christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

After his show La Maison created in February 2016 at the Centre Culturel André Malraux scène nationale de Vandœuvre-lès-Nancy, Gustavo Giacosa continues to explore this theme by bringing together painters, sculptors and video artists from different countries and backgrounds, most of whom are part of his private collection. The exhibition develops the narrative openings present in his show, whose echoes he finds through creations that he makes dialogue by distributing them according to oppositions: in/out - adults/children - order/disorder - presences/absences.

Exhibition at the Zola Gallery - Cité du Livre in Aix-en-Provence.

Artists
Michel Nedjar in his workshop - © christian berst — art brut

Michel Nedjar

He is the living most exposed and published brut artist and yet, the extraordinary trajectory of this Frenchman poses a question rarely addressed: that of the impermanence of art brut. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet during his work on the resurgence of the symbolic body, he then became the protean artist we know today and who, in creation, embodies an absolute freedom. Found in numerous collections, he is the first brut artist whose works were added to the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (France). Since 2008, he has been celebrated through six monographic exhibitions by Le Mahj (Paris), LaM (Lille), the Gugging Museum (Vienna), and the gallery.

More
portrait of john devlin - © christian berst — art brut

John Devlin

John Devlin was only 25 years old when he left Canada to study theology at Cambridge and set himself on the path to priesthood. Although he adored Cambridge, he had to return and abandon his ecclesiastical dreams because of a psychotic disorder. He thus devoted his life to drawing his own Nova Cantabrigiensis, an idealized Cambridge that became both a symbolic projection and a healing protocol. Once his great work - developed in secret - was discovered in the late 1980s, he was the subject of numerous exhibitions and publications including the Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles for the iconic exhibition Photo Brut.

More
portrait de franco bellucci - © bargellini, christian berst — art brut

Franco Bellucci

A frequent visitor to the Blu Cammello workshop in Livorno, he was first discovered by the artist Riccardo Bargellini. The hybrid sculptures he produces are composed of assembled objects whose links are prominent. Observed through the prism of their transitional, fetishistic or apotropaic value, they have been presented in several major exhibitions such as the monograph dedicated to him at the MAD Museum in Liège, Banditi dell’arte (Halle Saint Pierre) and art brut, abcd/Bruno Decharme collection (Maison rouge) in Paris. “These works are invested with a symbolic power that many “professional” artists are unable to achieve.” (P. Dagen, Le Monde)

More
Kostia Botkine - © La S grand Atelier, christian berst — art brut

Kostia Botkine

Raised in an stimulating environment culturally open, Kostia is fascinated by circus, theatre and music since his early childhood. Teenager, he met the musician Antoine Boulangé who initiated him to music and who quickly detected his skills to rap. In 2009, as he were living in the South of France, Kostia Botkine regulary meet Antoine Boulangé at La “S” Grand Atelier where he participates to residencies of music creation with the band “The Choolers”. In 2015 Kostia Botkine settled down in Vielsam in order to work full time at the workshops of La “S”. Henceforth the Choolers’s project evolved until is tight to Philippe Marien ones. Since the band continues to expand and plays all around[…]

More
The House

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Après son spectacle “La Maison” créé en février 2016 au Centre Culturel André Malraux scène nationale de Vandœuvre-lès-Nancy, Gustavo Giacosa continue d’explorer ce thème en réunissant des peintres, sculpteurs, vidéo artistes qui proviennent de pays et d’horizons différents et dont la plupart intègrent sa collection privée. L’exposition développe les ouvertures narratives présentes dans son spectacle, dont il retrouve les échos à travers des créations qu’il fait dialoguer en les distribuant selon des oppositions : dedans/dehors - adultes/enfants - ordre/désordre - présences/absences.

Exposition à la galerie Zola – Cité du Livre à Aix-en-Provence.

Artistes
Michel Nedjar dans son atelier - © christian berst — art brut

Michel Nedjar

Il est l’artiste brut, vivant, le plus exposé et publié et pourtant la trajectoire extraordinaire de ce français pose une question rarement abordée : celle de l’impermanence de l’art brut. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet, au moment où il travaille sur la résurgence du corps symbolique, il s’autorise alors à devenir l’artiste protéiforme que l’on connaît et qui, dans la création, incarne une absolue liberté. Présent dans d’innombrables collections, il est le premier « brut » à être entré dans les collections du Musée national d’art moderne (France). Depuis 2008 il s’est vu consacrer six expositions monographiques par Le Mahj (Paris), le LaM (Lille), le musée Gugging (Vienne) et la galerie.

En savoir plus
portrait de john devlin - © christian berst — art brut

John Devlin

Lorsque John Devlin quitte le Canada pour étudier la théologie à Cambridge il n’a que 25 ans et se destine alors à la prêtrise. En adoration devant Cambridge il doit cependant rentrer et abandonner ses rêves ecclésiastiques en raison de troubles psychotiques. Il consacre alors sa vie à concevoir des plans de sa propre Nova Cantabrigiensis, soit une Cambridge idéalisée qui devient à la fois une projection symbolique et un protocole curatif. Après que son grand oeuvre - élaboré dans le secret - fut découvert à la fin des années 1980, il a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions et publications dont, en 2019, les Rencontres de la Photographie d’Arles pour l’exposition iconique Photo Brut.

En savoir plus
portrait de franco bellucci - © bargellini, christian berst — art brut

Franco Bellucci

Fréquentant l’atelier Blu Cammello à Livourne, il a d’abord été découvert par l’artiste Riccardo Bargellini. Les sculptures hybrides qu’il produit sont constituées d’objets hétéroclites dont les destins sont inexorablement liés. Observées par le prisme de leur valeur transitionnelle, fétichiste ou apotropaïque elles ont été présentées dans plusieurs grandes expositions comme la monographie qui lui a été consacrée au MAD musée de Liège, Banditi dell’arte (Halle Saint Pierre) et art brut, collection abcd/Bruno Decharme (la Maison rouge) à Paris.” Ces œuvres sont douées d’une puissance symbolique que bien des artistes ‘professionnels’ sont incapables d’atteindre. ” (P. Dagen, Le Monde)

En savoir plus
Kostia Botkine - © La S grand Atelier, christian berst — art brut

Kostia Botkine

Élevé dans un milieu culturellement ouvert et stimulant, Kostia est fasciné depuis son plus jeune âge par le cirque, le théâtre et la musique. Adolescent, il rencontre le musicien Antoine Boulangé qui l’initie à la musique et qui détecte très vite ses compétences pour rapper.  En 2009, alors qu’il vit toujours dans le sud de la France, Kostia Botkine retrouve régulièrement Antoine Boulangé à La « S » Grand Atelier pour participer à des résidences de création en musique avec le groupe « The Choolers ». En 2015 Kostia Botkine vient s’installer à Vielsalm afin d’intégrer à plein temps les ateliers de La « S ». Dès lors le projet Choolers, évolue et se resserre autour de lui et Philippe Marien.[…]

En savoir plus
La maison

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.