christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Artworks by George Widener, Melvin Way, Raphaël Lonné and Kunizo Matsumoto are currently on view at the Musée art et marges (Brussels).

The defiance displayed by the exhibition Within a Fold of Time invites visitors to reassess the slow movement of time. Discover works of art created with infinite patience that evolve throughout the exhibition or summon other temporalities. The Art et marges museum offers you a port of call outside the requirements of instantaneity and contemporary profitability. Plunge deep into the meditation of these works of art that turn sensorial and temporal perceptions upside down, inviting you to feel differently.

Artists
portrait of raphaël lonné - © christian berst — art brut

Raphaël Lonné

A mediumistic artist, Raphael Lonné only started to draw in 1950, during a spiritualism session. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet a decade later, he is now considered a classic of this very particular category of art brut: spiritual artists. Raphael Lonné has experimented with various techniques, from graphite to ink to watercolor. He mainly draws small formats on paper. Present in many collections, such as those of the American Folk Art Museum (USA) or the LaM (France), he was part of the travelling exhibition Inner Worlds Outside in 2006, alongside Miro, Kandinsky, and Picabia.

More
melvin way - © christian berst — art brut

Melvin Way

Discovered in the early 1980s at a homeless center in New York City, Melvin Way is now a key figure in contemporary art brut. Having interrupted his scientific studies because of his schizophrenia, he relentlessly covers fragments of papers of mathematical and chemical formulas, sibylline sketches… These dense talismanic notes, which he treasures in his pockets, exhale a rare magnetism. The 2018 Pulitzer Prize for Critics, Jerry Saltz, considers him “a mystic visionary genius, one of the greatest living American artists.” The artist’s works are now in the collections of the MoMA (New York) and the Smithsonian (Washington).

More
george widener - © christian berst — art brut

George Widener

A former U.S. Air Force technician, chronically depressed and antisocial, it is only when he reached his thirties that he was diagnosed with Asperger’s syndrome. His syndrome is characterized by an eidetic memory that allows him to insert in his works a lot of data, especially encrypted, relating to his favorite subjects. Time, magic squares, the Titanic, and fictional megalopolises are among the recurring themes of his drawings. Present, among others, in the collections of the Smithsonian (Washington), his art has been shown at the Palais de Tokyo, in Paris, in the cult exhibition Le Bord des Mondes or in Alternative Guide to the Universe at the Hayward Gallery in London.

More
kunizo matsumoto - © christian berst — art brut

Kunizo Matsumoto

Illiterate, Kunizo Matsumoto is fascinated by writing. On calendar pages, brochures, questionnaires or newsletters, which he collects by the hundreds, he tirelessly copies literary texts, TV programs or notes of his own. Gathered and packaged in sealed envelopes, some of these writings are part of a fictitious epistolary collection. Presented for the first time in 2003, at the Collection of Art Brut (Lausanne), he was exhibited in 2015 at the maison rouge (Paris) and will be again in 2020 in Scrivere Designando : quand la langue cherche son autre, by curators Andréa Bellini and Sarah Lombardi, at the Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève.

More
Within a Fold

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Des œuvres de George Widener, Melvin Way, Raphaël Lonné et Kunizo Matsumoto sont actuellement exposées au musée art et marges (Bruxelles).

Cette exposition se veut être une invitation à une plongée presque méditative dans des œuvres qui bouleversent nos perceptions, nous invitent à une expérience sensorielle et temporelle et nous engagent à regarder autrement. Les œuvres sélectionnées, réalisées dans une infinie patience et qui évoluent au fil de l’exposition, sont en décalage absolu vis-à-vis de la rentabilité contemporaine et incitent à la réappropriation de la lenteur.

Artistes
portrait de raphaël lonné - © christian berst — art brut

Raphaël Lonné

Artiste médiumnique, Lonné ne s’est mis à dessiner qu’en 1950, lors d’une séance de spiritisme. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet, une dizaine d’années plus tard, il est aujourd’hui considéré comme un classique de cette catégorie, toute particulière, de l’art brut : les artistes spirites. Raphaël Lonné a expérimenté diverses techniques, du graphite à l’encre, en passant par l’aquarelle, il dessine principalement des petits formats sur papier. Présent dans de nombreuses collections, comme celles de l’American Folk Art Museum (Etats-Unis) ou du LaM (France), il a notamment fait partie, en 2006, de l’exposition itinérante Inner Worlds Outside, aux côtés de Miro, Kandinsky ou encore Picabia. 

En savoir plus
melvin way - © christian berst — art brut

Melvin Way

Découvert aux débuts des années 80 dans un centre pour sans-abris, à New York, Melvin Way est aujourd’hui une figure incontournable de l’art brut contemporain. Ayant interrompu ses études scientifiques en raison de sa schizophrénie, il ne cesse de recouvrir des fragments de papiers de formules mathématiques, chimiques, de croquis sibyllins… Ces denses billets talismaniques, qu’il garde précieusement dans ses poches, exhalent un magnétisme rare. Le prix Pulitzer 2018 de la critique, Jerry Saltz, le considère comme « un génie mystique visionnaire, l’un des plus grands artistes américains vivants », il fait partie des collections du MoMA (New York) et du Smithsonian (Washington).

En savoir plus
george widener - © christian berst — art brut

George Widener

Ancien technicien de l’US Air Force, dépressif chronique et asocial, c’est vers la trentaine qu’on lui décèle le syndrome d’Asperger. Celui-ci se caractérise, chez lui, par une mémoire eidétique qui lui permet de faire resurgir dans ses œuvres quantité de données, notamment chiffrées, relatives à ses sujets de prédilection. Le temps, les carrés magiques, le Titanic, les mégalopoles fictives figurent parmi les thèmes récurrents de ses dessins. Présent, entre autres, dans les collections du Smithsonian (Washington), il a notamment été montré au Palais de Tokyo, à Paris, dans l’exposition culte Le Bord des mondes ou dans An Alternative Guide to the Universe à la Hayward Gallery, à Londres.

En savoir plus
kunizo matsumoto - © christian berst — art brut

Kunizo Matsumoto

Analphabète, Kunizo Matsumoto est fasciné par l’écriture. Sur des pages de calendrier, des brochures, questionnaires ou bulletins, qu’il collectionne par centaines, il recopie inlassablement des textes littéraires, des programmes TV ou des notes de son cru. Regroupés et empaquetés dans des enveloppes scellées, certains de ces écrits font partie d’une collection épistolaire fictive. Présenté pour la première fois, en 2003, à la Collection de l’art brut (Lausanne), il a été exposé en 2015 à la Maison rouge (Paris) et en 2020 dans Scrivere designando : quand la langue cherche son autre, par les commissaires Andréa Bellini et Sarah Lombardi, au Centre d’Art Contemporain Genève.

En savoir plus
Dans un pli

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.