christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

José Manuel Egea, born in 1988 in Madrid, has been fascinated with the figure of the lycanthrope, or the werewolf, since his childhood. Not only is he convinced of being one himself, but he seems to want to reveal to us, through his works, that the double monstrosity lies beneath the surface for many of us, if not all of us.

In order to do this, he has developed a rich palette of representations of this “Other” that everyone harbors: from sketches to drawings on photographic portraits taken from magazines or art books, including sculpture and performances during which he “plays out” his transformation. This mythological creature is obviously the symbol of a blurry duality, but it embodies a great power at the same time, mysterious, and capable of exerting an influence on mankind, of inspiring fear in him. So what would be better, to exorcize it, than to play with this fear, to seek to become the fear itself, and to feel invested with its force?

It isn’t insignificant that Egea makes this dark side appear, especially using images printed on glossy paper whose only purpose was to seduce us. He conjures our bestiality there, made of shadowy and menacing silhouettes, enucleated eyes, triumphant hairiness and lupine attributes. And this is the reversal in the other side of the mirror. This iconoclasm can reach the gutter of the page, clear-cut, as if to accentuate the fracture between two worlds; sometimes even, it is the complete covering of the page, through which we can barely see, vanquished in the darkness, the fictitious beauty that these images impose on us.

José Manuel Egea gives himself over to liberating play since, even though he mangles our humanity, by freeing himself from the norm, he reveals the grandeurs of alterity to us in a pure and unrestrained artistic gesture.

Exhibition view of *José Manuel Egea : Lycanthropos*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016 - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *José Manuel Egea : Lycanthropos*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016 - © christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *José Manuel Egea : Lycanthropos*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016 - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
José Manuel Egea
portrait of josé manuel egea - © christian berst — art brut

Convinced of his lycanthropy, this young Madrid artist is fascinated by the Kafkaesque metamorphosis found in the comics and mythology world. His work, also polymorphic, consists of drawings, sculptures and performances, and urges us to accept our repressed therianthropy. Promoted by the gallery since 2016, he is already found in major European contemporary art collections such as those of Antoine de Galbert, or Laurent Dumas (France).

Press review
José Manuel Egea, Lycanthropos – Entretien avec Christian Berst
La Rédaction, Point Contemporain. November 2, 2016.
José Manuel Egea et son loup-garou universel à Christian Berst art brut
La Rédaction, Indie Paris. October 13, 2016.
Le lycanthrope de l’art brut
Philippe Godin, La Diagonale De L’art. October 10, 2016.
José Manuel Egea
Aurélie Romanacce, L’Oeil. September 30, 2016.
lycanthropos
La Rédaction, Paris Art. September 30, 2016.
View more
José Manuel Egea : le lycanthrope de l’art contemporain
Stéphanie Pioda, Artistikrezo. September 20, 2016.
Expo Art Brut: José Manuel EGEA “Lycanthropos”
Eric Simon, ACTUART. September 14, 2016.
José Manuel Egea
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. September 9, 2016.
A l’avant garde José Manuel Egea série Lycanthropos
Dauphine De Cambre, The ARTchemists. September 5, 2016.
Les galeries du Marais font leur rentrée
Clélia Dehon, The Steidz. September 5, 2016.
Arte Bruta, galeria delicada
Ana Paula Cardoso, O Globo. September 2, 2016.
exposition lycanthropos de José Manuel Egea
Alix Joly, Actu Photo. September 1, 2016.
José Manuel Egea : lycanthropos
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. August 24, 2016.
Video
Jose manuel egea lycanthropos
Language French
José Manuel Egea

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

José Manuel Egea, né en 1988 à Madrid, est fasciné depuis son enfance par la figure du lycanthrope, ou loup-garou. Non seulement est-il convaincu d’en être un lui-même, mais il paraît vouloir nous révéler, par ses oeuvres, que ce double monstrueux sommeille chez beaucoup d’entre nous, pour ne pas dire chez tous.

