christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

Mons (Belgium), european capital of culture 2015, organize the exhibition MONSens from June 20 to September 6, 2015, at city’s the Beaux-arts.

MONSens combines two projects which perfectly illustrate the evolution of our perception and appreciation of outsider art. The first, Outsider Art Past and Present, will focus on the change in the significance attributed to such works (Aloïse Corbaz, Paul Duhem, Martha Grunenwaldt, Johann Hauser, Willem Van Genk, Adolf Wölfli…). The second, Interaction, will present the results of workshops bringing together contemporary artists and people with mental disabilities residing in Le Carosse.

The gallery lent for this exhibition three statues by Michel Nedjar and three paintings by Carlo Zinelli.

Artists
carlo zinelli - © christian berst — art brut

Carlo Zinelli

Interned at 21 years old, after volunteering for the Spanish Civil War during WWII, Carlo Zinelli is now seen as a main figure of art brut. As tales illustrating episodes that preceded his internment, his iterative and dislocated drawings in which perspective is abolished in favour of interstitial writings that seem to proclaim the concept of « modernity ». Honoured in many international exhibitions, Carlo Zinelli was sacred by Massimiliano Gioni at the 2013 Venice Biennale.

More
Michel Nedjar in his workshop - © christian berst — art brut

Michel Nedjar

He is the living most exposed and published brut artist and yet, the extraordinary trajectory of this Frenchman poses a question rarely addressed: that of the impermanence of art brut. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet during his work on the resurgence of the symbolic body, he then became the protean artist we know today and who, in creation, embodies an absolute freedom. Found in numerous collections, he is the first brut artist whose works were added to the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne (France). Since 2008, he has been celebrated through six monographic exhibitions by Le Mahj (Paris), LaM (Lille), the Gugging Museum (Vienna), and the gallery.

More
portrait of pascal tassini - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

Pascal Tassini

For more than thirty years, Pascal Tassini has been frequenting the Workshop of Créahm (Belgium), where he created his own house of objects attached to each other by rosaries of cloth knots. As with Schwitters, Tassini’s Merzbau is protean and evolutionary. This “hidden husband of Annette Messenger” (says Léa Chauvel-Lévy) produces, with a similar process, the various elements necessary for the sumptuous wedding he dreams of, from the wedding dress to the buttonholes. Presented in 2019 in the exhibition “Extravaganza” of the Treger Saint Silvestre collection, Pascal Tassini is also part of the collections of the Madmusée (Belgium) and the Hervé Lancelin Pinacotheque (Luxembourg).

More
MONsens

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La ville de Mons, capitale européenne de la culture 2015, organise du 20 juin au 6 septembre 2015 l’exposition MONsens L’art brut d’hier et d’aujourd’hui & Interaction aux Beaux-arts de la ville.

En faisant la part belle à l’art asilaire, brut, outsider, l’exposition rejoint deux projets qui illustrent l’évolution du regard et de l’appréciation des créations en marge des circuits de l’art. Le premier volet initié par les plateformes hennuyères de concertation pour la santé mentale, s’intéressera à l’évolution du « sens » donné aux œuvres par les découvreurs (psychiatres, artistes), les créateurs et les spectateurs. La confrontation d’œuvres historiques et contemporaines (Aloïse Corbaz, Paul Duhem, Martha Grunenwaldt, Johann Hauser, Willem Van Genk, Adolf Wölfli…) permet de souligner l’évolution du regard porté sur ces créations.

La galerie à prêté pour cette exposition trois statues de Michel Nedjar et trois peintures de Carlo Zinelli.

Artistes
carlo zinelli - © christian berst — art brut

Carlo Zinelli

Interné définitivement à l’âge de 31 ans, après avoir participé à la guerre d’Espagne avec le contingent italien, Carlo Zinelli est aujourd’hui considéré comme une figure phare de l’art brut. Sortes de contes illustrant des épisodes ayant précédé son internement, ses dessins itératifs et disloqués dans lesquels la perspective est abolie au profit d’écritures interstitielles qui semblent annoncer le concept de « modernité ». Mis à l’honneur dans nombre d’expositions internationales Carlo Zinelli exposé au Giardini lors de la Biennale de Venise de 2013.

En savoir plus
Michel Nedjar dans son atelier - © christian berst — art brut

Michel Nedjar

Il est l’artiste brut, vivant, le plus exposé et publié et pourtant la trajectoire extraordinaire de ce français pose une question rarement abordée : celle de l’impermanence de l’art brut. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet, au moment où il travaille sur la résurgence du corps symbolique, il s’autorise alors à devenir l’artiste protéiforme que l’on connaît et qui, dans la création, incarne une absolue liberté. Présent dans d’innombrables collections, il est le premier « brut » à être entré dans les collections du Musée national d’art moderne (France). Depuis 2008 il s’est vu consacrer six expositions monographiques par Le Mahj (Paris), le LaM (Lille), le musée Gugging (Vienne) et la galerie.

En savoir plus
portrait de pascal tassini - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

Pascal Tassini

Fréquentant l’atelier du Créahm (Belgique), depuis plus de trente ans, Pascal Tassini s’y est fabriqué sa propre maison, faite d’objets liés les uns aux autres par des chapelets de nœuds en tissu. Comme chez Schwitters, le Merzbau de Tassini est protéiforme et évolutif. Ce « mari caché d’Annette Messager » ( Léa Chauvel-Lévy) produit, avec un processus similaire, les différents éléments nécessaires à la noce somptueuse dont il rêve, de la robe de mariée aux boutonnières. Présenté, en 2019, dans l’exposition extravaganza de la collection Treger Saint Silvestre, Pascal Tassini fait notamment partie des collections du Madmusée (Belgique) et de la Pinacothèque Hervé Lancelin (Luxembourg).

En savoir plus
MONsens

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.