christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose
Boris Santamaria - © christian berst — art brut
Date 1971 —
Country Cuba

Born in 1971 in Havana, Boris is the descendant of one of the greatest revolutionary families in Cuban before 1959: the Santamarias. His aunt, Haydee Santamaria, was one of the three most important women of the revolution, a heroine of the attack on the barracks of Moncada lead by a revolutionary group under the direction of Fidel Castro, and the director of the “Maison des Amériques” (the Center for the Americas) until her suicide.

His first name, Boris, was given to him to commemorate the martyr of the revolution, Boris Luis Santa Coloma, who was his aunt’s partner during the clandestine battles. He was brutally tortured and then killed by the armed forces of Fulgenico Batista’s police.

His parents, extensively involved in the activities of the revolution, were not able to educate him in a stable and continuous manner, so the adolescent decided to leave his parents’ home and rallied behind independent groups such as the Free Kids. These associations made him lead a lifestyle that fell somewhere between the punk-rock movement and the life of an outcast. The social denigration that followed consequently left him in a permanent state of stress, which he tried to calm by taking numerous drugs and pills; because of these, he caught certain transmissible diseases such as HIV. During this same period, he had a relationship with an older woman who offered him a little stability, but that unfortunately didn’t last.

Over the years, he became a beggar who slept on the benches of hospitals, bus stops and other public spaces in the city. Nevertheless stimulated, in 2008 he began a series of drawings on paper that clearly expressed, through the faces of men, women and children, all of his anxiety and mental maladaptation as the result of a precarious life full of conflicts and excesses. 

Artworks
Please contact us to inquire about the available works.
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
untitled, 2007
8.27 x 10.63 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
untitled, 2008
8.27 x 11.42 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
untitled, 2009
8.27 x 10.63 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
untitled, 2012
7.09 x 10.63 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
untitled, 2008
8.27 x 10.63 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
untitled, 2009
8.27 x 10.63 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
untitled, 2008
8.27 x 10.63 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
untitled, 2009
8.27 x 10.63 in
untitled - © christian berst — art brut
untitled, 2008
8.27 x 10.63 in
Exhibitions
Escapes
art without freedom, MIAM museum. From April 7 to September 23, 2018.
Escape
art without freedom, Miam, Sète. From April 7 to September 23, 2018.
Exhibition view of *Paños : prison break*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Press review
La Valise de Christian Berst
Thierry Paret Et Linda Lorin, Radio Nova. April 15, 2014.
Boris Santamaria, paños, prison break
Sophie Lespiaux, Paris Art. March 26, 2014.
Collections
Carmen and Daniel Klein collection
Switzerland
Antoine Frérot collection
France
Boris Santamaria

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer
Boris Santamaria - © christian berst — art brut
Date 1971 —
Pays Cuba

Né en 1971 à La Havane, Boris est un descendant d’une des plus grandes familles de la Révolution cubaine d’avant 1959 : Los Santamaría. Sa tante Haydee Santamaría a été l’une des trois femmes les plus importantes de la révolution, héroïne de l’attaque de la caserne de Moncada menée par un groupe révolutionnaire dirigé par Fidel Castro, directrice de la Maison des Amériques, et ce jusqu’à son suicide.

Son prénom, Boris, lui fut donné en mémoire du martyr de la révolution,  Boris Luís Santa Coloma, qui fut le compagnon de sa tante lors des combats clandestins. Il fut brutalement torturé, puis tué par l’armée de la police de Fulgencio Batista.
Ses parents, fortement impliqués dans les activités de la Révolution, n’ont pu l’éduquer de manière stable et suivie, ce faisant l’adolescence décide de quitter le domicile parental et se rallie à des groupes indépendants libres comme les Free Kids. Ces appartenances lui firent mener une existence dont les contours se situent entre le mouvement punk / rock et la vie de paria. Le dénigrement social qui a suivi a eu pour conséquence de le mettre dans un état de stress permanent qu’il a tenté de calmer par la consommation de nombreuses drogues et médicaments, et à cause desquels il a contracté certaines maladies contagieuses telles que le VIH. A cette même époque, il entretient une relation avec une femme plus âgée que lui, qui lui offrit un peu de stabilité mais cela ne dura malheureusement pas.

Au fil des années, il est devenu le mendiant qui dormait sur les bancs des hôpitaux, des arrêts de bus et autres lieux publics de la ville. Néanmoins stimulé, il a commencé depuis 2008 une série de dessins sur papier qui expriment clairement, à travers les visages d’hommes, de femmes et d’enfants, toutes ses angoisses et son inadaptation mentale, comme le résultat d’une vie précaire plein de conflits et d’excès.

Œuvres
Pour découvrir les œuvres disponibles, merci de nous contacter.
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
sans titre, 2007
21.5 x 27.5 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
sans titre, 2008
21.3 x 29.3 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
sans titre, 2009
21.8 x 27.8 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
sans titre, 2012
18 x 27.8 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
sans titre, 2008
21.5 x 27.7 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
sans titre, 2009
21.5 x 27.7 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
sans titre, 2008
21 x 27.6 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
sans titre, 2009
21.6 x 27.8 cm
sans titre - © christian berst — art brut
sans titre, 2008
21 x 27.8 cm
Expositions
Evasions
L’art sans liberté, MIAM museum. Du 7 avril au 23 septembre 2018.
Évasion
l’art sans liberté, Miam, Sète. Du 7 avril au 23 septembre 2018.
Vue de l'exposition *Paños : prison break*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014. - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Revue de presse
La Valise de Christian Berst
Thierry Paret Et Linda Lorin, Radio Nova. Le 15 avril 2014.
Boris Santamaria, paños, prison break
Sophie Lespiaux, Paris Art. Le 26 mars 2014.
Collections
collection Carmen et Daniel Klein
Suisse
collection Antoine Frérot
France
Boris Santamaria

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.