christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

For this 2014 edition 2014, the gallery chose ti show drawings by Dan Miller, d’Harald Stoffers and Lubos Plny plus photos by Eugène Von Bruenchenhein.

Artists
eugene von bruenchenhein, self-portrait, 1947. - © christian berst — art brut

Eugene Von Bruenchenhein

Von Bruenchenhein, born on 31 July 1910 in Wisconsin, lost his mother when he was only seven years old. He began working at an early age: as a florist, as a grocer, and then as a baker. His physical stature was small, and he worked daylong in the privacy–and total secrecy–of his kitchen, obsessively dedicating himself to his artistic work, persuaded that his birth during the year of the passage of Halley’s Comet was irrefutable proof that the gods had bestowed artistic genius on him. “I come from another world,” he would say. In 1943 he married Eveline Kalke, ten years his junior. She became his inspiring muse and the subject, direct and indirect, of all his art. He renamed her Marie. […]

More
Lubos Plny - © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

Renowned figure of contemporary art brut this Czech artist is fascinated by medical iconography. An expert in the mysteries of the anatomy he indulges - when he is not drawing - in all sort of performative experiences reminiscent of the Viennese Actionism. By testing the limits of the physical existence, he conjures death, sublimating life in its most organic form. His detailed works crafted with Indian Ink and acrylic entered the collection of the Centre Pompidou in 2013 and were displayed several times at la Maison rouge and in 2017 at Venice Biennal.

More
harald stoffers - © christian berst — art brut

Harald Stoffers

More than twenty years ago, Harald Stoffers began a fictional correspondence with his mother, in which all the letters started with « Liebe Mutti ». He began this exercise at a hospital at which he was interned. He started by distributing them amongst his fellow patients in the form of small torn notes. Stoffers’ letters later thickened, some even reaching ten meters long. Presented in a film by Youssef Tabti at the Grand Palais in 2009, his work was included in such prestigious institutions as the Mona (Australia), the Hamburger Kunsthalle (Berlin), the Oliva Creative Factory (Portugal), the Dox Art Center (Prague) and the Maison rouge (Paris).

More
portrait of dan miller - © creative growth art center, christian berst — art brut

Dan Miller

Having become, in a decade, one of the most recognized contemporary brut artists, this autistic native of California is sometimes compared to Cy Twombly: while the latter deconstructs language, the former builds it. Since 2010, the gallery has contributed to its international recognition by organizing several exhibitions and publishing the only monograph available to date, enriched with an essay by Richard Leemann. Present in countless public and private collections - including those of the MoMA and Pompidou –, Dan Miller’s work was also part of the official selection of the 2017 Venice Biennale.

More
Press review
Art Paris Art Fair : l’autre foire d’art contemporain
Véronique Bouruet-Aubertot, Télérama.fr. March 26, 2014.
L’art brut a sa place à Art Paris Art Fair
La Rédaction, AMA. March 26, 2014.
Art Paris Art Fair persiste et signe
Eléonore Thery, L’Oeil. March 1, 2014.
art paris art fair 2014

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

Pour cette édition 2014, la galerie a choisi de montrer les dessins de Dan Miller, d’Harald Stoffers et de Lubos Plny ainsi que des photos d’Eugène Von Bruenchenhein.

Artistes
eugene von bruenchenhein, autoportrait, 1947. - © christian berst — art brut

Eugene Von Bruenchenhein

Eugene Von Bruenchenhein, né le 31 juillet 1910 dans l’Etat du Wisconsin (États-Unis), perd sa mère à l’âge de 7 ans et travaille très tôt comme boulanger, fleuriste puis épicier. Après sa journée de travail, dans l’intimité de sa cuisine, il se livre dans le plus grand secret  à une production artistique quasi obsessionnelle, persuadé qu’être né l’année du passage de la Comète de Halley est la preuve irréfutable que  les dieux l’ont doté d’un génie artistique. « Je viens d’un autre monde », a-t-il l’habitude d’affirmer. Il épouse en 1943 Eveline Kalke, de 10 ans sa cadette, qui devient sa muse, l’inspiratrice et le sujet, direct ou indirect de l’ensemble de son art. Il la rebaptise du […]

En savoir plus
portrait de Lubos Plny - © © christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut

Luboš Plný

Figure reconnue de l’art brut contemporain, cet artiste tchèque est fasciné par l’iconographie médicale. Expert des arcanes de l’anatomie, il s’adonne – lorsqu’il ne dessine pas - à toutes sortes de performances rappelant les actionnistes. En testant les limites de l’existence physique, il conjure la mort et sublime ainsi la vie dans ce qu’elle a de plus organique. Ses œuvres extrêmement détaillées à l’encre de Chine et à l’acrylique sont entrées en 2013 dans les collections du Musée National d’Art Moderne (Paris) et furent notamment exposées à plusieurs reprises à la Maison rouge puis lors de la biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
harald stoffers - © christian berst — art brut

Harald Stoffers

Il y a plus de vingt ans, Harald Stoffers commence un échange épistolaire, fictif, avec sa mère dans lequel toutes ses lettres commencent par « Liebe Mutti ». Interné très jeune, c’est à l’hôpital qu’il s’initie à cet exercice, et distribue d’abord de courts billets déchirés aux autres patients. Plus tard, les lettres de Stoffers se densifient, tandis qu’elles atteignent parfois plusieurs mètres de long. Présenté dans un film de Youssef Tabti au Grand Palais en 2009, son oeuvre a été montrée dans des institutions aussi prestigieuses que le Mona (Australie), la Hamburger Kunsthalle (Berlin), l’Oliva Creative Factory (Portugal), le Dox Art Center (Prague) ou la Maison rouge (Paris).

En savoir plus
portrait de dan miller - © creative growth art center, christian berst — art brut

Dan Miller

Devenu, en une décennie, l’un des artistes bruts contemporains les plus reconnus, cet autiste originaire de Californie est parfois comparé à Cy Twombly, qui déconstruisait le langage tandis que, par effet de miroir, Dan Miller le construit. La galerie a participé, depuis 2010, à sa reconnaissance internationale en organisant plusieurs expositions et en publiant la seule monographie existant à ce jour, enrichie d’un essai de Richard Leemann. Présent dans d’innombrables collections publiques et privées – dont celles du MoMA et de Pompidou - il faisait également partie de la sélection officielle de la Biennale de Venise 2017.

En savoir plus
Revue de presse
Art Paris Art Fair : l’autre foire d’art contemporain
Véronique Bouruet-Aubertot, Télérama.fr. Le 26 mars 2014.
L’art brut a sa place à Art Paris Art Fair
La Rédaction, AMA. Le 26 mars 2014.
Art Paris Art Fair persiste et signe
Eléonore Thery, L’Oeil. Le 1 mars 2014.
art paris art fair 2014

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.