christian berstart brut
présente
SearchClose christian berstart brut
MenuClose

The gallery takes part in the first Edition of the YIA (Young international artists) at Brussels, by showing 5 artists of the gallery : August Walla, Franco Bellucci, Harald Stoffers, Alexandro Garcia and John Urho Kemp.

Artists
august walla - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

August Walla

After a troubled childhood and a turbulent adolescence, August Walla was diagnosed with schizophrenia and was finally admitted - along with his mother - to the Gugging hospital, near Vienna, in 1970. Resident of the Haus der Künstler (house of artists), he will remain there for the rest of his life. Expressing himself through photography, installation, diversion of objects and typing of manifestos, writing and drawing have become inseparable in his work. A key figure in art brut, collected by David Bowie, Walla is present in a number of collections around the world, including those of the MoMa (New York) or the Milwaukee Art Museum (Wisconsin).

More
harald stoffers - © christian berst — art brut

Harald Stoffers

More than twenty years ago, Harald Stoffers began a fictional correspondence with his mother, in which all the letters started with « Liebe Mutti ». He began this exercise at a hospital at which he was interned. He started by distributing them amongst his fellow patients in the form of small torn notes. Stoffers’ letters later thickened, some even reaching ten meters long. Presented in a film by Youssef Tabti at the Grand Palais in 2009, his work was included in such prestigious institutions as the Mona (Australia), the Hamburger Kunsthalle (Berlin), the Oliva Creative Factory (Portugal), the Dox Art Center (Prague) and the Maison rouge (Paris).

More
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut

Alexandro Garcia

The Uruguayan gardener, Alexandro García, began to transcribe his ethereal visions following an encounter of the third kind - or avistamiento - that he experienced as a child. Worthy heir to magical realism, however, he goes beyond its scope: he speaks to us of an elsewhere offered to our projections and to the colonization of a new humanity through inhabited and saturated architectures. Present notably in the abcd/Bruno Decharme collection (France), his work was shown in the exhibition Elévations in 2015, co-curated by Antoine de Galbert, and tribute to the Palais Idéal du Facteur Cheval, a fairy tale palace built by the postman Ferdinand Cheval in 1879.

More
portrait de franco bellucci - © bargellini, christian berst — art brut

Franco Bellucci

A frequent visitor to the Blu Cammello workshop in Livorno, he was first discovered by the artist Riccardo Bargellini. The hybrid sculptures he produces are composed of assembled objects whose links are prominent. Observed through the prism of their transitional, fetishistic or apotropaic value, they have been presented in several major exhibitions such as the monograph dedicated to him at the MAD Museum in Liège, Banditi dell’arte (Halle Saint Pierre) and art brut, abcd/Bruno Decharme collection (Maison rouge) in Paris. “These works are invested with a symbolic power that many “professional” artists are unable to achieve.” (P. Dagen, Le Monde)

More
john uro kemp - © anonymous, christian berst — art brut

John Urho Kemp

This Californian artist, who died in 2010, had a degree in chemical engineering. Fascinated by meditation and metaphysics, he sought to unravel the mysteries of existence through formulas and numbers drawn from his own history. This “conceptual brut” artist sometimes photocopied his work to distribute it to as many people as possible. In 2014, Daniel Baumann introduced him to the 548 Center in New York. The following year, we entrusted Gael Charbau with writing an essay and curing the monographic exhibition held at the gallery. In the same year, Alfred Pacquement, former director of Pompidou, presented a John Urho Kemp installation at the Musée des Beaux-arts in Paris.

More
YIA

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

christian berstart brut
présente
RechercheFermer christian berstart brut
MenuFermer

La galerie participe à la première édition du YIA (Young international artists) à Bruxelles en présentant 5 artistes de la galerie : August Walla, Franco Bellucci, Harald Stoffers, Alexandro Garcia et John Urho Kemp.

