christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Now that Michel Nedjar has been one of the most renowned international figures in the field of Art Brut for almost 40 years already, 2017 will without a doubt be the year of consecration, as much as of clarification.

Immediately idolized by Dubuffet and crowned by Cardinal, the list of exhibits and publications that have been dedicated to him throughout the world since the 1980s is considerable.

Among the innumerable collections, both public and private – 20 new works have just joined the Pompidou collections – the events that are dedicated to him throughout the year will underscore the importance and the diversity of his work once and for all. And remind us that his work cannot be pigeonholed, or even reduced to the beginnings of Brut production.

A body of work which, while being brought from the shadows into light, proved to be prone to evolutions, to revolutions even: with time, the new dolls – full of new promise – from the series “Bundle of arrested objects” have joined the ranks of the memorial, visceral dolls from the early days; his emblematic pastels, totemic and corporeal, now appear alongside the “Galatas,” an ensemble of geometric self-portraits where the cultural and original output of the East and the West is symbolically maintained. And this, without taking into account the more recent “coudrages” and other “agrafages” which marvelously illustrate the way that Michel Nedjar, just like a harvester, reconstructs a fragmented identity.

Meanwhile, in the homage paid to him by the LaM and the National Museum of Modern Art, we can also discover Nedjar the experimental cinematographer. Thus, little by little, the portrait of an immense, protean artist materializes at the intersection of paths – one who, in the life-saving practice of creation, has never stopped embodying an absolute kind of freedom. And in doing so, resistant to all labels, has endangered all dogmas.

exhibition view of *michel nedjar : crossroads*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2017. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
Michel Nedjar Presence, untitled | Paris Belleville, 1991
29.53 x 43.31 in
Michel Nedjar untitled | Paris St.-Martin, 2003
8.27 x 6.69 in
Artist
Michel Nedjar
Michel Nedjar in his workshop - © christian berst — art brut

He is the living most exposed and published brut artist and yet, the extraordinary trajectory of this Frenchman poses a question rarely addressed: that of the impermanence of art brut. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet during his work on the resurgence of the symbolic body, he then became the protean artist we know today and who, in creation, embodies an absolute freedom. Found in numerous collections, he is the first brut artist whose works were added to the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (France). Since 2008, he has been celebrated through six monographic exhibitions by Le Mahj (Paris), LaM (Lille), the Gugging Museum (Vienna), and the gallery.

Catalog
Michel Nedjar crossroads
Catalogue published to mark the exhibition *Michel Nedjar : crossroads*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2017. - © christian berst — art brut

Preface : Philippe Godin
Foreword : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Michel Nedjar : crossroads, from March 16th to April 22nd, 2017.

Press review
michel nedjar ou l’indispensable versant de l’art contemporain
Bruno Dubreuil, Viens Voir. April 19, 2017.
NEDJAR Introspective
Claire Margat, La Critique.org. April 15, 2017.
michel nedjar : crossroads
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. March 29, 2017.
crossroads
La Rédaction, Paris Art. March 10, 2017.
Michel Nedjar

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Alors que Michel Nedjar était déjà, depuis bientôt 40 ans, l’une des figures internationales les plus reconnues dans le champ de l’art brut, l’année 2017 sera à n’en pas douter celle de la consécration, autant que de la clarification.

D’emblée adulé par Dubuffet et adoubé par Cardinal, la liste des expositions et des publications qui lui ont été consacrées à travers le monde depuis les années 1980 est considérable.

Présent dans d’innombrables collections, tant publiques que privées – 20 nouvelles œuvres viennent d’ailleurs de rejoindre les collections de Pompidou – les événements qui lui sont consacrés durant l’année vont finir de souligner l’importance et la diversité de son travail. Et rappeler que son œuvre ne saurait être enfermé, voire réduit, à la production brute des origines.

Un œuvre qui, en même temps qu’il est passé de l’ombre à la lumière, se révéla susceptible d’évolutions, de révolutions même : les viscérales poupées mémorielles des débuts ont été rejointes, avec le temps, par celles - chargées de promesses nouvelles - de la série des « paquets d’objets arrêtés » ; ses emblématiques pastels, totémiques et charnels, sont aujourd’hui côtoyés par les « Galatas », ensemble d’autoportraits géométriques où s’affirme symboliquement le débit culturel et originel de l’orient et de l’occident. Et ce, sans compter avec les plus récents « coudrages » et autres « agrafages» qui illustrent à merveille la manière dont Michel Nedjar, tel un glaneur, recompose une identité fragmentée.

Tandis qu’à travers l’hommage que lui rendent le LaM et le Musée national d’art moderne l’on découvrira également un Nedjar cinéaste expérimental. Ainsi, peu à peu, se dessine le portrait d’un immense artiste protéiforme à la croisée des chemins qui, dans l’exercice salvateur de la création, n’a cessé d’incarner une absolue liberté. Et ce faisant, rétif à tout label, a mis en péril tous les dogmes.

Mardi 4 avril à 19h30 : projection de poupées des ténèbres documentaire sur Michel Medjar (63’) réalisé par Allen S. Weiss.

vue de l'exposition *michel nedjar : crossroads*, christian berst art brut, paris, 2017. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
Michel Nedjar Présence, sans titre | Paris Belleville, 1991
75 x 110 cm
Michel Nedjar sans titre | Paris St.-Martin, 2003
21 x 17 cm
Artiste
Michel Nedjar
Michel Nedjar dans son atelier - © christian berst — art brut

Il est l’artiste brut, vivant, le plus exposé et publié et pourtant la trajectoire extraordinaire de ce français pose une question rarement abordée : celle de l’impermanence de l’art brut. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet, au moment où il travaille sur la résurgence du corps symbolique, il s’autorise alors à devenir l’artiste protéiforme que l’on connaît et qui, dans la création, incarne une absolue liberté. Présent dans d’innombrables collections, il est le premier « brut » à être entré dans les collections du Musée national d’art moderne (France). Depuis 2008 il s’est vu consacrer six expositions monographiques par Le Mahj (Paris), le LaM (Lille), le musée Gugging (Vienne) et la galerie.

Catalogue
Michel Nedjar crossroads
Catalogue publié à l'occasion de l'exposition *Michel Nedjar : crossroads*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2017. - © christian berst — art brut

Préface : Philippe Godin
Avant-propos : Christian Berst.
Publié à l’occasion de l’exposition Michel Nedjar : crossroads, du 16 mars au 22 avril 2017.

Revue de presse
michel nedjar ou l’indispensable versant de l’art contemporain
Bruno Dubreuil, Viens Voir. Le 19 avril 2017.
NEDJAR Introspective
Claire Margat, La Critique.org. Le 15 avril 2017.
michel nedjar : crossroads
Bénédicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. Le 29 mars 2017.
crossroads
La Rédaction, Paris Art. Le 10 mars 2017.
Michel Nedjar

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.