christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose
Artists
carlo zinelli - © christian berst — art brut

Carlo Zinelli

Interned at 21 years old, after volunteering for the Spanish Civil War during WWII, Carlo Zinelli is now seen as a main figure of art brut. As tales illustrating episodes that preceded his internment, his iterative and dislocated drawings in which perspective is abolished in favour of interstitial writings that seem to proclaim the concept of « modernity ». Honoured in many international exhibitions, Carlo Zinelli was sacred by Massimiliano Gioni at the 2013 Venice Biennale.

More
Alexandre Lobanov - © christian berst — art brut

Alexandre Lobanov

At the age of seven, Alexandre Lobanov became deaf and mute, the result of meningitis. Rebellious and often aggressive, his family decided to admit him into a psychiatric hospital at the age of twenty-three. His first ten years at the facility were marked by extreme displays of hate and agitation. At the approximate age of thirty-three, Lobanov gradually began to draw, and his behavior evolved. The formerly turbulent and irritable man became calmer and even sociable. Drawing both distracted and soothed him, helping to stabilize his overall psychological state. From the moment he begins to draw, all of Lobanov’s activity is focused on those moments when he is alone in front of a blank sheet […]

More
andré robillard - © christian berst — art brut

André Robillard

Interned since his teens, André Robillard built his life in the hospital. It was around the age of 30 that this French artist began to create rifles with materials found here and there. Discovered by Jean Dubuffet and encouraged by Michel Thévoz (director of the Art Brut collection), he continues to create his hybrid objects, from machine guns to Sputnik. André Robillard’s incredible story has earned him international recognition. Present in the collections of the LaM (France), Whitworth (UK) or MAC’s (Belgium), he was notably celebrated in the closing exhibition of the maison rouge (Paris) in 2018.

More
guo fengyi drawing - © christian berst — art brut

Fengyi Guo

Living her spirituality through the paths of Qigong, it was at the dawn of her 40th birthday that Guo Fengyi began to reinterpret popular Chinese beliefs in drawings of ink and brush. On rolls of rice paper, measuring up to 10 meters, entities unfold: sometimes linked to the pantheon, sometimes to the pandemonium, they seem to float in a space-time void. These heretical scrolls were even exhibited at the 55th Venice Biennale, curated by Massimiliano Gioni.

More
portrait of pascal tassini - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

Pascal Tassini

For more than thirty years, Pascal Tassini has been frequenting the Workshop of Créahm (Belgium), where he created his own house of objects attached to each other by rosaries of cloth knots. As with Schwitters, Tassini’s Merzbau is protean and evolutionary. This “hidden husband of Annette Messenger” (says Léa Chauvel-Lévy) produces, with a similar process, the various elements necessary for the sumptuous wedding he dreams of, from the wedding dress to the buttonholes. Presented in 2019 in the exhibition “Extravaganza” of the Treger Saint Silvestre collection, Pascal Tassini is also part of the collections of the Madmusée (Belgium) and the Hervé Lancelin Pinacotheque (Luxembourg).

More
Press review
Art Paris shines a spotlight on Russia
Celestine Bohlen, International Herald Tribune. April 2, 2013.
Succès pour Guo Fengyi à la galerie Christian Berst
AMA. March 30, 2013.
Dans le pêle-mêle déroutant d’Art Paris
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. March 29, 2013.
Art Paris la saison russe
The Good Life. February 28, 2013.
art paris - art fair 2013

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

pour cette édition où la Russie est mise à l’honneur

Artistes
carlo zinelli - © christian berst — art brut

Carlo Zinelli

Interné définitivement à l’âge de 31 ans, après avoir participé à la guerre d’Espagne avec le contingent italien, Carlo Zinelli est aujourd’hui considéré comme une figure phare de l’art brut. Sortes de contes illustrant des épisodes ayant précédé son internement, ses dessins itératifs et disloqués dans lesquels la perspective est abolie au profit d’écritures interstitielles qui semblent annoncer le concept de « modernité ». Mis à l’honneur dans nombre d’expositions internationales Carlo Zinelli exposé au Giardini lors de la Biennale de Venise de 2013.

En savoir plus
Alexandre Lobanov - © christian berst — art brut

Alexandre Lobanov

A sept ans, Alexandre Lobanov devient, à la suite d’une méningite, sourd et muet. Révolté, souvent agressif, sa famille le fait interner en hôpital psychiatrique à l’âge de vingt-trois ans. Il manifeste les dix premières années une haine et souvent une agitation extrêmes. A partir de 33-35 ans, il se met progressivement à dessiner. Alors, son comportement se transforme. Jadis turbulent et irascible, il se calme et devient plus sociable. Le dessin le distrait et le tranquillise, stabilise son état psychologique. Toute son activité est désormais axée sur les moments où il est seul à seul avec une feuille blanche et vierge. Souriant, il dessine tout d’abord un cadre, soigneusement, puis « […]

En savoir plus
andré robillard - © christian berst — art brut

André Robillard

Interné depuis son adolescence, André Robillard a construit sa vie à l’hôpital. C’est vers l’âge de 30 ans que cet artiste français commence à créer des fusils avec des matériaux trouvés çà et là. Découvert par Jean Dubuffet et encouragé par Michel Thévoz (directeur de la collection de l’Art Brut), il continue à créer ses objets hybrides, des mitrailleuses au spoutnik. L’histoire incroyable d’André Robillard lui a valu une reconnaissance internationale. Présent dans les collections du LaM (France), du Whitworth (Royaume-Uni) ou encore du MAC’s (Belgique), il a notamment été célébré dans l’exposition clôturale de la Maison rouge (Paris), en 2018.

En savoir plus
guo fengyi dessinant - © christian berst — art brut

Fengyi Guo

En vivant sa spiritualité à travers les voies du qi qong, c’est à l’aube de ses 40 ans que Guo Fengyi se met à réinterpréter les croyances populaires chinoises dans des dessins réalisés à l’encre et au pinceau. Sur des rouleaux de papier de riz, pouvant atteindre les 10 mètres, se déploient des entités relavant tantôt du panthéon, tantôt du pandémonium, et qui semblent flotter dans un vide spatio-temporel. Ces rouleaux hérétiques ont notamment été exposés lors de la 55e Biennale de Venise curatoriée Massimiliano Gioni.

En savoir plus
portrait de pascal tassini - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

Pascal Tassini

Fréquentant l’atelier du Créahm (Belgique), depuis plus de trente ans, Pascal Tassini s’y est fabriqué sa propre maison, faite d’objets liés les uns aux autres par des chapelets de nœuds en tissu. Comme chez Schwitters, le Merzbau de Tassini est protéiforme et évolutif. Ce « mari caché d’Annette Messager » ( Léa Chauvel-Lévy) produit, avec un processus similaire, les différents éléments nécessaires à la noce somptueuse dont il rêve, de la robe de mariée aux boutonnières. Présenté, en 2019, dans l’exposition extravaganza de la collection Treger Saint Silvestre, Pascal Tassini fait notamment partie des collections du Madmusée (Belgique) et de la Pinacothèque Hervé Lancelin (Luxembourg).

En savoir plus
Revue de presse
Art Paris shines a spotlight on Russia
Celestine Bohlen, International Herald Tribune. Le 2 avril 2013.
Succès pour Guo Fengyi à la galerie Christian Berst
AMA. Le 30 mars 2013.
Dans le pêle-mêle déroutant d’Art Paris
Philippe Dagen, Le Monde. Le 29 mars 2013.
Art Paris la saison russe
The Good Life. Le 28 février 2013.
Art Paris - Art Fair 2013

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.