Pour ce faire, il a développé une riche palette de représentations de cet « autre » que chacun recèle : cela va du dessin aux interventions sur des portraits photographiques tirés de magazines ou de livres d’art, en passant par la sculpture et les performances lors desquelles il « joue » sa transformation. Cette créature mythologique est évidemment le symbole d’une trouble dualité, mais elle incarne dans le même temps une grande puissance, mystérieuse, et capable d’exercer un ascendant sur l’homme, de lui inspirer de la peur. Alors quoi de mieux, pour l’exorciser, que de jouer avec cette peur, de vouloir devenir la peur elle-même et se sentir investi de sa force ?

Il n’est pas anodin qu’Egea fasse surgir cette part d’ombre de préférence à partir d’images imprimées sur papier glacé qui n’avaient pour seule vocation que de nous séduire. Il y convoque notre bestialité, faite de silhouettes fuligineuses et menaçantes, d’yeux énucléés, de pilosité triomphante et d’attributs lupins. Et c’est le basculement de l’autre côté du miroir. Cet iconoclasme peut aller jusqu’à la scission de la page, nette, comme pour accentuer la fracture entre deux mondes ; parfois même, c’est le recouvrement complet de la feuille, d’où l’on devine alors à peine, vaincue dans la noirceur, la beauté factice que ces images nous imposaient.

José Manuel Egea s’adonne à un jeu libérateur puisque, tout en malmenant notre humanité, en s’émancipant de la norme, il nous révèle les grandeurs de l’altérité dans un geste artistique pur et sans retenue.

Vue de l'exposition *José Manuel Egea : Lycanthropos*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016 - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *José Manuel Egea : Lycanthropos*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016 - © christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *José Manuel Egea : Lycanthropos*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016 - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artiste
José Manuel Egea
portrait de josé manuel egea - © christian berst — art brut

Convaincu de sa lycanthropie, ce jeune artiste madrilène est fasciné par la métamorphose kafkaienne présente dans l’univers du comics et de la mythologie . Son œuvre, lui aussi polymorphe, constitué de dessins, sculptures et performances nous exhorte à accepter notre thérianthropie refoulée. Défendu par la galerie depuis 2016 il a fait l’objet, la même année, d’une vaste présentation lors de la Biennale de l’Image possible, à Liège. Il est désormais présent dans de grandes collections européennes comme celles d’Antoine de Galbert ou de Laurent Dumas (France).

Revue de presse
José Manuel Egea, Lycanthropos – Entretien avec Christian Berst
La Rédaction, Point Contemporain. Le 2 novembre 2016.
José Manuel Egea et son loup-garou universel à Christian Berst art brut
La Rédaction, Indie Paris. Le 13 octobre 2016.
Le lycanthrope de l’art brut
Philippe Godin, La Diagonale De L’art. Le 10 octobre 2016.
José Manuel Egea
Aurélie Romanacce, L’Oeil. Le 30 septembre 2016.
lycanthropos
La Rédaction, Paris Art. Le 30 septembre 2016.
Voir plus
José Manuel Egea : le lycanthrope de l’art contemporain
Stéphanie Pioda, Artistikrezo. Le 20 septembre 2016.
Expo Art Brut: José Manuel EGEA “Lycanthropos”
Eric Simon, ACTUART. Le 14 septembre 2016.
José Manuel Egea
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. Le 9 septembre 2016.
A l’avant garde José Manuel Egea série Lycanthropos
Dauphine De Cambre, The ARTchemists. Le 5 septembre 2016.
Les galeries du Marais font leur rentrée
Clélia Dehon, The Steidz. Le 5 septembre 2016.
Arte Bruta, galeria delicada
Ana Paula Cardoso, O Globo. Le 2 septembre 2016.
exposition lycanthropos de José Manuel Egea
Alix Joly, Actu Photo. Le 1 septembre 2016.
José Manuel Egea : lycanthropos
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. Le 24 août 2016.
Vidéo
Jose manuel egea lycanthropos
Langue Français
José Manuel Egea

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.