christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The gallery presents, from September 9 to October 11, the work of José (Pepe) Gaitán, discovered this year in Colombia, while in the curiosity cabinet will be presented the drawings of body builds by the Cuban Misleidys Castillo.

Pepe Gaitán was born in 1959 into a bourgeois family. His father died when he was very young. His mother receives him every Saturday to read the newspapers. Pepe studies social communication and is particularly interested in radio. In 1975, he heard the curious expression “don’t eat so many sweets if you don’t want to catch amoebas” which marked a turning point in his life.

It was from this moment that he began his work. His creative process is centred on the text. He spends his days in libraries, meticulously selecting pages, inspired as much by the content as by the shapes that emerge from the sentences. He photocopies them and then intervenes on them by scribbling the letters, in which he looks for amoeba shapes that he calls pseudopods, then draws or pastes the images that the movement of the text suggests to him.

He always uses a very chosen chromatic range. The echoes of shapes that make one think of a codification give these works a striking geometrical force. Today he lives alone in Bogotá and spends his days composing his pages.

The Cuban Misleidys Castillo, a 28-year-old deaf autistic girl, compulsively draws, paints and cuts out body builders or anatomical fragments, sometimes very large ones, which she covers the walls of her house by applying them with strips of brown tape.

Exhibition view of *Pepe Gaitán : epiphany*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Pepe Gaitán : epiphany*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Exhibition view of *Pepe Gaitán : epiphany*, christian berst art brut, Paris, 2014 - © ©christian berst art brut, christian berst — art brut
Artist
Pepe Gaitán
portrait of pepe gaitàn - © christian berst — art brut

Born into the Colombian bourgeoisie, Pepe Gaitan chose to live a life of asceticism and found his only pleasure directly from his daily readings at Bogota’s national library. From these books, he selects pages that he photocopies to then obliterate the counter of the letters. It is around these phantom graphemes that he composes his sibylline collages. In 2020, the Centre for Contemporary Art in Geneva celebrates him with scrivere designando, an exhibition curated by Andrea Bellini and Sarah Lombardi.

Catalog
Pepe Gaitán ephiphany
Pepe Gaitán : ephiphany - © christian berst — art brut

Prefaces : Johanna Calle Gregg & Julio Perez Navarrete
Foreword : Christian Berst
Catalog published to mark the exhibition Pepe Gaitán : ephiphany, from september 9th to october 11th, 2014.

Press review
Pepe Gaitan, ou l’art de la lettre barrée
La Rédacton, Libération.com. October 7, 2014.
Brutes de l’art
Marie Zawisza, Le Monde. October 4, 2014.
Pepe Gaitán
François Salmeron, Paris Art. September 19, 2014.
A l’avant-garde : Misleidys Castillo – Hombres
Dauphine De Cambre, Theartchemists.com. September 5, 2014.
Pepe Gaitán
Bénedicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. September 4, 2014.
pepe gaitán

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie présente, du 9 septembre au 11 octobre, l’oeuvre de José (Pepe) Gaitán, découverte cette année en Colombie tandis que seront présentés dans le cabinet de curiosité les dessins de body buildés de la cubaine Misleidys Castillo.

Pepe Gaitán nait en 1959 dans une famille bourgeoise. Son père décède quand il est très jeune. Sa mère le reçoit chaque samedi pour qu’il lui lise les journaux. Pepe suit des études de communication sociale et s’intéresse particulièrement à la radio. En 1975, il entend la curieuse expression « ne mange pas tant de sucreries, si tu ne veux pas attraper des amibes » ce qui marque un tournant dans sa vie.

C’est à partir de ce moment qu’il commence son oeuvre. Son processus de création est centré sur le texte. Il passe ses journées dans des bibliothèques, sélectionne avec minutie des pages, inspiré autant par le fond que par les formes qui se dégagent des phrases. Il les photocopie puis intervient dessus en griffonnant les lettres, dans lesquelles il recherche des formes d’amibes qu’il nomme pseudopodes, puis dessine ou colle les images que le mouvement du texte lui suggère.

Il utilise toujours une gamme chromatique très choisie. Les échos de formes qui font penser à une codification confèrent à ces oeuvres une force géométrique saisissante. Il vit aujourd’hui seul à Bogotá et passe ses journées à composer ses pages.

La cubaine Misleidys Castillo, jeune autiste sourde de 28 ans, dessine, peint et découpe compulsivement des body builders ou des fragments anatomiques, parfois de très grande taille, dont elle recouvre les murs de sa maison en les appliquant avec des languettes de scotch brun.

Artiste
Pepe Gaitán
portrait de pepe gaitàn - © christian berst — art brut

Issu de la bourgeoisie colombienne, Pepe Gaitan a choisi de vivre une vie d’ascèse et dont le seul plaisir découle directement des lectures journalières qu’il fait à la bibliothèque nationale, à Bogota. De ces livres, il sélectionne des pages qu’il photocopie et dont il oblitère les contreformes. C’est autour de ces graphèmes fantômes qu’il compose ses collages sibyllins. En 2020, le Centre d’Art Contemporain de Genève le met à l’honneur dans scrivere designando, exposition curatoriée par Andrea Bellini et Sarah Lombardi.

Revue de presse
Pepe Gaitan, ou l’art de la lettre barrée
La Rédacton, Libération.com. Le 7 octobre 2014.
Brutes de l’art
Marie Zawisza, Le Monde. Le 4 octobre 2014.
Pepe Gaitán
François Salmeron, Paris Art. Le 19 septembre 2014.
A l’avant-garde : Misleidys Castillo – Hombres
Dauphine De Cambre, Theartchemists.com. Le 5 septembre 2014.
Pepe Gaitán
Bénedicte Philippe, Télérama Sortir. Le 4 septembre 2014.
pepe gaitán

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.