christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Design machines to heal incurable diseases, invade the city and proclaim messages of peace, set up plans to destroy misery, build shelters to house the population in the event of a global disaster…

Whether upset by tragic event or called by a higher force, the authors presented in this exhibition feel compelled by a mission ever so intrinsically connected with their creativity. They all give their utmost to devise imaginary solutions to repair or save the world.

The gallery lent works by Guo Fengyi.

Artists
Giovanni Battista Podesta - © christian berst — art brut

Giovanni Battista Podesta

Giovanni Battista Podesta, born in 1895 in Torre Pallavicina (northern Italy), is the only son of a peasant family of thirteen children very poor, the father having died young, Giovanni environment is exclusively female. Its financial condition forced him to leave school at the age of ten in favor of aid work mason. Called to war, he knows his return and reintegration difficulties must resign himself to commit three years with the carabinieri. It is then sent to Laveno, a small village on the shores of Lake Maggiore, where he met his future wife whom he married after leaving his post to work in a ceramics factory. The couple has two children. Joint, Giovanni began his creative activity. He[…]

More
andré robillard - © christian berst — art brut

André Robillard

Interned since his teens, André Robillard built his life in the hospital. It was around the age of 30 that this French artist began to create rifles with materials found here and there. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet and encouraged by Michel Thévoz (director of the Art Brut collection), he continues to create his hybrid objects, from machine guns to Sputnik. André Robillard’s incredible story has earned him international recognition. Present in the collections of the LaM (France), Whitworth (UK) or MAC’s (Belgium), he was notably celebrated in the closing exhibition of the maison rouge (Paris) in 2018.

More
guo fengyi drawing - © christian berst — art brut

Fengyi Guo

Living her spirituality through the paths of Qigong, it was at the dawn of her 40th birthday that Guo Fengyi began to reinterpret popular Chinese beliefs in drawings of ink and brush. On rolls of rice paper, measuring up to 10 meters, entities unfold: sometimes linked to the pantheon, sometimes to the pandemonium, they seem to float in a space-time void. These heretical scrolls were even exhibited at the 55th Venice Biennale, curated by Massimiliano Gioni.

More
george widener - © christian berst — art brut

George Widener

A former U.S. Air Force technician, chronically depressed and antisocial, it is only when he reached his thirties that he was diagnosed with Asperger’s syndrome. His syndrome is characterized by an eidetic memory that allows him to insert in his works a lot of data, especially encrypted, relating to his favorite subjects. Time, magic squares, the Titanic, and fictional megalopolises are among the recurring themes of his drawings. Present, among others, in the collections of the Smithsonian (Washington), his art has been shown at the Palais de Tokyo, in Paris, in the cult exhibition Le Bord des Mondes or in Alternative Guide to the Universe at the Hayward Gallery in London.

More
Save the World ?

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Concevoir des machines pour guérir de maladies incurables, envahir la ville et y proclamer des messages de paix, échafauder des plans pour tuer la misère, construire des refuges pour abriter la population en cas de catastrophe planétaire…

Qu’ils aient été bouleversés par un événement tragique ou appelés par une force supérieure, les auteurs présentés dans cette exposition se sentent envahis d’une mission, si intrinsèquement liée à leur création. Tous s’adonnent, avec acharnement, à l’élaboration de solutions imaginaires pour réparer ou sauver le monde.

Pour cette exposition qui réunit notamment des oeuvres de André Robillard, George Widener, Hans-Jörg Georgi, la galerie a prêté des oeuvres de Guo Fengyi.

Artistes
Giovanni Battista Podesta - © christian berst — art brut

Giovanni Battista Podesta

L’homme et sa création sont aussi atypiques qu’indissociables : alors que Podesta décore son appartement n’hésitant pas à façonner de manière aussi improbable qu’admirable meubles et objets selon son inspiration, il se prend lui-même comme objet de création, se parant de costumes et accessoires de sa confection, il défile dans la ville. Par cette production relevant d’une « autoculture », « Podesta s’en est pris à ce que les artistes des plus avant-gardistes et les plus subversifs de son temps ont néanmoins toujours respecté : l’appareil des beaux-arts. » (Lucienne Peiry) Giovanni Battista Podesta, né en 1895 à Torre Pallavicina (Italie du Nord), est le seul fils d’une famille paysanne très […]

En savoir plus
andré robillard - © christian berst — art brut

André Robillard

Interné depuis son adolescence, André Robillard a construit sa vie à l’hôpital. C’est vers l’âge de 30 ans que cet artiste français commence à créer des fusils avec des matériaux trouvés çà et là. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet et encouragé par Michel Thévoz (directeur de la collection de l’Art Brut), il continue à créer ses objets hybrides, des mitrailleuses au spoutnik. L’histoire incroyable d’André Robillard lui a valu une reconnaissance internationale. Présent dans les collections du LaM (France), du Whitworth (Royaume-Uni) ou encore du MAC’s (Belgique), il a notamment été célébré dans l’exposition clôturale de la Maison rouge (Paris), en 2018.

En savoir plus
guo fengyi dessinant - © christian berst — art brut

Fengyi Guo

En vivant sa spiritualité à travers les voies du qi qong, c’est à l’aube de ses 40 ans que Guo Fengyi se met à réinterpréter les croyances populaires chinoises dans des dessins réalisés à l’encre et au pinceau. Sur des rouleaux de papier de riz, pouvant atteindre les 10 mètres, se déploient des entités relavant tantôt du panthéon, tantôt du pandémonium, et qui semblent flotter dans un vide spatio-temporel. Ces rouleaux hérétiques ont notamment été exposés lors de la 55e Biennale de Venise curatoriée Massimiliano Gioni.

En savoir plus
george widener - © christian berst — art brut

George Widener

Ancien technicien de l’US Air Force, dépressif chronique et asocial, c’est vers la trentaine qu’on lui décèle le syndrome d’Asperger. Celui-ci se caractérise, chez lui, par une mémoire eidétique qui lui permet de faire resurgir dans ses œuvres quantité de données, notamment chiffrées, relatives à ses sujets de prédilection. Le temps, les carrés magiques, le Titanic, les mégalopoles fictives figurent parmi les thèmes récurrents de ses dessins. Présent, entre autres, dans les collections du Smithsonian (Washington), il a notamment été montré au Palais de Tokyo, à Paris, dans l’exposition culte Le Bord des mondes ou dans An Alternative Guide to the Universe à la Hayward Gallery, à Londres.

En savoir plus
Sauver le Monde ?

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.