christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The story of Alexandro García is that of a gardener from Uruguay who began to transcribe his ethereal visions following an encounter of the 3rd kind – or an avistamiento – that he had on the shore of a beach, at night, when he was a child.

His work, in which the cosmogony of pre-Columbian civilizations frequently comes up to the surface, should be compared to psychic art insofar as forces for which he is but an instrument, according to him, are at work there : “I am a channel that absorbs the messages of the cosmos […] my works are the pathways of a new era, spiritual psychographic messages for saving the energies from this era, from the old, and from the future.”

Alexandro García, like Vassilij Romanenkov, does not take his “visions” from an intimate conversation with the dead then, as is typical in necromancy. With him, it is rather a matter of recapturing an ethereal golden age, an extraterrestrial knowledge floating somewhere in limbo and capable of saving us from our turpitudes.

His psychedelic, meticulous, extremely codified compositions, blend fantastical cities and Incan temples – as if weightless or about to embark into the infinite cosmos – with the ballet of constellations that have come to greet them. Truly the heir to magical realism, Alexandro García goes beyond that scope however and speaks to us of an elsewhere offered up to our projections and to the colonization of a new humanity: “we are not alone.”

Exhibition view of *Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
Alexandro Garcia
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut

The Uruguayan gardener, Alexandro García, began to transcribe his ethereal visions following an encounter of the third kind - or avistamiento - that he experienced as a child. Worthy heir to magical realism, however, he goes beyond its scope: he speaks to us of an elsewhere offered to our projections and to the colonization of a new humanity through inhabited and saturated architectures. Present notably in the abcd/Bruno Decharme collection (France), his work was shown in the exhibition Elévations in 2015, co-curated by Antoine de Galbert, and tribute to the Palais Idéal du Facteur Cheval, a fairy tale palace built by the postman Ferdinand Cheval in 1879.

Catalog
Alexandro Garcia no estamos solos II
Catalogue published to mark the exhibition *Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2017. - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Pablo Thiago Rocca
Forewords : Christian Berst.
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II, from December 3rd to January 14th, 2017.

Press review
alexandro garcia: no estamos solos II
Olivier De Rincquesen, Image By JP Depersin, BFM TV. January 15, 2017.
Alexandro Garcia at the Christian Berst gallery, Paris
La Rédaction, Blouinarteinfo. December 30, 2016.
alexandro garcia : no estamos solos II
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. December 15, 2016.
Ouf, le merveilleux revient !
Bruno Dubreuil, Viens Voir. December 5, 2016.
Videos
Occulte OVNI et art brut
Language French
Alexandro Garcia no estamos solo
Language French
Alexandro Garcia

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

L’histoire d’Alexandro García est celle d’un jardinier uruguayen qui s’est mis à retranscrire ses visions éthérées à la suite d’une rencontre du 3e type – ou avistamiento – qu’il fit au bord d’une plage, la nuit, lorsqu’il était enfant.

Son œuvre, dans lequel affleure fréquemment la cosmogonie des civilisations précolombiennes, est à rapprocher de l’art médiumnique dans le sens où s’y exercent, selon lui, des forces dont il ne serait que l’instrument : « je suis un canal qui absorbe les messages du cosmos (…) mes œuvres sont les canalisations d’un temps nouveau, des messages spirituels psychographiques pour sauver les énergies de ce temps, de l’ancien et de l’avenir ».

Alexandro García, à l’instar d’un Vassilij Romanenkov, ne tire donc pas ses « visions » d’une conversation intime avec les défunts, comme c’est l’usage dans la nécromancie. Il est chez lui plutôt question de retrouver un âge d’or éthéré, un savoir extraterrestre flottant quelque par dans les limbes et capable de nous sauver de nos turpitudes.

Ses compositions psychédéliques méticuleuses, extrêmement codifiées, mêlent cités fantastiques et temples incas – comme en apesanteur ou sur le point de s’élancer dans l’infini sidéral – au ballet des constellations venues à leur rencontre. Digne héritier du réalisme magique, Alexandro García en dépasse cependant le cadre et nous parle d’un ailleurs offert à nos projections et à la colonisation d’une humanité nouvelle : « nous ne sommes pas seuls ».

jeudi 15 décembre à 19h : discussion « Occulte, ovnis et art brut » avec Maxence Layet (Revue Orbs), Philippe Baudouin (France Culture) et Christian Berst.

Vue de l'exposition *Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Vue de l'exposition *Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2016. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artiste
Alexandro Garcia
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut

Jardinier uruguayen, Alexandro García s’est mis à retranscrire ses visions éthérées à la suite d’une rencontre du 3e type – ou avistamiento – dont il a fait l’expérience, enfant. Digne héritier du réalisme magique, il en dépasse cependant le cadre et nous parle d’un ailleurs offert à nos projections et à la colonisation d’une humanité nouvelle aux travers d’architectures habitées et saturées. Présent notamment dans la collection abcd/Bruno Decharme (France) son travail a été montré dans l’exposition hommage au palais idéal du facteur cheval élévations co-curatoriée par Antoine de Galbert en 2015.

Catalogue
Alexandro Garcia no estamos solos II
Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Pablo Thiago Rocca
Avant-propos : Christian Berst.
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Alexandro Garcia : no estamos solos II, du 3 décembre 2016 au 14 janvier 2017.

Revue de presse
alexandro garcia: no estamos solos II
Olivier De Rincquesen, Image By JP Depersin, BFM TV. Le 15 janvier 2017.
Alexandro Garcia at the Christian Berst gallery, Paris
La Rédaction, Blouinarteinfo. Le 30 décembre 2016.
alexandro garcia : no estamos solos II
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. Le 15 décembre 2016.
Ouf, le merveilleux revient !
Bruno Dubreuil, Viens Voir. Le 5 décembre 2016.
Vidéos
Occulte OVNI et art brut
Langue Français
Alexandro Garcia no estamos solo
Langue Français
Alexandro Garcia

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.