christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

It was under the impetus of Dr. Léo Navratil - psychiatrist at the Gugging Clinic, near Vienna, Austria, and author of Schizophrenia and Art in 1965 - that the adventure began, leading to the creation of the Maison des Artistes in 1986 with his successor Dr. Johann Feilacher.

Far removed from art therapy and its normative framework, much more than a community of patients created by emulation, this unique experience in the world has given birth to a whole group of artists who owe their international fame to the grace of their productions.

Walla, Tschirtner, Hauser, Fischer and the others are stars (blue, like their emblem) in the firmament of art brut.

Artists
august walla - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

August Walla

After a troubled childhood and a turbulent adolescence, August Walla was diagnosed with schizophrenia and was finally admitted - along with his mother - to the Gugging hospital, near Vienna, in 1970. Resident of the Haus der Künstler (house of artists), he will remain there for the rest of his life. Expressing himself through photography, installation, diversion of objects and typing of manifestos, writing and drawing have become inseparable in his work. A key figure in art brut, collected by David Bowie, Walla is present in a number of collections around the world, including those of the MoMa (New York) or the Milwaukee Art Museum (Wisconsin).

More
johann fischer - © feilacher, christian berst — art brut

Johann Fischer

Born in 1919 in Eggendorf am Wagram (Lower Austria), Johann was the apprentice for a master-baker before being recruited during the Second World War and taken prisoner by the Americans. At his liberation, he followed in his father’s footsteps at the head of the family farm, suffering, however, from hallucinations starting in 1957, he was committed to a psychiatric clinic. In 1981, he joined the Haus der Künstler and began his impressive production. Fischer, who died in 2008, only used pencil and color pencils. His palette, at first composed of gray and brown tones, grew considerably at the beginning of the 1990s. The rather simple subjects of his beginnings became progressively complex, […]

More
johann korec - © martin vukovits foto credit, christian berst — art brut

Johann Korec

Johann Korec grows up in institutions for homeless youths. After attending a school for retarded children, he works as a laborer at a farmstead. He is committed to Gugging mental hospital in 1958. Since 1981, he lives and works there in the House of Artists. He had already begun working artistically in the 1960s. Based on copies of illustrations that appeared in newspapers, and over several years time, he develops an independent painting technique of his own. His ink and aquarelle pictures primarily depict loving couples and erotic scenes, which can be interpreted as an illustrated diary.

More
heinrich reisenbauer - © gugging gallery, christian berst — art brut

Heinrich Reisenbauer

Born in 1938 in Kirchau (Austria), Reisenbauer arrived at the Gugging when, shortly after his years in high school, he was diagnosed with psychosis. After 30 years of hospitalization in a pavilion for chronic illness, he was invited, in 1986, to come live at the Gugging House of Artists near Vienna. His drawings, most often small and drawn with black and colored pencils, invariably offer an almost serigraphic repetition of a subject that varies in miniscule details. He displays the same obsessive concern for order and balance in the most trivial daily tasks. Thus, when he is charged with the distribution of fruit to the residents of the Maison, the exercise is transformed into a veritable […]

More
portrait of oswald tschirtner - © © gugging, christian berst — art brut

Oswald Tschirtner

O.T. - as he signed - was an emblematic artist of the Gugging hospital, where he was interned because of the psychosis he began to suffer upon returning from the siege of Stalingrad. His drawings, antitheses of the horror vacui, are characterized by their minimalism, the purity, the economy of means and effects, the sense of balance and space. Admired by Michel Thévoz, who devoted several feature articles to him, he also fascinated David Bowie and Brian Eno, who met and collected him. His works can be found in countless collections, such as those of Arnulf Rainer (Austria), abcd/Bruno Decharme (France) or the Pinacothèque Hervé Lancelin (Luxembourg).

More
Press review
Gugging, un foyer pour l'art brut
Télérama Sortir. May 24, 2006.
Annonce de l'exposition : Gugging, un foyer pour l'art brut
Animula Vagula. April 5, 2006.
Gugging

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

C’est sous l’impulsion du docteur Léo Navratil – psychiatre à la clinique de Gugging, près de Vienne en Autriche, et auteur en 1965 de Schizophrénie et art – que commence l’aventure qui aboutit en 1986, avec son successeur le docteur Johann Feilacher, à la création de la Maison des Artistes.

Bien loin de l’art-thérapie et de son cadre normatif, bien davantage qu’une communauté de patients créant par émulation, cette expérience unique au monde a donné naissance à tout un groupe d’artistes qui doit sa renommée internationale à la grâce de ses productions.

