragility and reflected on its tensions, complexities and paradoxes. The traditional meaning of fragility – weakness, powerlessness, passivity – is challenged, and claimed instead as a source of force and agency that encourages sustaining interdependencies.

The understanding that all living things are dependent on their environment and each other has intensified in the context of current crises. These ideas have already been developed by artists and thinkers who have for many years stressed the invisible bonds that link us to other beings, and the myriad ways in which we are entangled with wider ecosystems. In response to these ideas, the exhibition invokes fragility as a lens and language, claiming that neither vulnerability nor power come in expected guises, and that the fragile connections between bodies and the earth constitute real strength.

With artworks by : Francis Alÿs, Michael Armitage, Maria Bartuszová, Bianca Bondi, Louise Bourgeois, Geta Brătescu, Edith Dekyndt, Susanna Fritscher, William Kentridge, Kapwani Kiwanga, Dominik Lang, Luboš Plný, Anri Sala, Vivian Suter, Alina Szapocznikow, Barthélémy Toguo, Anna Zemánková.

Curated by Elena Sorokina and Silvia Van Espen.

view of the exhibition *fragilities*, Rudolfinum Gallery, Prague, 2022 - © © Galerie Rudolfinum, photo : Martin Polàk, christian berst — art brut
view of the exhibition *fragilities*, Rudolfinum Gallery, Prague, 2022 - © © Galerie Rudolfinum, photo : Martin Polàk, christian berst — art brut
view of the exhibition *fragilities*, Rudolfinum Gallery, Prague, 2022 - © © Galerie Rudolfinum, photo : Martin Polàk, christian berst — art brut
Artists
Luboš Plný - © christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

Luboš Plný is one of the major figures in contemporary outsider art, whose international recognition was confirmed by his selection in the 57th Venice Biennale titled Viva Arte Viva (curated by Christine Macel) in 2017. As the first outsider artist acquired by the National Museum of Modern Art in 2013, he has enjoyed numerous institutional exhibitions in recent years. These include exhibitions at contemporary art museums in Kobe and Hiroshima, Japan, at the Rencontres de la Photographie in Arles, at the Kunsthalle in Dresden, and in his hometown of Prague. In 2017, the Dox Art Center dedicated a major solo exhibition to him, and in 2022, the Rudolfinum facilitated a dialogue between him and artists such as Louise Bourgeois, Barthélémy Toguo, and William Kentridge.

More
anna zemankova - © christian berst — art brut

Anna Zemankova

It was in the early 60s that this humble Moravian began to produce work for which her condition had not prepared her, responding strikingly to injunctions from the depths. Thus, at a time when the demons of the night were still vying for the seminal iridescence of dawn, she would pick strange flowers in her mind, to make them protrude from the paper. “I grow flowers that don’t grow anywhere else”, she used to say. Anna Zemánková is already an established figure in the art brut, having been honored in 2013 at the 55th Venice Biennale, before a significant body of her work joined the collections of the Centre Pompidou, and the collections of the Boston Museum of Fine Arts in 2020. In 2024, his works will be presented for the second time at the Venice Biennale, curated by Adriano Pedrosa.

More
fragilités :

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Luboš Plný et Anna Zemánková à l’honneur dans l’exposition fragilités à la Galerie Rudolfinum (Prague), jusqu’au 8 janvier 2023.

La fragilité est apparue ces dernières années comme un concept clé permettant de réimaginer les conditions humaine et écologique. Cette exposition présente les préoccupations, les visions et les sensibilités exprimées par des artistes qui se sont profondément engagés dans la fragilité et ont réfléchi à ses tensions, ses complexités et ses paradoxes. La signification traditionnelle de la fragilité - faiblesse, impuissance, passivité - est remise en question et revendiquée au contraire comme une source de force et d’action qui encourage les interdépendances durables.

La compréhension que tous les êtres vivants sont dépendants de leur environnement et les uns des autres s’est intensifiée dans le contexte des crises actuelles. Ces idées ont déjà été développées par des artistes et des penseurs qui, depuis de nombreuses années, soulignent les liens invisibles qui nous unissent à d’autres êtres, ainsi que les innombrables façons dont nous sommes imbriqués dans des écosystèmes plus vastes. En réponse à ces idées, l’exposition invoque la fragilité comme objectif et comme langage, affirmant que ni la vulnérabilité ni le pouvoir ne se présentent sous des formes attendues, et que les liens fragiles entre les corps et la terre constituent une véritable force.

Avec les œuvres de : Francis Alÿs, Michael Armitage, Maria Bartuszová, Bianca Bondi, Louise Bourgeois, Geta Brătescu, Edith Dekyndt, Susanna Fritscher, William Kentridge, Kapwani Kiwanga, Dominik Lang, Luboš Plný, Anri Sala, Vivian Suter, Alina Szapocznikow, Barthélémy Toguo, Anna Zemánková.

Sous le commissariat d’Elena Sorokina et de Silvia Van Espen.

vue de l'exposition *fragilités*, Galerie Rudolfinum, Prague, 2022 - © © Galerie Rudolfinum, photo : Martin Polàk, christian berst — art brut
vue de l'exposition *fragilités*, Galerie Rudolfinum, Prague, 2022 - © © Galerie Rudolfinum, photo : Martin Polàk, christian berst — art brut
vue de l'exposition *fragilités*, Galerie Rudolfinum, Prague, 2022 - © © Galerie Rudolfinum, photo : Martin Polàk, christian berst — art brut
Artistes
Luboš Plný, 2011, Prague - © Ⓒ Mario del Curto, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

Figure reconnue de l’art brut contemporain, cet artiste tchèque est fasciné par l’iconographie médicale. Expert des arcanes de l’anatomie, il s’adonne – lorsqu’il ne dessine pas - à toutes sortes de performances rappelant les actionnistes. En testant les limites de l’existence physique, il conjure la mort et sublime la vie dans ce qu’elle a de plus organique. Ses œuvres extrêmement détaillées à l’encre de Chine et à l’acrylique, sont entrées dès 2013 dans les collections du Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris) puis en 2021 grâce à la donation Bruno Decharme et furent notamment exposées à plusieurs reprises à la Maison rouge, au Japon ou lors de la biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
anna zemankova - © christian berst — art brut

Anna Zemankova

Anna Zemánková est une figure déjà consacrée de l’art brut, au point qu’elle fut honorée en 2013 lors de la 55e biennale de Venise avant qu’un ensemble important de ses œuvres ne rejoigne les collections du Centre Pompidou. C’est dès le début des années 60 que cette humble Moravienne se mit à produire un œuvre auquel sa condition ne l’avait pas préparée et qui répondait de façon saisissante à des injonctions venues des tréfonds. Ainsi, à l’heure où les démons de la nuit le disputaient encore aux irisations séminales de l’aube, elle cueillait en pensée des fleurs étranges avant de les faire saillir du papier. « Je fais pousser des fleurs qui ne poussent nulle part ailleurs » disait-elle.

En savoir plus
fragilités :

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.