Artistes
august walla - © mario del curto, christian berst — art brut

August Walla

Après une enfance tourmentée et une adolescence turbulente, August Walla est diagnostiqué schizophrène et est finalement admis – avec sa mère - à l’hôpital de Gugging, près de Vienne, en 1970. Devenu pensionnaire de la Maison des artistes, il y restera jusqu’à la fin de ses jours. S’exprimant à travers la photographie, l’installation, le détournement d’objets et la dactylographie de manifestes, l’écriture et le dessin sont devenus indissociables dans son oeuvre. Figure incontournable de l’art brut, collectionné par David Bowie, Walla est présent dans un grand nombre de collections à travers le monde, dont celles du MoMa (New York) ou du Milwaukee Art Museum (Wisconsin).

En savoir plus
harald stoffers - © christian berst — art brut

Harald Stoffers

Il y a plus de vingt ans, Harald Stoffers commence un échange épistolaire, fictif, avec sa mère dans lequel toutes ses lettres commencent par « Liebe Mutti ». Interné très jeune, c’est à l’hôpital qu’il s’initie à cet exercice, et distribue d’abord de courts billets déchirés aux autres patients. Plus tard, les lettres de Stoffers se densifient, tandis qu’elles atteignent parfois plusieurs mètres de long. Présenté dans un film de Youssef Tabti au Grand Palais en 2009, son oeuvre a été montrée dans des institutions aussi prestigieuses que le Mona (Australie), la Hamburger Kunsthalle (Berlin), l’Oliva Creative Factory (Portugal), le Dox Art Center (Prague) ou la Maison rouge (Paris).

En savoir plus
Alexandro Garcia - © christian berst — art brut

Alexandro Garcia

Jardinier uruguayen, Alexandro García s’est mis à retranscrire ses visions éthérées à la suite d’une rencontre du 3e type – ou avistamiento – dont il a fait l’expérience, enfant. Digne héritier du réalisme magique, il en dépasse cependant le cadre et nous parle d’un ailleurs offert à nos projections et à la colonisation d’une humanité nouvelle aux travers d’architectures habitées et saturées. Présent notamment dans la collection abcd/Bruno Decharme (France) son travail a été montré dans l’exposition hommage au palais idéal du facteur cheval élévations co-curatoriée par Antoine de Galbert en 2015.

En savoir plus
portrait de franco bellucci - © bargellini, christian berst — art brut

Franco Bellucci

Fréquentant l’atelier Blu Cammello à Livourne, il a d’abord été découvert par l’artiste Riccardo Bargellini. Les sculptures hybrides qu’il produit sont constituées d’objets hétéroclites dont les destins sont inexorablement liés. Observées par le prisme de leur valeur transitionnelle, fétichiste ou apotropaïque elles ont été présentées dans plusieurs grandes expositions comme la monographie qui lui a été consacrée au MAD musée de Liège, Banditi dell’arte (Halle Saint Pierre) et art brut, collection abcd/Bruno Decharme (la Maison rouge) à Paris.” Ces œuvres sont douées d’une puissance symbolique que bien des artistes ‘professionnels’ sont incapables d’atteindre. ” (P. Dagen, Le Monde)

En savoir plus
john uro kemp - © anonyme, christian berst — art brut

John Urho Kemp

Cet artiste californien, disparu en 2010, était diplômé en génie chimique. Fasciné par la méditation et la métaphysique, il tentait d’élucider les mystères de l’existence par le biais de formules et de nombres tirés de sa propre histoire. Ce « brut conceptuel » photocopiait parfois ses travaux pour les distribuer au plus grand nombre. En 2014, Daniel Baumann le fait découvrir en l’exposant au 548 Center à New York. L’année suivante, nous confions à Gaël Charbau la rédaction d’un essai et le commissariat de l’exposition monographique qui se tient à la galerie. La même année, Alfred Pacquement – ancien directeur de Pompidou - en présente une installation au musée des Beaux-arts de Paris.

En savoir plus
YIA

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.