Walla, Tschirtner, Hauser, Fischer et les autres sont autant d’étoiles (bleues, comme leur emblème) au firmament de l’art brut.

Artistes
august walla - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

August Walla

Après une enfance tourmentée et une adolescence turbulente, August Walla est diagnostiqué schizophrène et est finalement admis – avec sa mère - à l’hôpital de Gugging, près de Vienne, en 1970. Devenu pensionnaire de la Maison des artistes, il y restera jusqu’à la fin de ses jours. S’exprimant à travers la photographie, l’installation, le détournement d’objets et la dactylographie de manifestes, l’écriture et le dessin sont devenus indissociables dans son oeuvre. Figure incontournable de l’art brut, collectionné par David Bowie, Walla est présent dans un grand nombre de collections à travers le monde, dont celles du MoMa (New York) ou du Milwaukee Art Museum (Wisconsin).

En savoir plus
johann fischer - © feilacher, christian berst — art brut

Johann Fischer

Pour s’exprimer, tous les moyens sont bons pour Johann Fischer : à l’écriture, il conjugue le dessin, des personnages, bien souvent de profil, aux couleurs vives et chaudes, s’activent dans la page, entre les lignes de texte, pour nous raconter une histoire. Né en 1919 à Eggendorf am Wagram (Basse-Autriche), Johann est apprenti maître-boulanger avant d’être mobilisé durant la seconde guerre mondiale et constitué prisonnier par les Américains. A sa libération, il prend la suite de son père à la tête du domaine agricole familial, néanmoins, souffrant dès 1957 de troubles hallucinatoires, il est interné en clinique psychiatrique. En 1981, il intègre la Maison des Artistes et commence son […]

En savoir plus
johann korec - © martin vukovits foto credit, christian berst — art brut

Johann Korec

Né à Vienne en 1937, Korec, après avoir passé son enfance dans des foyers pour enfants et avoir fréquenté des écoles spécialisées, travailla dès l’âge de 14 ans comme valet de ferme et gardien de troupeau. Il rêvait de devenir dompteur dans un cirque. En 1958, il fut interné à Gugging et, alors qu’il dessinait depuis les années 60, rejoignit la Maison des artistes en 1981. Copiant d’abord, à sa manière, des illustrations de journaux, ses œuvres – réalisées à l’encre de chine et à l’aquarelle - devinrent plus personnelles : les scènes érotiques, typiques de son travail, sont décrites et commentées à la manière d’un journal intime illustré.

En savoir plus
heinrich reisenbauer - © galerie gugging, christian berst — art brut

Heinrich Reisenbauer

Né en 1938 à Kirchau (Autriche), Reisenbauer arriva à Gugging lorsque, peu après ses années de lycée, on diagnostiqua une psychose. Après 30 ans d’internement dans un pavillon pour malades chroniques, il fut invité, en 1986, à venir s’établir dans la Maison des artistes. Ses dessins, le plus souvent des petits formats réalisés aux crayons noir et de couleur, offrent invariablement une répétition quasi sérigraphique du sujet qui se distingue par d’infimes nuances. Il manifeste le même souci obsessionnel d’ordre et d’équilibre dans les tâches les plus quotidiennes. Ainsi, lorsqu’on lui confie la distribution des fruits aux pensionnaires de la Maison, l’exercice se transforme en véritable « […]

En savoir plus
portrait d'oswald tschirtner - © © gugging, christian berst — art brut

Oswald Tschirtner

O.T. – comme il signait - était un artiste emblématique de l’hôpital de Gugging, où il fut interné en raison de la psychose dont il a commencé à souffrir au retour du siège de Stalingrad. Ses dessins, antithèses de l’horror vacui, se caractérisent par leur minimalisme, l’épure, l’économie de moyens et d’effets, le sens de l’équilibre et de l’espace. Admiré par Michel Thévoz, qui lui a consacré plusieurs articles de fond, il a également fasciné David Bowie et Brian Eno, qui l’ont rencontré et collectionné. Ses œuvres se trouvent dans d’innombrables collections, comme celles d’Arnulf Rainer (Autriche), abcd/Bruno Decharme (France) ou encore de la Pinacothèque Hervé Lancelin (Luxembourg).

En savoir plus
Revue de presse
Gugging, un foyer pour l'art brut
Télérama Sortir. Le 24 mai 2006.
Annonce de l'exposition : Gugging, un foyer pour l'art brut
Animula Vagula. Le 5 avril 2006.
Gugging

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.